You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Oregano Uses and Benefits - A Must For Homesteaders

I've been dehydrating it and using it for the layers in winter for a few years now. They also get the cuttings when i hack it back, trying to keep it in bounds. And of course, I dehydrate some for us for cooking. This year I hope to do more and use it as tea, particularly for mouth issues.

Another great post!

Sort:  

Thanks! So the results in the bedding? This seems to really cut down the cost of animal sickness! I keep the animals as free from disease as I can, but there are those times where, well, there is nothing but to use antibiotics or let them die off. Even if this improves the stability of their home by a percentage greater than the cost of growing and selling the herb, I can make a little money with local farmers next year, maybe even enough to cover my supply as well! Then we're in the black, and able to increase our production even if by a little the following year!

You can use it there, but I sprinkle it periodically on their alfalfa mash and let it rehydrate. Oregano is an herb you can definitely increase production with, if mine is any indicator!

Getting your soil really balanced will help the plant reach the 4rd level of health where it produces the highest phyto alexins which are the properties you are seeking.

Here is John Kempf's Plant health levels. Most people have not seen plants past Level 1.

John's pyramid.JPG

(This came from a powerpoint offered by NOFA at a Soil Health seminar I attended. It was posted for our use. Hope I don't get flagged...)

You know I think I was between a 1 and 2 last year, but the south end was def a 3. After 3 years of building this soil, I finally have it under control, I think I will be at 3 by the next growing season or two. Once I have my Soil built up enough to care about I have a worm bin for compost, covered manure, I would say 1 sq yd of good dirt will be made for each manure pile I cover and let rot for a few months. I collect "tree dirt" I call it. The remains of rotten trees and mix that into my compost and manure mix... The only component I buy is peat moss... I mix all those and add clay from the ground as a mineral rich source for the plants... Now Ph is all over but I am normally quite acidic and I can always mix in more clay to bring toward alkaline. It is getting to the point where I will need to be more soil focused, I know it, Just not sure if time is on my side.

To truly know where you are, I'd still suggest a comprehensive test from Logan Labs with all the micro-nutrients....It would serve as a baseline.

I have been reading your soil test posts, and you are correct, jut think that for the last 3 years I wasted my time. I will probably be ready for a soil test next year. I should have enough fertile soil, without rocks, by then. This year I have refocused my sights on building a stockpile of soil.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37