Sort:  

I must admit, I saw this post earlier, but skipped it because it didn't stand out to me that it wasn't about stocks/bonds/etc. I came back to your blog from @countryprepper by looking through who he follows, and then (being at work and with some time to kill) clicked to watch your video.

I would edit the post title to include something like "homestead income" or something like it to attract more viewers. Everyone wants to know of ways to make money on a homestead! :)

In response to your video, here is what we're currently doing...

  • I work full time in the IT industry and am the primary bread winner for my family.
  • This year, my wife started a home business of making hand crafted soap. She has worked hard and has four local retail shops selling her soaps now. We also do craft fairs and events as we can to help sell.
  • I have a YouTube channel and have been putting out content for about 18 months over there. The income is pitiful though... at only $118 to date.
  • We blog on Steemit. I primarily do the blogging and content creation, but my wife is starting to help come up with ideas, etc. We have made triple the money on Steemit in a month and a half than YouTube!
  • My wife hits up the local thrift stores and yard sales to purchase items to re-sale online or one-on-one via facebook marketplace. Items such as vintage dishwares, clothing, etc. Kind of like an independent thrift store reseller?
  • I do commission woodworking items occasionally. Mostly in 19th century reproduction furniture for Living Historians of the Civil War Era.
  • We are getting sheep to run on our land. They're primarily so that I don't have to mow, and as "pets" for our kids, and learning tools for our kids (responsibility, animal husbandry, etc.). When we shear them once a year, we will clean and spin the wool ourselves to either make crafts from, or sell to crafters.
  • We have sold eggs in the past, but the market is extremely saturated in our area for these goods. We have scaled down our flock to just supply our family needs now.

Wow... that's a lot more than I thought it was going to be! :)

I have "business ideas" all the time and have dreams of supporting my family by other means. Hopefully I'll get there sooner than later... until then, I guess looking above is why I don't have much free time. LOL

Thanks @homesteaddad for this post!

Oh... another tip... a lot of us use the tag #homesteading instead of #homestead. That may also help your viewership? Maybe not.. just throwing it out there.

Upvoted, resteemed and following you now! :)

-Sam
@greenacrehome

Wow, thanks for the reply and the constructive criticism regarding the title, I appreciate it. That is a lot of things you have done to diversify. We are lucky that where we are, eggs are still able to be sold at $6 a dozen for free range eggs. My son sells his at $4, but I have a friend who has very loyal customers and sells all she has at $6.

I have bags of wool, but as of yet have not found the time to wash, card, and spin it, though I'd like to.

I have found the YouTube to Steemit comparison to be about the same as well, although my sample sizes are smaller. A year of doing YouTube seriously, and only a few weeks on Steemit.

I have also started checking out local auctions to see if there are deals I can find to resell or use here on the homestead.

Thanks again for the reply, great info.

Man... $6 a dozen is great! That's probably what they're getting them for at the local (what I would call elite or tourist-level) farmer markets they have around here. But those are nearly impossible to get into, and most require dues + commitment outside the event for volunteering. Person-to-person sales are more around $3 a dozen for free range, pastured poultry.

I like your new title and tag. :)

See you around, I'm sure I'll drop in on some of your other posts. Wanna see what the hooded man video is about. :)

Yeah, she has a very devout following and we live in close proximity to yuppy Ann Arbor. See you around for sure. Hooded man?

I have to agree with @greenacrehome your title threw me off and I almost did not click the link. Then I looked at your handle @homsteaddad and decided to take a look. I almost skipped your post. Good post tho, gives a person something to think about. God Bless

Thanks for checking it out, I appreciate it.

We are in an area susceptible to drought so your running water throughout the video seems wasteful.
We have rain barrels and buckets to collect rain and are very careful in the house so we do not have to depend on the well.
It is more work delivering water to the garden and the chicken but I think this year we will not be in danger of the well running dry.

To each their own, we aren't on Steemit to judge each other or how one waters their garden. Different climes have different resources. Some abundant, some scarce. @homesteaddad waters his garden just like we do (when we need to water)

Sorry, I did not mean it as a judgement, just a remark about how different it must be at your place. I am so sensitive to running water now because we have to be so careful with our own.

Well you must have been praying for us because we just had a downpour.
Thank You!

I appreciate your situation but as @greenacrehome said, all situations are not the same. That said, I try to be as good a steward of the resources I am blessed with as I can. Watering by hand is actually far less wasteful than if I were to put a sprinkler over it and let it run. This way the water is getting where it needs to, and no place else. I hope your water situation improves, I can imagine what a stress that must be.

I am seeing so much here about the differences in gardening in different parts of the country. It is my sensitivity about water usage that is caused by the changes it has made in the way we have to live that caused that remark...much too sensitive about running water. I sorry if it came out as a judgement. I am sure you are a good steward to your land...it is part of why we are doing this.

Hey guys new steemer and homesteader here, just followed you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63373.75
ETH 3170.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88