Prepping for winter : Cutting and chopping wood

in #homesteading6 years ago

EC9E8211-FCB8-4737-B5A5-A70127C3FF92.jpeg
Yes I split this

Just a day of splitting wood. Wanted to have kind of a journal to see how far we have come on our stock pile of wood.
My husband, @alaskatactical, cut this big ass cotton wood, the same one in this post. But once it’s in rounds it still needs split. That’s where I come in.

48AA39A4-3FAF-410F-BD73-A1412A9091C2.jpeg
I split all of these too
We are on day two of chopping/splitting wood. I am getting blisters.

After about an hour and a half we needed to go get gas.
But we ran into construction.
F7C578AF-1D8D-4C04-B24C-B4C2C06F2B7B.jpeg

On the way back wasn’t as annoying or as long a wait.
38D87862-CC9F-4118-AD95-2CC5F1D63794.jpeg
When we got back it was back to the grind.
Look at this pretty grain in the wood. 😍
Then it started to freaking snow, what the hell! 😠

4F6AEB1B-8917-4991-A9D4-D7E9299DCD5D.jpeg
This is the maul I use, it is the best I have ever used. I have tried three others. But this is the best, we bought a second one.

776463B7-EE94-4ACB-85B9-13D35EC7E601.jpeg
This is how much we(90% me) have done in two days, double row, 4.5 foot high, about 7 foot long. So close to a cord, if not a cord of wood in two days.
Everyone pitched in. We started to listen to an audio book while stacking. Makes a brain numbing job more interesting.

@alaskatactical says in this post that we are planning on getting a new wood stove. I am holding him to it! We need one.
Our old stove does it’s job, but it is breaking quickly. The one I want is a wood stove with a forced air vent in the top for ducting. It will look a bit tacky, but my home will be warm. If I am able to put the wood stove where I want, in the middle of the house instead of one side. I could push the warm air into both parts with a T duct ontop of the stove.

Anyways, I am sore, but happy.

Life of Alaska

All photos and content are our own. Please do not use any part of this post without our expressed permission. Thanks for not being a dick

Sort:  

Congratulations you were chosen for one of our five free daily resteems! Keep up the good work!

Resteem your Posts to 9650+ Followers — just send 0.1 SBD or STEEM to @yougotresteemed with link in memo (you also will receive a 100% upvote)!

For daily bloggers we offer a Resteem subscription including at least one Resteem a day and a daily feature + daily upvotes!

Wanna sell your Votes or looking for an Upvote-Bot? Try Smartsteem

it is really an exciting and challenging life in Alaska, I just watched on national tv only geography

Challenging for sure!

Bad ass. I chop my own wood for fires here I have in my yard. Nothing like chopping some wood for fun. Wellnto burn.

She used to have me split them in half for them. She figured out how to do it now.

I split many a cord of wood with a maul growing up till my grandfather would let me use the log splitter and it never is fun. I really liked when he let me use the log splitter as you appreciate more when you split lots of wood by swinging a maul.

Yes you do! Know what you put into it to heat your home is priceless

I bet that is great exercise. I will have to remember that maul when it is time for us to buy one. I think I have a cheapo one around somewhere but I can't remember what brand it is.

The maul we have is amazing! We had some cheap ones too.
I don’t think I will ever buy anything else again. It truely is an amazing maul!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64450.12
ETH 3153.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52