Unwanted Abandoned Old Homesteads in Photographs

We love to take short day trip drives to small forgotten towns on the backroads in Florida.

I’m always stunned to see how many people just left their homes or maybe circumstances changed suddenly, perhaps a death with no heirs. Some of these old houses are on really nice acreage.

These old homes are always intriguing causing me to ponder who might have lived in them and what were their lives were like back in the day.

EF724B86-2D5F-4377-AC79-2BE7D07A7993.jpeg

13CE7E73-B204-4E12-890A-0509791AD3CD.jpeg

4DC032D3-0DAF-4588-94BE-4BB273B5E62A.jpeg

16D22376-F042-4FF7-8B91-AADD2D30319F.jpeg

F2880590-C76E-411D-96DE-DC0541F0A856.jpeg

3F02484C-D168-4B5A-9D7A-6C73CBCF4523.jpeg

76_A3_A49_E-700_E-49_CC-9161-30_F21_CFFE163.png

Sort:  

I can't believe all these places are abandoned. I live in London and any house that can house people is considered gold dust given how many families are looking for homes.

Thanks for sharing.

You’re welcome.They are down just about every country road, the US is such a large labd mass. People move around a lot.

These photos so remind me of the old gold towns down in The State of Victoria, Australia.

When I was back at highschool we went on a school camp and near one of the towns and we visited the church cemetery of the town to find the graves of the founders and the families that made the town back in the day and so on.

So I dare say that the local church cemetery could be the best place to see and learn the towns history.

Cool post and photos, took me back in time!

You’re right! It is reminiscent of that area of Oz. I lived in Sale not too far from Melbourne years ago. Very fond memories of that time in my life. I remember taking drives down dirt roads finding a place known as Blue Pool, we used to swim there-so beautiful!
Perhaps that’s the reason I’m so attracted to the old style houses, the tin roofs etc.

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

Thanks again🐓

A short story right there. I might steal some of your photos one of these days @mothe2chicks :D

Feel free to take what you need friend.

I have often pondered having a place in Florida. These type of old early 20th late 19th century buildings are exactly what I would want to do over as a Florida house. Usually we seem to think of the 1950s ranch and pink and teal, but not for me. I'd love an old house like this with some tropical trees in the garden. I am following you now. Good pics.

I’m with you about the older homes that are unique. No avocado green appliances ever, Thank-you so much for looking and commenting. Following you as well.

I love the abandoned houses. I drive the old highways all the time a take pictures of the old places. Occasionally I post some of them. I call the post Scenes along The Old Magnolia Highway.
I just realized that I have not been following you. I don't know how that happened since you were always one of my favorites. I am following now and have up voted your recent posts. I will hopefully keep up with you now.
Thanks I do appreciate you.

What is it about a mysterious old house that peaks our curiosity? My imagination runs wild thinking about what was or could have been. Thanks for stopping by and I am glad to know there are others that like the old homes too. Welcome to @mother2chicks. 🐓🐓

It's the older houses that I see and think of the guy that with a little help from his friends built it with there hands, no power tools. I think of all that must have taken place there. All the joy and happiness and even the pain as loved ones passed. It makes me sad that to think that a some point no one was left that cared about it anymore.

So really nice properties there such a shame there just left. Makes for some cracking photography though!

It does make for interesting photography. We went into one once and bats starting flying about!

Bet that made you jump! Sounds like a great pastime. Bats are protected here so you can enter a house if bats a living there kinda good I guess.

The 2nd house is probably the only one close to being salvageable. I wouldn't trust the two-story one.

The big question is, how much land do they still have? I've seen old nice houses for sale, but they only have the land that just surrounds the house.

The second one had good bones. Some of those like #2 had 10 plus acres with them. I really thought it had possibility.

It's fascinating to think about the history of a rural property.

It really is, sometimes these old places are not even locked up. You go in and explore finding remnants of the lives left behind. Sometimes furniture and fixtures, even old clothing is still there. Once there were all types of glass nicknacks just laying around. Thanks for coming by today🐓

OMGosh! I do the same thing when we go for drives. There are so many abandoned homes and (farm) buildings around us

Up North there are so many barns abandoned just falling apart and neglected. It makes me sad because they are so large and all are different in one way or another. It’s a lifestyle that is no longer valued.🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58092.92
ETH 2616.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43