We Leave For Our Christmas Camping Trip In The Morning. Spent Today Preparing. Some Video & Pics!

in #holidays7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemit.

The Australian summer is smashing us at the moment. It's really only a few hours of work you can get in a day. Despite that, we're almost all packed for our trip down to New South Wales with our two horses and our lovely cat for a camping Christmas holiday.

We'll be setup near a beach so the weather will hopefully be cooler. I've got some reading material and we've got a latop with some DVDs for night time too. The very first bag that I loaded into the car was enough to spark Nayyerah's curiosity.


20171220_175822.jpg
What ya doing dad?

We're quite organized I think. Everything from cat litter to a fridge. We're definitely packing a fan as we'll have power there thanks to the solar inverter pictured below.


20171221_170627.jpg

At the back left you may just be able to see our portable rocket stove. It's in the black carry back. Gives you an impression of how compact these little beauties are and boy they generate some heat. Here's a video of me cooking on one. Actually this video I'm quite proud of as it was my first attempt at editing in sound tracks and transitions. For fans of The Prodigy you'll like the backing music too!

We've got all the horse tack packed for riding on the beach and the bags down the bottom are the daily feeds already made up for the horses.


20171221_164317.jpg
/

Hoses, chairs, tarps, extension cables, everything stowed away up top ready to use.


20171221_164334.jpg

Extra water, hay and kit down below.


20171221_164343.jpg

The packing was made more fun by the curious animals. Both the horses considered coming in to the house and the cat wanted to get out to explore. They both were tempered by the heat however so in that regard it made things a little easier.


20171220_175634.jpg


20171220_175611.jpg


It'll be the first time we take our camper float out for an actual overnighter. We had it built with extra comforts including bedding, lighting and water storage. I did a post on the features 5 months ago here. Here's the video I did on the topic back then.

For those interested in the solar inverter, here it is being used in a real power outage situation. The video is below.

I also did a bit of a review on the unit here withe the video below.

So we leave early tomorrow to beat the heat. With all the work behind us, it's just a matter of getting ourselves there safely and kicking back to enjoy the end of the year. I'm sure there will be some great photo ops to keep you up to date. Have a great evening and thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Merry Christmas, Hope you will enjoy a lot

And merry Christmas to you too @qaismx. Thank you!

I'm in QLD, the heat is ridiculous! Had to run some cables in a ceiling on Monday and I had to get in and out about 5 times because I was scared I was gonna pass out....Not much fun if you ask me.

Enjoy your holiday mate!

Oh man that's got to be one of the worst jobs to be doing at this time of year! It's a bit toastey isn't it!

It's been quite mild down here in Adelaide. Hopefully you get some of our weather over the next little while. Have a great time :)

Sweating my arse off up in the Mountains. Adelaide sounds lovely.

Thanks mate! I hope so too.

Good job :) upvote post

thanks kindly

Amazing post ;)thx

Thanks so much!

very detailed, merrychristmas @nolnocluap

Thanks @zek and to you.

Amazing post very nice good job man

Hey @ayondatta. Thanks so much!

I do not relly know how is there but in the country live, there is no snow for chiristmass. I an sad about that, not feeling the important thing we are celebrating.
No snow no snow no snow.

Snow wouldn't last 5 seconds in this climate. It's wouldn't even keep my drink chilled! We grew up with hot Christmases and only saw snow at Christmas on the TV.

So you have one monstrous vehicle that is both a horse float and a camper? :O

Please let me know how you get on camping with a cat! I'm hoping the next ones I get will be cautious and chill enough to hang close to base camp with us, my last lot always had to be left home with petsitters.

Hee curious horses are so cute XD Have fun and drive carefully :D

goatsig

Thanks so much @rivhnn. Actually this cat has driven with us from Perth to Brisbane before... over 4000km. She loved it. Today we did the drive and she was relaxed in the air conditioning. At the moment she's tucked herself in the cool under the car. I think she'll love snuggling with us in the beds tonight!

DAYUMN!!!! That's some serious camping you're setting out to do!! I love how you brought everyone along. Please have a safe trip and if I don't see you before then, Merry Christmas!!!

You too @bearone, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66050.37
ETH 2629.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68