Oregano Uses and Benefits - A Must For Homesteaders

20180326_130404 (2).jpg

PLANT BASICS

Ahhh! Spring has sprung. The earth has gone from dormant to waking. My Oregano overwintered well, the plant has begun to grow. Last year it spent the growing season establishing itself, root system, climate and season pattern. Now it is time for this plant to take off. The plant is a part of the Lamiaceae family, or mint family of herbs. This plant is a perennial and evergreen in the right climate, and an annual in northern climates. Originating from the Mediterranean this herb can grow, in the right climate, into a bush. The Greeks named it, it is said that Aphrodite grew it in her garden in order to bring joy to the garden. The word “oregano” is derived from the Greek words oros, for “mountain,” and ganos, for “joy” meaning “ joy of the mountains”.

It is a long time medicinal herb and was used extensively during the middle ages to solve many common aches, pains and stomach issues. The medicinal value of Oregano has become very popular throughout the European, Chinese and American cultures, in recent years. While most supplement stores sell the essential oil, eating the leaves fresh from your garden, are far more beneficial.

20180326_130404 (3).jpg

INVASIVENESS AND USES

Oregano is not at all invasive. If you let the plant go to seed, it will reseed itself for the following year. Though the original plant will last 3-4 years. I have it growing in a tire to keep it contained to its own area, for easy cultivation.

Oreagano was, and is, used for the following:
rheumatism
toothache
indigestion
coughing fits
skin irritations and infections
dropsy
convulsions
an antidote for narcotic poisons
diarrhea
stomach upset and nausea
arthritis
muscle and joint pain and soreness
an antiseptic
an antibiotic
respiratory tract disorders
gastrointestinal (GI) disorders
menstrual cramps
urinary tract disorders
MRSA
an antibacterial
type 2 diabetes
anti-cancer

This is actually an amazing fact, the properties of certain compounds in the oregano will kill MRSA. This is quite amazing, especially as our tolerance to man-made antibiotics wanes. Yet you won't see any hospital serving fresh Oregano tea! The, get you sick, keep you sick, medical industrial complex is not about healing, it is about money, and profit.

Here at AR Homestead, we use the fresh leaf to make teas when we have any type of stomach, intestinal, nausea, gut pain or headache. The tea, made from fresh leaves, is very medicinal. I sweeten with honey and sip. Almost immediately the effects take place.

There is an active ingredient in oregano, known as beta-caryophyllin (E-BCP), which has been used to treat osteoporosis and arteriosclerosis.

20180209_150657 (3).jpg

COMPOUNDS AND COMPONENTS
calcium
iron
magnesium
manganese
potassium
vitamin A
vitamin C
vitamin E
vitamin K
antioxidants
thymol
carvacrol
Terpenes
Rosmarinic acid
Naringin
boron
Folates
Niacin
Pantothenic acid
Pyridoxine
Riboflavin
Thiamin
Sodium
Carotene-ß
Crypto-xanthin-ß
Lutein-zeaxanthin

Oregano has antibacterial properties that are given to it through a compound called carvacrol.

BENEFITS

Eating Oregano as a part of your regular diet, will help you reduce your risk for cancer, keep your gut clean of some pretty bad bacteria and keep your mouth healthy. Yes, by drinking your Oregano tea, your mouth benefits, it keeps bad bacteria out and allows a clean environment for the good bacteria to grow. It helps to keep your teeth clean by killing bacteria that cause plaque.

There are so many benefits to keeping Oregano as a part of your diet, that it only makes sense to keep it close. Whether dried or fresh, the benefits are in favor of planting this in your garden this year!

ANIMAL USES

Currently the larger farms with a lot of livestock are using the Oregano as a way to replace the use of man-made antibiotics. By utilizing the fresh grown herb for grazing livestock, it keeps the gut healthy and fends off the harmful bacteria they might get when grazing on or near fresh manure. Revolutionary animal health for livestock, that has been around since we started herding animals. Also by feeding and adding to bedding of poultry and rabbits, you can almost certainly fend off disease.

