You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HARDSHIPS ON THE HOMESTEAD: The perils of poison ivy PART 1

in #homestead7 years ago

There is a product for it... but you have to use it immediately upon contact. If you ever need some, text me. It's in the top of my medicine cabinet... I found it in 5 seconds. Don't try to wash off poison ivy with soap and water! Don't burn it and breathe the fumes... don't wash your clothes without knowing what to do.

20170629_020049a.jpg

Sort:  

Tecnu works well if you know you've been exposed and i use it for tools. soap, water, and WASHCLOTH. latter being the key. watch that vid @reeracer posted it changed my life

I need to discipline myself to take the time to wipe my tools down after I'm done. Now, what to do with my dog! I sure don't want to bath an outside dog very often. In fact, I don't want to bath an outdoor dog ever.

keep plenty of cheap washcloths wherever you wash your hands and be diligent about it when you come in. The minute you bathe him he'll be in it again lol. Treat the dog as if he's covered in poison because he is.

Urushiol can stay on tools, gloves, etc. for like 2 years they say. Also, I must of got some on me putting the goats up at night one time and ended up with it on the sheets. took a few days to figure it out. Wife was not happy not only that she got a rash but she had just changed the sheets. Diligence and just figure everything outside is covered in it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72