Finally It’s Seed Starting Time

Finally It’s Seed Starting Time

DFE91152-9A10-4668-9C60-B967C33B75C5.jpeg

An early tomato seedling under the lights.

It’s time to start the pepper plants for the garden. I love growing peppers. There are 12 different varieties in this year’s line-up. We pickle them, freeze them, dry them, eat them fresh, and use them in recipes.

Here is my seed starting process in pictures.

I use a mini 20 soil block maker and a commercial organic, soilless mix to germinate the pepper seeds.

196C180D-82FB-4728-AF93-ADE10C4C5E18.jpeg

Here are the soil blocks ready to plant the seeds. I am using recycled hummus containers to hold the soil blocks. Each container will hold 16 blocks which will allow me to get 12 of the best seedlings for transplanting.

In the next picture, there are 80 blocks shown. The blocks are put on the container lids and the clear bottoms will be used as a little greenhouse to increase humidity and keep the soil blocks moist during germination.

382DD25F-1457-4DE6-A856-CE8E503D7F81.jpeg

Here are the containers all planted and labeled. Notice how compact they are. I can get hundreds of starts in the germination chamber I made. Here is a link to the germination box instructions... https://steemit.com/homesteading/@beyondordinary/easy-and-simple-germination-box-you-can-make-for-less-than-usd10

C95AA65D-30FE-4487-9C22-0C2CBD64A1FC.jpeg

Into the germination box they go. Because this creates ideal germination conditions, you want to check for sprouts daily. As soon as you see the seeds sprouting, get them into the light or under the grow lights. Failure to do this will result in weak, leggy plants.

F7E24087-572C-4AC1-A73E-842C5D9B8008.jpeg

Here are the results. This next picture was taken 1 week after the seeds were planted.

76FD7E6E-FEC9-4BA4-AB54-6DFD48932DC2.jpeg

The next step will be transplanting into the larger soil blocks. I like to do this at the size you see in the photo above. I select seedlings for transplanting based on appearance and quickness of sprouting. This gives me the strongest, healthiest plants.

Stay tuned for an update when the transplanting is done.

Happy Gardening!




_________________________________________________________________

Thank-you for giving a few moments of your life to read my posts.

I really appreciate you for taking the time to do that!

Share more of my observations @beyondordinary

If you like the post, please encourage me with an Upvote and share my stuff by Resteeming or Sharing a link on your favorite Social Network sites.

Sort:  

that soil block maker would be a handy tool to have. i hand pack mine 1 by 1 haha.. i have followed you, and voted you as i liked this,,, also included a article i wrote myself about cloning tomatos that you may enjoy to have a read of....
https://steemit.com/gardening/@ewasteguy1/cloning-tomatoes

You make me wanna start my seedlings too buth i still have to wait a little longer due to the low temperatures. By the end of the month, i will start my first seedlings. I hope the weather works with me after that so temperature outside will be warm enough when seedlings are ready for it. Thanks for warming me up a little while waiting for the growing season to start.

Starting time is a bit like playing the lottery, isn’t it?

Yeah, i hope i win! It's always a risk buth with this weather, i lose anyway if i start now. I can start only a few things inside. I dont have a greenhouse.

@beyondordinary,

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot, and has been nominated by the curator group!

If chosen, your post may be featured in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.

An image from your post may be featured.

Welcome to the Steemit Community @beyondordinary! Good luck with your garden!

Please reply to this comment if you accept, and I will share your post with the other @Muxxybot curators!

Thanks for the nomination. I appreciate the recognition.

Awesome! Looks great! We use that soil block maker too- works like a charm! 💚🌿 I always love seed starting time, so much hope and joy as the temps start to warm and thoughts of summer gardening really take hold.

Still waiting for that warming stuff outside. You can almost feel the energy building in the soil and in the trees. The spring bulbs are getting impatient.

Hi there, thanks for sharing the peppers guide! I am trying to get in touch regarding a question I have about your blog. Would it be easy to please contact me at [email protected] ?

It’s OK to ask right here. If I can’t answer your question, maybe someone else can.

Sorry I meant your other blog. I am looking to make you an offer for beyondordinary.com and this is the only place I could reach you. Thanks

Sorry, I have no interest in selling that domain at this time.

Thanks for letting me know, I really appreciate it. If you happen to change your mind and want to find out how much I can offer, feel free to get in touch. (I will stop replying here as it's not the right place for such conversations). Have a great day.

Congratulations human. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-66

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60260.23
ETH 3299.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38