Heirloom Red Wethersfield Onions

in #homesteading7 years ago


Planted more seeds today


I planted a bunch more seeds today. 48 of these red onions that are pretty big and full of flavor. They are ready to be dug up about 100 days after you transplant them outside. So for me, about 4 months from today. They also like a lot of sun, more then 13 hours a day. This pack of onion seeds was kinda cheap, and well over 100 total seeds. KIMG1877.JPG


Today, I used a flat that has 72 cells. In the remaining 24 cells, I planted some more broccoli. Both of these plants, can be planted earlier then many other vegetables, you can even grow onions over the winter!


KIMG1872.JPG

Here is a few follow ups from posts I did in the past week or two.

Todays and yesterdays seeds get covers to keep in the moisture
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@amos811/planting-some-garden-seeds-indoors

Today the last one came up, phew






Thanks for looking at my post, I appreciate your time. Feel free to check out my blog @amos811


Sort:  

Hi isn't it easier to use arpagic ( google translation chives) to start onions?
ARPAGIC-600x400.jpg
This is what i call arpagic.
They grow faster and you can eat them as green onions to.
Keep up the good work!

It is faster and easier, but with this variety of heirloom onions, I could not get the starter bulbs for them. Thanks!

Hy I know i'm going to be offtopic but if you are interested i've write my introduction post. I wish you a nice day.

I pray that your onions are very good yields.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62991.12
ETH 2685.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55