HARDSHIPS ON THE HOMESTEAD: The perils of poison ivy PART 1

in #homestead7 years ago

As many of you know, we purchased land in Arkansas last month after living our whole lives in the Peoples Republic of Wisconsin.

After exploring our humble little 12 acres we have discovered an abundance of wild grapes, blackberries, strawberries, chives, red-buds, clovers, garlic, sassafras, persimmons, and mulberries. It's a veritable Garden of Eatin'. What a blessing it is to have such readily available food sources.

Unfortunately, it hasn't completely escaped from Adam's curse. We have since discovered, in oh so painful ways, that our land has literal crap TONS of thriving POISON IVY.

It shouldn’t be surprising, but it can be a hardship on the homestead to regularly encounter these landmines of painful itchiness.

Up in Wisconsin I never encountered this dreadful stuff, but since moving to Arkansas my wife and I have repeatedly been the victims of Poison Ivy's toxin named Urushiol (the oil that causes the itch). So I figured the best way to help y’all avoid unnecessary painful itchiness is to play a game. Well it's not much of a game, more like a show and tell. Shall we?

poison-ivy-hide-n-seek.jpg

Here’s a pic of my kids innocently weeding pots with the toxin just mere feet of brushing any part of their clothing or skin and causing trouble.

Can you find the poison ivy?

poison-ivy-with-kids (1).gif

Here’s what most of our untamed land looks like. Can you find it?

posion-ivy-lots-of-greens.gif

Here’s another shot a little closer. Can you find it?

posion-ivy-medium-amt-of-greens.gif

And now that you’re experts, here’s a tricky one.

You’ve heard, “leaves of three, let it be” But which one?

poison-ivy-1-2-3.gif

Poison IVY How bad can it be?

I’ve been almost carried away by mosquitos on the lakes of Wisconsin, bitten by chiggers after walking through tall grasses here in Arkansas, nibbled on by horseflies, and much more, but nothing, I repeat NOTHING compares to the itch of the IVY. Which really isn't an Ivy at all. It's actually related to the cashew family. That's a bummer, cuz' I love cashews.

Here’s a pic of my wife’s foot ( @allforthegood )after our dog--which had previously touched poison ivy--brushed her foot. She itched it thinking it was a regular bug bite. Boy, howdy! Was she ever wrong!

poison-ivy-scary-foot.jpg

And that’s nothing compared to my tales of terror. I cut down a tree last fall, having to wrap my arms around it's trunk in order to attach a pull chain. Little did I know that the tree was covered in ivy vines without the leaves. My chest and forearms broke out in painful blisters. It took months for the itch to go away.

And it can get worse…

th.jpg

I hear you crying out to stop so I digress.

The horrors of this innocent looking plant are enough to set your teeth on edge.

I dare you to Google “poison ivy skin reaction images” Let that whet your appetite until you read Part 2 on the Perils of Poison Ivy.

Have you ever reacted to this stuff? If so, tell me about it. Misery loves company.

Thanks for Reading!

As Always,

BLUER-closing-3 (1).jpg

Sort:  

Oh yeah! The worst was when I weedwhacked my dad's back 40! I do the following now and rarely get more than a spot or two any more. I keep dawn in the shower, two.

My wife just found this video last week. Serendipitous I do believe. I haven't created a wash station yet, but I have been scrubbing my arms and face with running cold water every few hours of working around my land. So far, I haven't had a major outbreak again. Thanks for sharing the video with everyone!

I treat it like a chemical attack from my Navy days. I wash the exposed areas with one wash cloth and use a different one for those that were covered. Stuff is hard to get rid of!

This guy above! We have poison oak in No California but since moving to Ohio, I have been destroyed by ivy. I also get it from the goats. cut roots and vines are the worst so i've had systemic reactions when cutting down trees... wife found this video above, I was sort of skeptical but washcloth made sense... DONE yes I get a few bumps here and there but nothing bad since. I usually just scrub hands arms and face (had a few bad reactions around my eyes), when I come in for a break or when done working around it. Watch it, it will change your life!

