Adult kids living at home

in #homelife6 years ago

Until recently both my adult boys (born 1989 and 1991) still lived home. My Daughter moved out when she was 16 as she felt my rules about her friends visiting at 3am on week nights was harsh.

The youngest lad moved out 3 months ago leaving the elder of my boys still here.

I am amazed at how often I get rolled eyes or comments about moving him on (used the be them) as he is too old to live at home. From what I gather the MOTH (man of the house) and I should be waiting for the day and encouraging him to move out. He helps around the house often without asking, he is as funny as a fit, we have security when we go away, runs errands and happily contributes to the household.

Sure if I am honest there are odd moments when I am tired and grumpy but overall I am in no hurry to move him out. This is his home and good for him while he is saving for a deposit for his own place.

Back when I was in my early 20's my Sister-in-law's husband said when he was 17 his Mum and Dad told him he was old enough to leave home and pushed him out into the world. He said it did it good and when he had kids he would do the same. Not only did his two kids not move out at 17, their Daughter moved back with her baby when her relationship ended, and lived back home until a year ago. Funny how he changed his tune!

I am interested in other's thoughts on this. Would you push a child out of home for no other reason than to have your own space back?

Sort:  

I moved out when I was 19. To be fair those were different times though. I could have an admin job and buy a house and live quite comfortably.

Now? You need 3 degrees from Cambridge, £100,000 a year at least, and a partridge in a pear tree. I'll be the same - Alex can live with us until he's ready and financially stable :)

I was definitely in no hurry for my daughter to move out. I was completely content with her living here and contributing to the household duties while she was at college. It was her choice to leave and pursue other interests.

Congratulations @clairrhodes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55