A Real Power Outage Situation Handled Comfortably: Video Demonstrating Off Grid Power In Use In Australia During A Planned Outage Today

in #teamaustralia7 years ago (edited)

In today's video I walk you through our off-grid solar setup during real usage for a planned power outage today while power poles in the street are replaced.

I talk about the importance of being able to access water, especially for those people who rely on electrically-powered tank pumps and how efficient you can be with just running a normal domestic refrigerator.

2017-07-13 13.14.56.jpg

Here are the guys replacing the pole infrastructure in the street.

2017-07-13 13.13.29.jpg

For those who are new followers, who may have missed it or who just want to see it again, here's a previous video I posted recently that details out particular setup here and some of the considerations when selecting petrol or solar systems.

Having this facility means all the difference for comfort and capability today.

Enjoy!

Sort:  

Great stuff man. I have pretty much same setup except on much much smaller scale.

Thanks for the vote of confidence man. So do you have one of the smaller Goal Zero systems then or some other unit? They are very useful.

Yeah I have the Goal Zero Nomad 7 and the Guide 10. Like I said much much smaller hehe, but it serves my needs. I'm not bothered or concerned about power outages planned or otherwise. I did some #lightsoutchallenge where I went without lighting and only used torches and from that I found that I would ideally need a minimum of 20 watt solar panel. I really like the Yeti's though and the Anker version. Would be nice to get a more serious solar setup going to reduce my dependancy on 'the grid'.

#lightsoffchallenge sounds like a good way to wargame how things would work in a grid down situation. Good on you for participating. Yes the Goal Zero kit is top notch.

Yeah, I learnt a LOT about my preps and it very quickly shows where preps may be weak. I usually do no lights, no mains water or gas. I haven't done them all at once. Yet!

Wow! So are you able to provide maybe the 3 biggest things you've learned you were deficient in from these exercises? You sound quite experienced in the prepping space

Well from Lights out the 3 main areas I need and learnt were. I need a bigger solar panel, 20 watt minimum. I did the lights out in summer so in winter it would be tougher. Protected 18650 cells in torches are the best to use over the long term, less chance of damaging them with over discharging, they also usually have a lower mAH so they are easier to charge and I found it's better to use lots of lights on a lower power than put one lamp on full. Although I did practice light discipline.

Great stuff thanks. Presumably you need torches designed for the 18650 cell voltage and size, correct? What type of recharger do you use for those cells?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66050.37
ETH 2629.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68