This stuff is the only thing that works after but its expensive ($35 for 1oz). Follow the complicated directions to the letter and it some how goes into the subdermal binds and removes. I only use it on bad spots but it works like now.

Definitely some wicked stuff. In my case, I've only encountered a red rash and the itch. Mostly, I recognize the plant and steer clear. On a side note, @papa-pepper and I used latex dipped gloves when clearing some of his ivy-bearing land in AR. I opened the bin containing my chainsaw and those gloves last week. The latex on the gloves looked like it was actually melting in places. Could that have been a reaction to urushiol? Btw, I threw them out.

It was probably the gas fumes from your chainsaw. Gas will dissolve latex.

There is a product for it... but you have to use it immediately upon contact. If you ever need some, text me. It's in the top of my medicine cabinet... I found it in 5 seconds. Don't try to wash off poison ivy with soap and water! Don't burn it and breathe the fumes... don't wash your clothes without knowing what to do.

20170629_020049a.jpg

Tecnu works well if you know you've been exposed and i use it for tools. soap, water, and WASHCLOTH. latter being the key. watch that vid @reeracer posted it changed my life

I need to discipline myself to take the time to wipe my tools down after I'm done. Now, what to do with my dog! I sure don't want to bath an outside dog very often. In fact, I don't want to bath an outdoor dog ever.

keep plenty of cheap washcloths wherever you wash your hands and be diligent about it when you come in. The minute you bathe him he'll be in it again lol. Treat the dog as if he's covered in poison because he is.

Urushiol can stay on tools, gloves, etc. for like 2 years they say. Also, I must of got some on me putting the goats up at night one time and ended up with it on the sheets. took a few days to figure it out. Wife was not happy not only that she got a rash but she had just changed the sheets. Diligence and just figure everything outside is covered in it.

I had to deal with Poison Ivy and Poison Oak when I would go camping in the Mountains east of San Diego. Though it was a little easier to avoid, because its green leaves were easy to spot amongst a landscape that was mostly different shades of brown, coming into contact with it turned a fun trip into an unbearable one.

You need to come on down and visit again. I can reacquaint you with your childhood friends. They are everywhere down here and have been asking about you.

Yea, we could build a fort out of it.

I will PAY you in pennies to never show me those photos again. Now I know if I come to visit I will bring a snowmobile suit, full face mask, and hip waders. And a flamethrower.

Better yet, lets just nuke it from orbit. It's the only way to be sure.

Do not worry I am diligently taming it back little by little. Nature abhors a vacuum so I have to get it covered in mulch and plant other ground cover to take its place. Or we can just nougat let me know when you're about to thanks

Nature abhors a flamethrower too.

Just sayin.

Unclean! Unclean! Wow, that's pretty nasty. I've seen poison ivy rashes before, but they were never like this. It was in CT, so perhaps they have a more tame variety there? Never got it myself, thank God. How do essential oils work on it? Like frankincense and peppermint diluted in water and made into a spray, or lavender mixed in coconut oil. Praying you heal soon!

The secondary pictures weren't of me thankfully. I did get some pretty bad rashes on my chest and on my arms but they were not anywhere near as bad as those pictures.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $22.25 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 29 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I can't believe you've never seen poison ivy in wisconsin! It is EVERYWHERE. The park next door is covered and my cabin is rampant. I just got rid of my rash a week ago lol!

I never came across it. I know it existed in Wisconsin but I've never really seen it I consider myself fortunate

Pretty lucky! Or maybe I just have terrible luck haha!

Arggghhh, glad I haven't encountered that poison ivy here in the UK.

Oh my goodness, I'm glad we don't get that in the UK or I might never go into my garden!

Really? No poison ivy in the UK? No plants trying to kill you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63373.75
ETH 3170.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88