Plan 5 moves ahead

in Steem Skillshare2 years ago (edited)

I am afraid this article will be serious. The father of the family I was trying to rescue has decided that he was born in Ukraine and will die in Ukraine. He had one of the soldiers directed to clean up Chernobyl, so he is exempt from the conflict (both age and health). He was pivotal in my plan to get the family out. He was necessary to my plan. Women and children are too at risk to travel alone at this time. His decision has put the rest of the family with no option but to sit it out.

I had prepared them as well as I could, so they should have enough food and water to survive for more than a month. The most crucial survival supply to store is water. There is no way to predict how far this crisis will extend, especially as Chernobyl is no longer under the control of the Ukrainians. Radioactive material might be released into the Dnieper, effectively poisoning the heart of the country. Depending upon the prevailing winds, radioactive ash might be sent airborne, potentially poisoning parts of Europe. It costs little to store jars or containers of water at this point. As in the case of any disaster, filling your sinks and bathtub just before the event can prove to be a wise ploy. I included a link for a video on how to make an inexpensive water filter yesterday.

I was in talking to one of my friends last night. People were sheltering in a bowling alley in their area. Aside from the lack of air in that location, always remember to look up if you need to find shelter. Whatever is above you will too often land on you. My friends wisely left this location. Unlike a subway, where there is no likelihood of explosive forces from the side and a fair amount of protection from overhead, you have potentially three avenues of escape. You can go up and, if that is blocked off, either direction of the tunnel.

image.png

From my experience with apartments in Ukraine, the washrooms tend to be closest to the interior of buildings, with lots of ventilation. If you are in a bombardment, that is the safest place to be. If you are in an area subject to bombardment, remember that flying glass is the most significant hazard. It is unlikely your apartment will be hit directly at this point. What can happen is that a missile might explode nearby, shattering the windows in the surrounding properties. Creating a buffer of furniture and angling tables to deflect flying debris and sleeping on a mattress on the floor.

For those living in Turkey, something is happening in Syria. I haven't studied the geopolitical motivations in that area, but it is consistent with Russian encirclement strategies. One might start discussions with family members about stocking reserves of preserved food. Even if Turkey does not become embroiled in this, food prices will likely escalate.

It might be a good time for those living in Germany to consider going on vacation to Spain for a few months or years. Even if this is resolved quickly, it is never a good idea to place your survival in the hands of someone who hates you.

In 2018, hard coal production in Germany came to an end. Last year, the German government also limited the use of lignite for electricity generation.

Source

Sort:  

War is always a very bad situation. I hope it ends as soon as possible.

 2 years ago 

I have mentioned this to my friends in Turkey. While this event shouldn't affect you, it might be a good idea to discuss it with your family if it does. Do you have enough food and water to last at least a month? If things go wrong, is there a place you can escape to?

If I had known my acquaintance was unwilling to leave Ukraine, I would have had his daughter and grandson someplace safe now. I had arranged for them to "vacation" in Turkey until I could work out a more permanent solution.

Hi David, War is a terrible thing and unfortunately it seems that as long as mankind continues to exist, war will also exist. Unfortunately, we have been seeing the effects of the war in Syria for years, and now another country close to us is suffering from the war.
I hope this situation in Ukraine is resolved diplomatically and innocent people are not harmed.

 2 years ago 

I appreciate your feelings.

The civilians and the soldiers on both sides are innocents, so hundreds of innocents have died. Today, Russian jets flew overhead in Cherkasy, where my friends and families live. I hope that they will not have missile fire this evening.

There is nothing that I can do for my Ukrainian friends but hope for their safety. Even if it is only an academic exercise, I hope you and your family would discuss what you would do or where you would go if this event spilled over to Turkey.

I haven't seen my daughter for over a decade. She lives in Australia, and there is a potential that China might do something silly. Like everyone, I suggested that she have a travel bag prepared. Happily, she has the same opinion as me.

I carry my personal documents, shower bag, water purification tablets, a Lifestraw, rope, comb, flashlight, rubber tube, Swiss Army knife, metal cup together. I have dried fruits and lentils/rice/ canned fish.
Source: My daughter Rebecca

I hope things go well with you.

It is a pity that we live in such a time that we are not safe anywhere in the world.
I'm thinking about this terrible scenario for my country and I have no idea what to do. Is it hard to leave or stay?
But I like the idea of your daughter's emergency bag. I hope you never have to use it

 2 years ago 

My mother is 93, so it is unlikely for her to travel. I would go to where my son is in the province of Alberta, Canada. He is 2500 km away. The problem isn't the war; it is the lack of food. I am about 3 hours north of Toronto. If things go wrong, I would be afraid of 3 million people knocking at my back door looking for a peanut butter sandwich.

When I would teach a course on motivation, I would have my students point at Balaclava. To point, they needed to know two things; where Balaclava is but also where they were.

Have you come to know people on Steem that you can get help from? If you and your family escaped to Canada, I would help you as much as possible, but you could also connect to the Turkish Society of Canada. Canadians would welcome you and your family into any community, but being around people with a common language and taste in food would ease your apprehensions.

Regrettably, our Prime Minister is a clown prince. He doesn't want to do the right thing; he wants people to think he is doing the right thing.

Perhaps you know someone with a sailboat? The first rule of survival is don't be where the problem is. How would you like to live on a boat like this?

Dear David, I hope we never have to leave the country because of the war. Not just me, of course, no one should be in this situation. But even knowing that good people like you in the other corner of the world are willing to help gives hope. Thank you

 2 years ago 

You are being too serious. I just mentioned to another person that it makes my skin crawl when people start talking about love and peace to me.

We haven't met nor are likely to meet in the future, but when I think of you and @enveng my heart warms. I hope the two of you keep safe. It isn't just from war. I want you to be safe from fear and sadness.

When I read your comment, I am deeply touched. Your precious wishes are so meaningful. I hope a safe and peaceful world can exist for all of us.

It's so nice to hear these words. I hope we can meet in real life one day. Who knows😇

 2 years ago (edited)

Let me see. A few years ago, parts of the world were covered with locusts. Plague! War! What other biblical catastrophe can we expect - another flood?
Change this map to 300 meters and tell me how dry will your house be? https://www.floodmap.net/
I might live in your basement and shine shoes.
The red * is me doing the backstroke.

image.png

Congratulations, your nice post has been upvoted by the steem.skillshare curation trail!
please check out this post:
steem.skillshare curation trail post to get infos about our trail

trail.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42