Oregano can also be used for dogs by keeping their gut healthy, and adding in all those vitamins and minerals. I will be trying this next if, I see an animal getting a bit sick. I will also start adding the herb to the rabbit hay and see how they do with it. If it does well, I might be growing a ton next year to use here and sell off to local farmers.

https://www.myspicer.com/history-of-oregano/
https://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/266259.php
https://www.healthline.com/nutrition/6-oregano-benefits#section3
http://naturalsociety.com/oregano-oil-super-healing-alternative/
https://www.nutrition-and-you.com/oregano.html
https://timbercreekfarmer.com/how-oregano-replaces-antibiotic-use-in-livestock/
http://www.dogsnaturallymagazine.com/oil-of-oregano-natural-antibiotic-for-dogs/

Well please up-vote and follow if you like my content. I will continue to post similar articles on plants, homegrown foods, gardening and homesteading ideas. Again thanks for dropping in. Remember that this is not medical advice nor do I prescribe anything to anyone. This post is for educational purposes only. Your body is your temple, treat it well. Have a great garden!


Directory of Steemit Posts
Community Forums

Sort:  

I've been dehydrating it and using it for the layers in winter for a few years now. They also get the cuttings when i hack it back, trying to keep it in bounds. And of course, I dehydrate some for us for cooking. This year I hope to do more and use it as tea, particularly for mouth issues.

Another great post!

Thanks! So the results in the bedding? This seems to really cut down the cost of animal sickness! I keep the animals as free from disease as I can, but there are those times where, well, there is nothing but to use antibiotics or let them die off. Even if this improves the stability of their home by a percentage greater than the cost of growing and selling the herb, I can make a little money with local farmers next year, maybe even enough to cover my supply as well! Then we're in the black, and able to increase our production even if by a little the following year!

You can use it there, but I sprinkle it periodically on their alfalfa mash and let it rehydrate. Oregano is an herb you can definitely increase production with, if mine is any indicator!

Getting your soil really balanced will help the plant reach the 4rd level of health where it produces the highest phyto alexins which are the properties you are seeking.

Here is John Kempf's Plant health levels. Most people have not seen plants past Level 1.

John's pyramid.JPG

(This came from a powerpoint offered by NOFA at a Soil Health seminar I attended. It was posted for our use. Hope I don't get flagged...)

You know I think I was between a 1 and 2 last year, but the south end was def a 3. After 3 years of building this soil, I finally have it under control, I think I will be at 3 by the next growing season or two. Once I have my Soil built up enough to care about I have a worm bin for compost, covered manure, I would say 1 sq yd of good dirt will be made for each manure pile I cover and let rot for a few months. I collect "tree dirt" I call it. The remains of rotten trees and mix that into my compost and manure mix... The only component I buy is peat moss... I mix all those and add clay from the ground as a mineral rich source for the plants... Now Ph is all over but I am normally quite acidic and I can always mix in more clay to bring toward alkaline. It is getting to the point where I will need to be more soil focused, I know it, Just not sure if time is on my side.

To truly know where you are, I'd still suggest a comprehensive test from Logan Labs with all the micro-nutrients....It would serve as a baseline.

I have been reading your soil test posts, and you are correct, jut think that for the last 3 years I wasted my time. I will probably be ready for a soil test next year. I should have enough fertile soil, without rocks, by then. This year I have refocused my sights on building a stockpile of soil.

Derek, how will you give it to your dogs? Just mix it in their food? And how much oregano at a time?

Oregano is certainly awesome, and delicious! I've had one growing in a pot for 4 years, and it is still coming back this year . The one in my garden that I planted last year is still growing. It actually stayed green all winter. I'm going to plant more this year.

I just stick it in their mouths, but I am sure you could dry it and put the crushed leaves in their food. I think I can seriously cash in on a big Oregano crop, I am going to see how I do this year, going into Oregano mode!

I also have a bunch of requests for veggie boxes, Mrs. Christy invited me to sell at her place once or twice a week, including a few neighbors! going to be a good year!

That is totally awesome!

Congratulations! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit "how to" posts for the Homesteading/Survival/Foraging/Prepper communities. If you haven't done so already, you can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

Thank you for write such great articles!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32