Holy week?

I have been baptized and was raised as a Christian,

but we did not go to church during Eastern. It was simply not a habit.
The only thing I can remember is that we all get a huge (very beautiful) chocolate egg with small eggs decorated around it.
Our house was not decorated it was for sure not a Dutch habit as I was a child.

As I became 18 years old I left church.

So I am no longer a member, a Christian. I also decided not to raise my children the way I was raised. It should be their free choice what to believe, if they want to be baptized or not.

So no Holy Week for us and to be honest I do not know what it means.

I never heard any one in the Netherlands talk about it. We go to work and school and that is it.

I usually hide some eggs for my children.

Mostly chocolate eggs since they never liked to eat chicken eggs. This year I will hide both. To keep them busy I will give them some cryptically descriptions where to find an egg. So they will be busy for time. I also bought them a chocolate egg. Not as big (and expensive) as the one I was given as a child, but it is a fine one.

This year we have something special.

Although the Christmas tree was gone at the start of 2018, we did put it back in February. Why? Because it started snowing. So we did decorated it with white pompons.
Now we will decorate it with eggs. Pity enough the place where it stays is very dark and I am not able to make a clear picture of it with my smartphone.

So I decided to make a picture of one of the only 2 spots in the little town where we live, where it reminds people of Eastern. Although the town is religious for sure the decoration is not.

What you see is a red egg and wooden bunnies.

Pity enough it was not such a shining day. It is still not Spring over here.
The picture is made with my smartphone Samsung J5 (2016). I did nothing to make it look better. Pixels: 2576x1932.

PhotoGrid_1522258810029.jpg

Like to know more about me? Please read my other posts.

Photocollagecontest #1 - My pet is a wolfdog

https://steemit.com/photocollagecontest/@wakeupkitty/photocollagecontest-1-my-pet-is-a-wolfdog

Picture of the city of Budapest

https://steemit.com/photography/@wakeupkitty/city-of-budapest

Picture of the city of Banjul

https://steemit.com/photography/@wakeupkitty/city-of-banjul

Bullies are everywhere and where are you?

https://steemit.com/life/@wakeupkitty/bullies-are-everywhere-and-where-are-you

what do you love and hate?

https://steemit.com/life/@wakeupkitty/what-do-you-love-and-hate

I need to

https://steemit.com/steemit/@wakeupkitty/i-need-to

Being bullied turns you into a serial killer?

https://steemit.com/life/@wakeupkitty/being-bullied-turns-you-into-a-serial-killer

taddlogo001.png

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 21:11:33
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 30.55/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This is a beautiful entry. I appreciate your willingness to join my contest despite our different beliefs. I love the way how to explain it to your readers, through you short post it made me understand the perception of Holy Week to you. Thank you for sharing it with us.

You are welcome. Thanks for the opportunity

Indeed, despite of different beliefs we were bond by the Lord through Steemit!

Congratulations @wakeupkitty! This post has been resteemed and featured on Minnow Curator Featured Post #2.

You got 100% upvote from @resteemvote and @wondersofnature!
Want to avail our Free Resteem and Upvote service? Check this out!

Thank you, it is good there is Steemit. Thanks for the resteem and upvote @resteemvote and @wondersofnature. I need to read about the upvote service (it is all new to me)

You are very much welcome :) Please feel free to check, we have some options of service that is very affordable for everyone.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50