WEST AFRICAN PIDGIN(NIGERIAN PIDGIN/CREOLE) LESSON 1 WITH ME|| BY @ubongudofot

10% Payout to @steem.skillshare

20220207_111249.png

Hello skilled ladies and Gentle, it’s my pleasure to welcome you back to my page. Last week I introduced a language which I want to teach anyone who is interested to learn and that was “West African Pidgin”, maybe you missed out, but never too worry because I’ve got you covered, guess what? You can actually read about the introduction using this link that is entitled: LEARN WEST AFRICAN PIDGIN(NIGERIAN PIDGIN/CREOLE) WITH ME.
Just Note that I would be doing this once a week, so please indulge you to always check on this and my blog every weekend for this lesson. Everybody is welcome, and also note that here is not a discrimination zone.

The diagram below will show what our classes would look like. But today, Videos would not be inclusive. Videos will be included in our next lesson.

char.png

So today we start with the first lesson. And today, I want to teach you how to substitute pidgin in place of Standard English words. I will call this the basic. Because, when you know this, it will help you to flow very well in pidgin English.
Don’t worry, it’s going to be very simple and brief.

LESSON

So, I will give 3 examples and I will discuss that.

  • Standard English: What are you doing?
    West African Pidgin English: Wetin you dey do?

Remember, in the introductory publication I posted last week, I mentioned the word “Wetin”. And weting means what. And the word,“are” in the above context is replaced with “dey”. May I also bring to your notice that the word “dey” which is used here could change in meaning depending on the context. So, that means you don’t use it in every place you see “are”, but in most cases the word “are” is usually replaced with “dey” in West African Pidgins, depending on the message that is intended to be passed.

For Example:
Standard English: What is wrong with you?
West African Pidgin: wetin dey worry you?
Have you noticed that there was no “are” in the above statement, but when interpreted into West African pidgin, the word “dey” was captured.

  • Standard English: I want to go home.
    West African Pidgin: I wan go home.
    So in West African Pidgin, Want is replaced by wan.

  • Standard English: I can do it.
    West African Pidgin: I fit do am.
    Can is replaced with the word fit in west African Pidgin.
    Any place you see Can, always replace it with Fit. And also note that the word it is changed to am in west African Pidgin. So, anywhere you see It, just change it to am and that will give you west African Pidgin, it’s that simple.

Can you use those highlighted words above to form sentences in west African Pidgin? I will like you to try that in the comment section.

WORKSHOP TIME

Standard English:

Votes are difficult to have these days, but we won’t give up.

West African Pidgin:

Votes dey difficult to get these days, but we no go give up.

NEW WORDS TO LEARN

Standard EnglishWest African Pidgin
CannotNo go fit
Theydem
Walkwaka
Knowunderstand Sabi
Get outComot

CONCLUSION

West African pidgin is widely spoken in Africa, and most Africans who are out from their home countries, still use it. Learning this language will really help you get acquainted with African investors, most of them use it, and trust me, if you learn and know how to use it, you will automatically become a friend to a Nigerian because they like it.

About Me

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Correeect! this is good! Finally someone is teaching our African pidgin. I enjoyed reading through the examples given in the post. Hopefully many will benefit from this lesson.
Thru thru Dem suppose learn am 😀

Thank you very much dear, yes ofcourse, people need to learn it. It is a language that is spoken by over 500million people in yhe world.

And thanks for your last statement, that's pure pidgin.

Yes dem suppose learn am😊

 2 years ago 

🥰🥰🥰

Bros, I feel this your post wella! E make sense die. Shebi you sabi say me sef de tok pidgin sometimes. But na for evening I de fit flow well well, no be for afternoon.
But u tight bro. Just de give us more thought-for-thought translation make we fit learn fast, you hear?

😀...thank you very much for visiting my blog and participating. Your West African pidgin is good😀👍.

I go dey give una update, abeg continue to dey visit my blog to learn more everyweek here on @steem.skillshare community.

Congratulations, your nice post has been upvoted by the steem.skillshare curation trail!
please check out this post:
steem.skillshare curation trail post to get infos about our trail

trail.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61521.43
ETH 3387.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49