Morning Glory (Convolvulaceae) from seeds

in #flowers6 years ago

Morning Glory

KIMG0836.JPG

There is over one thousand different varieties of the Convolvulaceae or bindweed. Every year I plant a few (because I am in a colder climate, they do not survive over the winter like in some other climates), as a visual barrier for my curious neighbors.

I Saved some of the seeds from last years, the little tube I keep seeds in I get from homedepot. They have this free water test thing near the front of the store, I have sent in 10 of them with out a response, so I just put my seeds in them now. These seeds are real hard, and can take weeks to germinate if just planted in the ground. So, like many other seeds, it is good to soak them for a day or two in warm water. KIMG1791.JPG

The vines grow really fast, and usually by the beginning of June my lattice is full, and the vines are reaching for the sky.
KIMG0543.JPG

This is just after a couple weeks, you can see how the need more water cause their leaves are sagging.
KIMG0544.JPG

Here is a cool picture of the morning glorys in a evening sky.
phone june 2015 1300.jpg
So after these guys soak for a day or two, I will plant them in dirt, and keep them inside for about a month. Then they will get planted next to my lattice. Hope you enjoyed, and please check out my blog @amos811

Sort:  

very well educating blog great job very interesting

Beautiful. I wish I can grow flowers in my garden too, someday.

Congratulations @amos811! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60881.34
ETH 3378.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49