You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do You Diversify Your Homestead Income Sources?

in #homestead7 years ago

We are in an area susceptible to drought so your running water throughout the video seems wasteful.
We have rain barrels and buckets to collect rain and are very careful in the house so we do not have to depend on the well.
It is more work delivering water to the garden and the chicken but I think this year we will not be in danger of the well running dry.

Sort:  

To each their own, we aren't on Steemit to judge each other or how one waters their garden. Different climes have different resources. Some abundant, some scarce. @homesteaddad waters his garden just like we do (when we need to water)

Sorry, I did not mean it as a judgement, just a remark about how different it must be at your place. I am so sensitive to running water now because we have to be so careful with our own.

Well you must have been praying for us because we just had a downpour.
Thank You!

I appreciate your situation but as @greenacrehome said, all situations are not the same. That said, I try to be as good a steward of the resources I am blessed with as I can. Watering by hand is actually far less wasteful than if I were to put a sprinkler over it and let it run. This way the water is getting where it needs to, and no place else. I hope your water situation improves, I can imagine what a stress that must be.

I am seeing so much here about the differences in gardening in different parts of the country. It is my sensitivity about water usage that is caused by the changes it has made in the way we have to live that caused that remark...much too sensitive about running water. I sorry if it came out as a judgement. I am sure you are a good steward to your land...it is part of why we are doing this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69