The Goose Egg Pipped : But I have no fracking idea what kind of goose it will be!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

I thought I was just lucky to get fertile goose eggs so cheap, $3 each! So I didn’t even bother asking, didn’t look a gift horse in the mouth so to speak.

Last night our last duckling was just about out of his shell. So I checked on the goose too. I heard a squeak. I thought it was the duck. Then again, so I held the goose egg up to my ear and heard it squeak again and heard pecking! I was so excited I woke @alaskatactical up in the middle of the night. 😁

Well @alaskatactical checked on the incubator this morning after letting the dogs out. Then came in and told be “the goose is out”. I was half asleep so it scared the crap out of me! So I asked “it’s out?” He says no it cracked/pipped. So I calmed a bit. I was thinking I missed it all, but I didn’t.
So I got up and checked the incubator myself, I took the new baby out who was ready for the brooder box, and took a quick photo of the goose egg.
C7638325-3988-4F63-AFD2-29A2B9A8BAC6.jpeg

Here is the new baby with the fluffy ones, the baby seems to be smaller then the others. Not just because it isn’t fluffy yet, in over all size.
90D60164-FCF0-4089-8A7D-B225B647CC65.jpeg

Last night all three of the fluff butts where cuddling their cuddle buddy. Still no screaming or frantic peeping. 💗
C8FEA37F-6D20-4BC2-98A8-764AB06ED693.jpeg

You might be wondering why I put toys in their with them. Well the first ducking was almost three days older and solo, so introducing the second chick was interesting. The older one was very fascinated and was pecking the newbie a bit to much and very roughly. I know that’s what they are suppose to do, I have hatched before. But this was aggressive. So I found some old bright colored toys, a sponge bob and a red crab, and put them in the brooder box. He took some of his frustration out on the toys and then checked on the newbie again. But it wasn’t as aggressive, then a toy and back to the newbie.
2255434A-45E1-4400-8EBB-CFC99ECAD70E.jpeg
The older one was like a toddler, and the newbie a newborn. So I had to distract, just like a human child.

FBF98B61-B0C5-4AB3-9706-DA269569668E.jpeg

Break up is here, and almost done.
98DCE439-3069-4A7F-AFED-FDFF975D7510.jpeg
I didn’t intentionally step in the puddle. I stepped on what I thought was just slush, after all how deep could it be. I can see ground in some spots, and we have steams running from giant puddle to giant puddle.

Yesterday I found one of the wicker shopping baskets I had been talking about to a few people.
1D599776-DF1C-486D-9BC9-3CCD283540B7.jpeg
I was at the register trying to buy it, and the cashier had no idea what I was talking about when I said “basket and buying it” when it was sitting in front of him. I could have stollen it right in front of him and he wouldn’t have known. But I told him I would like to buy it, he still said “what?”. 🤦‍♀️ So I literally had to show him. I told him to his face that I could have stollen it, but instead I didn’t. He said “and I appreciate it”. I said and “I won’t get a thing out of it”/being truthful.
So when I got home I reshaped it, it had creasing from packaging. You mist it with water, about three layers all over the basket and stuff it to the max with blankets.
After that I added zip ties for personal identification.

🐹One of my kids bought this girl with their own money almost three years ago. Her name is Sharp Tooth.
She isn’t doing to well, she is actually sitting still and hardly eating. She is turning grey too.
So we don’t think she will last much longer. She is an old hampster, but a very good one.
CDF807A3-D689-4074-9BAE-3B0393CC640A.jpeg

We are getting 49.8 miles to the gallon on my husbands car, we went 391 miles on a $22 tank of gas. It was also 63° In town yesterday at Fred Meyers.
FEAFA030-E928-44EC-B487-1FDBFB21E26B.jpeg

As for me, I may have bronchitis or pneumonia. Waiting on X-rays, but I have the meds already.

Well that’s all folks 🐷 hehehe

Hope you are well and healthy.

Life in Alaska

All photos and content are our own. Please do not use any part of this post without our expressed permission. Thanks for not being a dick

Sort:  

There was a time in my life I wanted me and my husband to relocate to Alaska. But he didn't want to move so far away from his parents. We lived 7 glorious years in Colorado. Then moved all over the Midwest. We purchased a house (which I plan to live in until I pass away) up in Saint Paul, MN USA.

We are blessed with great neighbors. Should end up getting around 10 inches of snow by the end of the day. Not much, I know but whatever God chooses to send is plenty for me!

Wow, well I hope you only get four inches so spring can be on it’s way sooner.

I checked out your blog, can you do a “introduce yourself” blog with a photo to authenticate your self?
I think you would get more followers.

That sock monkey is a great idea. I'll have to remember that one.

Thanks!

Good idea on the toys!

Thanks, it was my first time trying it. Very please it worked. I don’t know if it will work with chicks, but it would be worth a try. Either toys or a mirror.

Great post! I am glad to see your eggs took so well, and I hope you get better soon.

Thanks! I am happy with the turn out. I think it’s better to have a few at a time anyways. Better for bonding with your flock.
The doc gave me results on a weekend, the X-ray looked clear. So it’s a nasty bronchitis. I have steroids for my lungs. It’s been years since I have had bronchitis. I don’t suggest it, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70137.39
ETH 3937.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71