#growwithme, Sowing and Sprouting Seeds

in #homesteading6 years ago

We've got sprouting happening here!


20180215_100019.jpg

The broccoli and cauliflower seeds are busting out and reaching for the light.

We sowed these seeds, along with a tray of walla walla onions on Feb 12. No signs of life from the onion tray yet, they can take up to 2 weeks to germinate.

I've had some great help from my little boy Ash.

PicsArt_02-15-09.58.13.jpg

Here he is helping me mix up some seed starting mix with some worm castings.



PicsArt_02-15-09.48.37.jpg

These two worms were tied in knots! My guess is that they were mating, and got a little carried away? When worms mate they align their bodies and exchange sperm, then each of them excretes a "cocoon" that 1-20 baby worms hatch from.



PicsArt_02-15-09.49.22.jpg

They came apart okay after I distrubed them... Sorry!



20180215_100221.jpg

The calendula is sprouting, though a few seedlings succumbed to "damping off", no biggie, I'll plant more!



20180215_100158.jpg

An echinacea baby peeking out of the dirt



20180210_101122.jpg

We also sowed a flat of asparagus and a flat of leeks, first time growing either of these so please drop any tips in the comments! I know I won't have asparagus to eat for about three years...



20180213_145744.jpg

We're having fun! And there's so much more to sow :) I'm really glad my excitement about gardening is spreading to my wee one.



PicsArt_02-15-09.46.46.jpg

Dirty little hands, just as they should be <3


What have you got on the gardening go in your neck of the woods?

Take Care,
@amymya

Join me on Sola!
Join me on Discord

DQmRqn2LVKTciC9oqzn2GyNoanzL2sPMLzNsszNk9u2nq7Y_1680x8400.jpg

Logo-Black-Small-Banner.png

DQmPzHhL7QL1JCjB3exmjEuJTNEfAeWabJizjY5fdErrFmP_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I’ve been gardening for a couple years now but I have never grown from seed! I always buy the seedlings because I’m afraid of my black thumb killing them! Your post has inspired me... maybe i should take the plunge this year! Even if it just helps me with the fact that it’s still the depths of winter where I live, it’s like a living reminder that spring is coming!

You can do it! It's so fun and satisfying :) You need to figure out timing and spacing and lights and stuff, but it'll all come to you through trial and error. And if you mess up, just try again, or buy some seedlings :)
I feel you, its still winter here too. Soon enough though... Spring will come!

I love that feeling when you get up in the morning and see your first sprouts! Good work, it is nice to see your kid learning and helping :)

It's so good :)
I'm happy he's digging it too, my eldest doesn't really like getting his hands dirty. Maybe if I had started gardening when he was younger...

That's so cool. Your little one looks really happy to be helping Momma with such an important task. Thanks so much for sharing!

I'm happy you enjoyed! This is the kind of thing that really brings me joy so I like to share :)

Haha funny how you crashed the worm orgy XD

It's lovely you're sharing these skills (and fun sessions) with your lovely Ash.

Thanks for sharing. Great pics.

Cheers
Anji x

Yeah I really disturbed them, poor worms, haha

OMG love thisss with lil babyyy tooo .. so much love in this entire series .. tears... xx Eagle

Awee, its so fun to garden with kiddos. I always try to plant extra tho because they like to eat all my peas the little ones do lol.

My onions are just starting now, and kale and salad greens. I dont think I could plant brocolli yet, what zone are you in?

I'm in zone 6 :) They are really early but I'm planning on transfering them to the greenhouse a few weeks before last frost. Havent done it this way before, we'll see how she goes!

Ahh I am zone 4, and I have no greenhouse yet sadly. My broccoli has to wait, which is sad, because I want to eat it!
Instead of growing things the sky just dumped literally 2 more feet of snow, FML!

We woke up to lots of snow too :(
Ah well. Spring will come soon enough!

"Dirty hands, just as they should be" <3 <3 <3
Looking good Amy! Beautiful babies growing there:) I lost a couple of rhubarb to damping off as well. Over zealous with the watering I guess haha! Break out the cinnamon!! <3 <3 <3 xo

Oh no! Not the rhubarbs! These had cinnamon on them already, still didn't make it. Oh wellll.

I will post a step by step seed into dirt post just for you another day :)

Great post nice pictures keep up the good work 👏 I'm following you now

Thanks, glad you enjoyed!

My pleasure 👍

I hope my kids in future enjoy gardening with me just like this. so sweet :)


Rydhi
xox

I hope they do too xoxo :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63