We had a productive day here in Alaska 🌱

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

4D69A0D4-60C7-4877-BA7B-0DD8ABD29220.gif

While @alaskatactical made breakfast sausage with our moose and home grown pork fat. I was planting the slower growing plants.
In Alaska we have a shorter growing season. Spring is in May, autumn is September and we get snow in October.

I started rhubarb, Brussel sprouts, basil-lemondrop, lemon balm, cat nip, spearmint and pumpkins: sugar pies.

A6F0DC75-5624-4019-A99C-AB91353054B7.jpeg

I planted them in duck egg shells, used black gold soil. I tried to use pencil to mark them, but it comes off. So I ended up using black marker.
I put the eggs in a plastic egg carton, and covered them with press and seel wrap.

I have a mini green house that I have next to my wood stove to keep them warm, also to keep my cats from eating and digging in my plants. They have done that the last few years.

DC6F879F-A077-4614-986D-6F2748B71513.jpeg

I put them on the bottom of the green house where it is cooler, so I don’t over heat the seeds or baby plants.

I will be starting the rest of my seeds in about a month.

Sort:  

Excellent stuff, I love the duck eggs as starting cells!! You have almost the same growing length as we do, but I am guessing the temps are cooler? Wishing you good sprouting luck <3 if you want, make one of the tags #doyougrow and I can follow and upvote/resteem your grow season:):) I wish I could send you seeds!!

Thanks for the tag. Here on the coast it gets about 80’s, up north where we are from 90-100. No joke. It’s crazy hot.
But down here we get the rain needed. I think 80s is just right, hot but not to hot.

So I bet we grow the stuff. Cool! I need to see alaska someday....I had no idea the growing season was so long. You are right, 80's is perfect:)

We probably do grow the same stuff.
Yeah the season is long, but also short. Most veggies take a long time to get to harvest. So we are being more picky this year.
We targeted produce that will be ready for harvest in about 60 days this year. Last year nothing took except potatoes and they didn’t do to well. Last year was cold and soggy. We had so much rain that the chicken yard was 6 inches of mud in the frequently used areas for months! Nothing I did helped, it seemed to make it worse.

I've always loved this idea just!
Following!

Very nice thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68