Inaugural Town Hall Meeting ~ HUB Co-Op / VIVA Project!

in #homesteading7 years ago

The HUB Co-Op/VIVA Project is calling on interested Homesteaders, Gardeners, Permaculturists, and Preppers to attend our first ever virtual Town Hall Meeting.




Rest assured it's not been forgotten! Folks are still showing interest and have been asking about the status, which I'm taking as a good sign. In thinking about the next steps, I'd like to suggest something to build some visibility and momentum. I've called this inaugural Town Hall Meeting to open it up to some brainstorming.

How would y'all feel about getting the General Store open now?



Pros:

Outlet for homesteaders to showcase themselves and any products they want to sell/trade.

The start of the HUB (Homesteads United Brand) specific branding 'umbrella' and the Co-Op's initial online gathering space.

Opportunity to meet other homesteaders to start building the Co-Op Community.

Holiday shopping is just getting started.


Cons:

Start-up costs for a website can get pricey.

Need someone with experience to set up and manage the Store's website.

Would need developers to custom (retro)fit the type of currencies accepted by the Store to include crypto-currencies.

Learning curve could be cumbersome.

I'm sure there are lots of other facets we'll have to work out, but these points should be enough to kick off a discussion about what the Community thinks and is willing to support.

For the record, the VIVA portion of the equation is moving along. The developers are working - simultaneously - on several interconnected programs that will form the infrastructure of the VIVAconomy. Obviously the importance of that foundation to operate smoothly will be vital. That takes time. One place you can see evidence of forward movement is the Tradeqwik Exchange. They've added a massive number of new coins!

Please share your thoughts!


Here are the links to the whole concept, for those who are new or want a refresher:

Calling All Homesteaders...
Calling All Homesteaders... (cont'd)
Calling All Homesteaders... (conclusion)

Upvote, ReSteem,

THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

i know its a 40 min watch, but its worth the co-op time...

unless the producers have an emulatable model for distribution, all is for naught...

Excellent model and you're absolutely correct! Thanks again for bringing this to our attention.

I echo your recommendation that everyone watch this video, if they can.

More of their backstory can be found HERE.

Will watch it shortly. Thanks for adding it!

Interested to follow this.

What stage is VIVA at? Their website doesn't give any detail or updates. What is the timeline?

I would be interested to chat more on this. Maybe you can friend/DM me on Discord.

Hi pennsif, there is a white paper at https://s3.amazonaws.com/vivacoin/viva-white-paper-v-2-1.pdf
Don't know if you'd find it helpful.🐓

Thanks for the link - having a read.

Excellent!

To answer your question about VIVA progress, I just found this latest development:

A brand new VIVA Forum!

They are in the process of adding content, but it looks like this will be the public interface, so we can keep track of things as they come out. You won't have to depend on me for updates.

Oooh, and I just noticed they have a Clubs option. I'll check that out as an option for the Co-Op, too.

I'll keep an eye on the forum, thanks.

Forgot to add that I'm abysmal at Discord. I tend to get distracted too easily.

I've sent you a message in Discord. Hope to catch up with you later.

Cool... will check it out! Thanks!

There is so much going on with Tradeqwik, viva.cash, and GalaxyVault. A lot of stuff going on behind the scenes but the pace is really starting to pick up! @aunt-deb - definitely check out the new VIVA Community forum at https://forum.vivaco.in There is a Marketplace, FAQ area, VIVA discussion and we are beginning to promote people who want to launch their business on the VIVA Network. Definitely check it out and join in.

Thanks, @merej99 for the update! Just signed up at the new forum and am looking at starting a Club for the particular Community. Awesome new development and I think the timing couldn't be better! Word about VIVA is gaining momentum, so having this 'home base' will allow folks to easily get info they need quickly. Well done!

YAY! So glad to see you there! The more the merrier. The club option should be a great tool to gather your community. <3

I'll check into tomorrow. Am half-asleep and can hear my pillow calling me...

Y'all are rockin' the VIVA projects, btw! Please pass on my appreciation of the hard work and ridiculous number of hours being put in to get things functional. It's a mind-boggling amount of effort!

Sounds great and you've done a wonderful job putting this initiative together. I agree with you on the opening of a general store hub as a good starting point. Surely there are a few developer types who'd welcome the challenge.
My expertise is user documentiation/tech writing. Not much of a programmer type, although I do translate complex topics into easy to understand language.
Perhaps a bit of a fundraiser/contest is in order to secure a website with the proceeds. Just a thought.🐓

Thanks so much! I'm hoping you're right about the developers as that is way outside my scope of skills. I'm lucky to format my posts semi-coherently!

Agreed on the need for a fund raiser. Maybe a logo contest for the Store or something similar? That could also serve as a Community building exercise...

We're probably going to need your talents for explaining how to set up their little piece of the space.

I hear you about coherent posts, sometimes it's a challenge for me. LOL I would be happy to assist in any way you might require.

It's easy to ramble because I type like I talk. It takes me three times as long to fiddle with the wording before I post it, to make sure I'm not just flappin' my gums.

Thanks for that offer of help! I'll keep that in mind and am sure you'll be needed if we get this thing off the ground. ;~D

Awesome concept!

Would be desirable to link buyers to local sellers (based on radius from zipcode) for fresh products.

Thanks and yes, that could be incorporated to the model. Good suggestion!

Wow this so nice...wish i could make it.

Sorry... make what?

An event like this for my friends business, really in recession.

This post is a call for discussion on a specific suggestion for the Homesteading Community. There is no set time frame and the discussion will occur in the comments of this post.

Are you or your friend homesteaders or involved in permaculture?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82