You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Green House Update 29 April 2018 : I may have planted a bit to soon 😬

in #homesteading6 years ago

May I suggest the tag #gardenjournal2018 ? Check out @gardenmike 's suggestion.

How long is your growing season in Alaska? Ours is so long here and we can plant over winter too - I love the idea of a greenhouse and feel very envious of yours, but I don't really NEED one, unless I want to grow tropical things like bananas!!

Thanks for sharing, I love seeing what people are up to garden wise - it's really inspiring.

Sort:  

Do you mean @simplymike ? Thanks for the tag help, I struggle sometimes, lol. Like a major brain fart 🤯🤪

We have about four months of growing. My hubby says our last frost date is in June, and we get snow in October.
Hence why I am trying to figure out a way to grow longer, and have better yeild for four months of growing.

Talk of brain farts, yes that's who I mean. ;)

Gosh!! 4 months!! No wonder you need a greenhouse. Do you have a heater in there too? I envy people who tomatoes at Christmas, and it's because they give theirs a headstart. But I still have them now - and it's MAY!!

Some times we need a heater, but I try not to use them.
My father used electric base board heaters.
My grandfather used a forced air oil heater. He actually grew watermelons in North Pole, Alaska with his awesome green house and set up. It was the size of those small ones they sell in stores.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62204.66
ETH 2437.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64