The beginning...

in #homeless6 years ago

43915162_482323782259242_902883947721478394_n.jpg
It was a little over a year ago that I embraced the fact that I was becoming homeless and decided to look forward to the challenges that this would bring, rather than take the negative route and go down the path of depression and hopelessness.

At the time I was living in a tent in the grounds of an abandoned ruin of a country house that belonged to a former friend, and not knowing from day to day what the next one held.

With me were my two dogs, Ellie and Jeb, German Shepherd crosses and four goats, Dave and Stan, the bucks of the gang and Audrey with Little’Un the does.

I’d ended up back at this failed project after the opportunity of a lifetime turned out to the be job from hell, with, an injury that blinded me in one eye being the icing on the cake.

Let me introduce myself, I’m Mike, a Brit that lives in Latvia, and has done for the last twelve or so years.
I’d initially found myself at this place two years earlier, eager to be involved in the rather grandiose plans to rebuild it into a working farm and weekend lodge.

But, Janis being Janis it turns out that he was just full of words and his ideas, claims and promises had no substance.

So, when the offer of work for a large farming company, owned by a German who had relocated to Latvia appeared, I was keen to take it.

Sadly, things there were not as they were portrayed, forty hour weeks turned out to be ninety plus, the equipment constantly failed and the boss a tyrant.

It was during the repair of the conveyor for the grain drier that the accident happened.

The bosses son, who was running things on site, called me over to hold something while he cut it.

No safety glasses or gloves, I had to hold a piece of metal that was being shaped to fit at the bottom of a silo.

No sooner had he started cutting than something hit my eye. I walked away, cursing my own stupidity and headed home.

The next day when I woke I noticed that my vision was distorted and I had little bright flashes in my injured eye.

Long story short, the retina had been damaged and there was little chance of regaining my normal vision.
I got no support at my new job (which came with a house) and, when the transport was taken back, facing a fifteen kilometer walk to the shops I decided that I would just cut my loses and leave.

So that’s how I ended up back at the ruins with my animals.

This time though, with no work, and zero income.

So, one evening, I am lying on my ‘bed’ contemplating the situation, Ellie and Jeb are curled up at my feet. I realise that I have become homeless, I’m 58 yrs old with nothing to my name and simply surviving from day to day.

That’s when I decide ok, that’s great, let’s make it an adventure and see how far I can get in it.
I formed the plan the next day, it’s easy to get things done when there is no chance of being interrupted. I was going to build myself a gypsy caravan, get myself a horse or ox, then travel across Europe, heading West till I go to the Channel or the North Sea, then, I’d decide if I was going back to the UK or turning round and heading back.

And, that’s how it all started.

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit sir! I hope you will like this communitiy and you will find helpfull friends here.

First of all I am really sorry to hear about all the harsh things life put you throught, especially the eye. I am really glad that you still have a positive outlook after so much bad has happened. Never lose the positive mindset sir! There is still much life to live. I once hear a saying that 'the morning comes, right afther the darkest time of the night'. Maybe, the best time of your life will happen now, after it seems it could not get any worse.

well that is a great beginning to a story! Not so much a great set of events that happened leading up to it, particularly your eye :( I am looking forward to reading more about your adventures. Cheers - Carl


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @kepi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello, welcome to Steem. I hope you would enjoy it here as much as I do.

I will recommend you to use the partiko mobile app for an amazing experience on Steem.

Download the app with my referral link https://partiko.app/referral/akomoajong

Once you download the app and login, I will delegate 15SP to help your journey on Steem for a week.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're 58 and there is still life to live. It is very positive of you to plan on making it an adventure. On another note, maybe you can still find a decent job to keep you stable.

Whichever turn you would take, "may all the odds be in your favor."

Happy with the skills that I am learning to share on the road :) If I can earn $7 a day then the animals and myself can live like kings :)

I salute the simplicity and minimalism. I just want to mention that it is also not bad to be more ambitious. 😊

Just looking back over my posts and came across this brief chat.

I'm still on the road, still loving the simple life, still enjoying it and with no intention of returning to the 'real' world :-)

Have had a lot happen in the last two years and, just getting ready to share it here.

As for ambition, you tell me it's ok to have it, well, I think I do, it's just different from what most people have.

Welcome to Steem kepi! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Welcome kepi!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome to steemit @kepi.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Hello Dear,

Welcome to the amazing world of Blogging and Sharing. Being Original is the only way to get success on this platform, so avoid Plagiarism of any kind. Another important suggestion is to be part of Community. It helps you to find right direction and support you to grow.

I would advise to make use of Partiko mobile app, to keep your stay more convenient and happy. Use my Referral link https://partiko.app/referral/steemflow to get access to freedom

It gives you the foundation support to build own castle. Myself being a Partiko Mentor, found this app very useful in making engagement possible and very easy to operate. It is good to give a helping hand to all newbies.
A must for Steem, If you would be interested to know more, feel free to ask anything about Partiko or Steem ....Make yourself Comfortable and feel like home .👍

Upvoted👌

Thanks & Namaste

@steemflow

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62108.99
ETH 2429.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64