You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Gots Me A Green Eggy! - ColorChallenge: ThursdayGreen

I recently got fascinated by olive eggers, I'd never seen the dark green eggs before. One thing I'm considering at my new place, is to breed olive eggers. People are paying $40 for a olive egger pullet around here.

If you mated the hen that laid that light green egg with a rooster from a breed that lays dark brown eggs, you'll get olive eggers. I thought that was so cool when I learned it. Marans and Welsummer are the two dark brown egg laying breeds often mated with easter eggers or Aracaunas, and the 2nd generation will be dark olive egg producers. Or so they say, I want to try it myself someday.

Anyway, sorry for that chicken rant, I love talking about chickens. Great Post, thanks!

Sort:  

I've been thinking about it myself!! I have an EE roo, and wellsummer hens! Haha maybe I should hatch some of their eggs to see if I'll get Olive Eggers whenever they start laying!

I love talking chickens! Haha keep it up!

I am interesting in breeding also. However, I was slightly detered at the thought of breeding for egg color cause that's a very very long project!!

I feel you are interested in chatting further with me and chatting with other like-minded individuals, would you consider joining our chat group? https://steemit.com/steemithomesteaders/@greenacrehome/announcement-steemithomesteaders-slack-community

Cool, another new social media service to learn, lol. I'll give it a try, thanks.

Yes, its 5-6 months from birth before they start laying, and then the 2nd generation is 5-6 months after that, so a full year. Gotta be in it for the long haul, for sure. Just something else that I find cool about chickens. I'm also considering just sticking with one heritage breed and trying to help preserve that breed for the future. Then again, I also want one of every breed. Ugh, so much fun to be had its hard to decide :)

Man, we are on the SAME!!!! Wavelength! I have three blue langshans pullets and one bantam blue langshans roo. I think imma breed them! I love heritage breeds! I have also four IDIOT salmon Faverolles. Man they are DUMB. haha but they are really cool!

I have been breed in olive Eggers for three years now with some awesome variations in color! I use Marans roo and different shades of blue and green egg layers. Some real pretty results!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59020.94
ETH 2603.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44