Free homeschool curriculum and resources edition 1

in #homeschool7 years ago

I have decided to dedicate one blog a week to free homeschool curriculum and resources this is the first edition.
I help run a page on Facebook with the same name as in the title. A friend came up with the idea and asked me to help run it because us like many families that home school or want to home school don't have thousands of dollars to spend on curriculum and are lucky if we have even a few hundred dollars to spend on curriculum so what we did was scour the internet and tried to gather all the free resources in one place.

We have been running the page now for since 2012 and till this summer was fairly small with about 125 members then something happened in our area, the school system in the neighboring district was taken over by the state for mismanagement of funds and parents started pulling their kids out in droves and word got out about our page and it has exploded. And as word got out people from other places have found our page. Which is really cool, we now how over 1500 members. I am thinking about introducing our members to steemit.

But when and if I do I will be making the post about if you join how to properly use Steemit as we know we need quality content not spam. But then I got to thinking that I should share here what I have learned about free curriculum and resources for homeschoolers. So here is that post. You don't have to have money to home school there is a ton of free resources you can use.


photo taken from the Free Homeschool Curriculum and Resources facebook page

Some other resources for free curriculum that isn't listed in the photo is
https://www.khanacademy.org/
http://discoveryk12.com/dk12/
The Public Library

Another cool resource is Pizza Hut's Book it Program available for students in K-6 grades
note this may not be available in all countries
http://www.bookitprogram.com/teachers/enrollment.asp

Another free resource homeschoolers can take advantage of here in the United States is the Smithsonian Museum Day Live where you can get in free you do have to go to this website first to get your free tickets the next free day is coming up soon.
Saturday September 23, 2017 http://www.smithsonianmag.com/museumday/museum-day-live-2017/

I hope you enjoy edition 1 of Free Homeschool Curriculum and Resources, check back in next week for edition 2 of this series.

untitled.png

Sort:  

I wish I could take my kids to Smithsonian free day! We used to use Khan academy a lot but we imposed zero gadgets on kids now. Its so easy for them to get to youtube if we just leave them for a minute. So now we're making do with kids encyclopedias and book sale hauls.

Next week I am gonna be listing a list of free printable resources

Thanks for these resources. These may come in handy. @ironshield

This post has received a 1.81 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @tecnosgirl. Send 0.100 or more SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Thanks for all the resources. Bookmarked this to check out the free sites. We don't follow any kind of curriculum, but I'm always interested in math and science resources that might catch my boy's interest.
Hopefully, we'll be going back to Khan next week, to resume math and coding. I've also tried Discoveryk12, but I'm not very happy with the science part. Some of the links you shared look promising!

Yeah I personally find some of the resources lacking and I personally use a paid for curriculum for my son It is low cost K-8th grades is $19.99 a month and high school is $30 a month, so it is a low cost affordable option for us. But we also use some free resources too as the site we use only really offers core courses with very few electives. And though some of these sources I don't use because I think they are lacking, they are better than nothing for those who don't have any resources to work with and need 100% always free bases curriculum to work with.

This post has received a 4.16 % upvote from @dang007 thanks to: @dang007. SEND ANY AMOUNT AND GET UPVOTED.

thanks @dang007 your bot is working just fine. And since you did this without me asking to I am gonna send your bot a donation cause I don't want to take advantage of it.

Thank you for a great article. I went and signed up for a few classes myself!

you might want to check out www.futurelearn.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63700.42
ETH 3084.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83