Green House Update 29 April 2018 : I may have planted a bit to soon 😬

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

So here in Alaska it is hard to judge when to start your plants, because the thaw does change from year to year.

Last year I started green beans in January and in March I had green beans on the plants that where six inches long.

This one I started in February with the egg shell seed starters. Yep still trying to find the right grove when it comes to starting plants.
Not many of those survived, mostly the herbs did.

Then I had to re-pot some of them about a month later. The big grow tent was pretty empty looking and looked like it would work great for our needs. Ha! How naïve I was.

This is the green house now...
57DF1742-7014-407C-8411-D240EE26FE00.jpeg

My potatoes are growing like crazy, some have double sprouts on the top now.
The pumpkins are starting to bloom. What did I get myself into. 🤦‍♀️
1DCD1D00-833F-4C2B-9E19-57BF58753697.jpeg
Three little flowers on one plant
My herbies are doing just fine and plugging along slowly.
I need to start some more potatoes soon, I think I will do that as soon as I am done here. They need to get started, I want to make sure we have some food, and this is one way I can bring home the bacon and help feed my family. This is my thing, know what I mean?

The little green house by the fire place is doing amazing with the new lights. Like crazy amazing.
77C3AFC8-3AEB-4E0F-A148-78A2FDC05661.jpeg

CE858AF3-032A-4D41-8307-93068CEC1C1C.jpeg

I have 12 tomato plants that are 6 inches tall, 12 cucumber plants that are about 4 inches.
I have four pea plants, not bad from 6 old seeds.

Some of my trays are starting to sprout.
F61D93FD-85B5-4809-8F0A-37634078A2A4.jpeg
Left to right: tomato, tomato, green bean with about 10 sunflowers, radish, and rhubarb.

Well that’s it for now, I am going to plant some more potatoes to get a good head start.

Oh and the other day I bought some hanging baskets! I am going to plant me some pretties just because I can.
BF4EF65C-9ACF-4C17-A5F6-06EBCFABDBBF.jpeg

Along with some flowers for animal graves, for a hamster, bird, hermit crab, and some of our farm birds.
7F68B696-FF7E-4BC2-9316-D43819BA9DDE.jpeg
Forget-me-nots are the Alaskan State flower too. I am going to get a bag of Alaskan wild flowers and put it on my dogs grave

This is my dog, Star. We adopted her from a NY shelter. She was born to a NY street dog. She moved with us and traveled with us. She was the very first pet my husband(@alaskatactical) and I owned together. I use to pack her around in a backpack.
86CB7398-7850-4F3F-ACF1-468462AB6296.jpeg
I out lined her grave with stones, and plan on planting more flowers on top

Okay back from the bit of depressing stuff...
I bought some more flowers to help the Alaskan pollinators.

1C125F40-A886-41CC-BD39-69A003AF48FF.jpeg

I have tried other flowers in this eye sore power line cut, but nothing ever grows. Except wild strawberries, I plan on transplanting those suckers this year!

Okay I think that’s it for real this time.

Hope you are well.

Life in Alaska

All photos and content are our own. Please do not use any part of this post without our expressed permission. Thanks for not being a dick

Sort:  

Nice selection @alaskahippie!
I remember being told you can grow huge cabbage plants and such because while your growing season isn't that long you get a LOT of hours of sunshine. Any truth to that???

That is VERY true! We grow some of the hugest veggies!
We have very long periods of light, here in the south we get 20-21 hours of actual light in the summer. Up north, where we are from, we would get 24 hours easy!
This is what we are getting now.
9FE15D81-4B48-429E-AE20-25E5ED2352BB.jpeg

May I suggest the tag #gardenjournal2018 ? Check out @gardenmike 's suggestion.

How long is your growing season in Alaska? Ours is so long here and we can plant over winter too - I love the idea of a greenhouse and feel very envious of yours, but I don't really NEED one, unless I want to grow tropical things like bananas!!

Thanks for sharing, I love seeing what people are up to garden wise - it's really inspiring.

Do you mean @simplymike ? Thanks for the tag help, I struggle sometimes, lol. Like a major brain fart 🤯🤪

We have about four months of growing. My hubby says our last frost date is in June, and we get snow in October.
Hence why I am trying to figure out a way to grow longer, and have better yeild for four months of growing.

Talk of brain farts, yes that's who I mean. ;)

Gosh!! 4 months!! No wonder you need a greenhouse. Do you have a heater in there too? I envy people who tomatoes at Christmas, and it's because they give theirs a headstart. But I still have them now - and it's MAY!!

Some times we need a heater, but I try not to use them.
My father used electric base board heaters.
My grandfather used a forced air oil heater. He actually grew watermelons in North Pole, Alaska with his awesome green house and set up. It was the size of those small ones they sell in stores.

You should consider plastic tops for starting plants early.

Are to talking about my flats? I already have them covered. The reflection of the flash would have glared bad.

Great post. I think Alaska is not the not convenient place to have a vegetable garden.
Thanks for joining the '🌺 SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge (With Steem-Bounty!)' This post is a perfect example of hat we are looking for.

It all depends on the location, and perspective. 😊
Each year is different, some warmer and dryer, some soggy, some just right.

Aww your puppy ❤
Ok. The other stuff, awesomeness! Looks like you will have a lot to harvest this season! The flowers you picked are beautiful too.

Thanks.
Yeah, I’m trying 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62493.96
ETH 2440.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64