Finally was able to get another egg incubator : planning out what to hatch

in #homesteadersonline6 years ago (edited)

So we have been looking at hatch rates and ratings for multiple incubators, but ended up getting one similar to the little giant(our first one).

4616E681-54C9-42B2-A890-127C6A70F651.jpeg
8574BA28-F550-4684-B631-AF24D5EB6D54.jpeg
We went fancy this time, we got one with an air circulator and... drum roll...
88767459-274E-4B45-8CD7-936EC91AFAB2.jpeg
YES!!! No more hand turning!

We have been setting our duck eggs to the side for hatching.

My chickens are old and stopped laying.
I lost all my roosters over the past winter, one from old age the other I think from the cold. I listened to the internet trolls telling me to let my birds climatize to the Alaskan winter. This is the first winter I even attempted to cut heat and lost 6 chickens from it. All with in a three or four day period when the temps dropped.
I turned the heater on in the coop.
I felt so bad, like I let my flock down. Truly, I felt sad and mad for not doing what I always do.

Anyways I am now letting my chickens live out their life in retirement, and focusing on ducks.

Ducks get very dirty in the winter though, there is no safe or good way to provide water for them to preen. So my duckies are not pretty in the winter . 😕

So like I said I have been saving eggs up for hatching. We went to the feed store and a lady had some goose eggs for sale, $3 each. But they where in a fridge and washed. I was able to get help from the store to contact the owner so I could get fresh unwashed or frigerated eggs. She agreed to sell and hold six for us.
So we will have some geese!!! So excited! I have been wanted geese for awhile too! I have no idea what kind of geese, but I want them for guard animals, so I don’t really care if you know what I mean. I am just glad to get the opportunity!
There was a lady selling goslings for $25-$30 each! But was selling full grown for $40-$50. That’s just to much in my opinion for both.

My turkeys are talking and strutting.
A0309C76-39E9-4FF5-9730-B32CF0E6EBFA.jpeg
The hen you see is hand raised and bonded to me. She was the only hatchling, her name is Peep. The broken blue thing was a canopy to keep the snow away from the coop door. Worked until turkeys started to roost on it. Easy to fix with a tarp.

So my turkeys are getting ready to nest too. So I will hopefully get some turkeys chicks too.
We have some friends who what us to raise the turkeys for them, city folk. I have no problem with that. We will love the turkeys and spoil them up until the end. We have a very large fenced in area for them. Helps control the chaos a bit, they still get out though. But my dogs help bring the birds back.

I will have to pull out my brooder boxes that are cat and dog proof soon.

I am so ready for spring. The color green seems like a distant memory right now.

Hope you all are doing well 😊

Life in Alaska

Sort:  

We had a Sportsman 1502 GQF incubator and enjoyed every minute of hatching. Hoping we can hatch again in the future as we miss it very much!

I would love something that fancy, but we don’t have the money for that.
We waited two years to get this one.

It was awesome to have. We got a phenomenal deal from a friend two years ago and was able to pre-sell chicks to cover the expense. Due to urgent medical expenses we had to sell it a couple months ago. :(

That’s cool, but also sucky. Hope all is well now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56