The Diary Game | Better life in 2021 | 22-01-2021 : A Busy Day

in Best of India4 years ago

Hello all. It's me again. My diary posts have definitely been all over the place. This is because of the extremely busy schedule that I had to endure so far in 2021. However, I seem to have found some time to do a whole bunch of things lately.

Last weekend I had a release at work which was the reason I wasn't posting that often here on steemit. However, now that the release was done I've got some time to look into the SIR tool and also fix a bug that was pointed out by @sapwood. So, let us have a look at my daily diary today.

Morning:

IMG_20210112_100649.jpg
It's actually hard to get a good photo of Cooper during our walks
Well, my mornings are pretty monotonous ever since I got Cooper home. It starts with him whining for like 15 minutes so that we can go on his daily morning walk. His morning walk lasts for about 1 hour every day. Today we extended it a bit more and walked for nearly 5Kms. The thing is I have put on some belly fat because of all the sitting around during the pandemic and I would want to get rid of that. A short extended jog with Cooper gives us both the necessary exercise to keep up-fit.

IMG_20210110_084633_1.jpg
Dosa that I ordered from Basaveshwaranagar dosa corner. Costs $0.90 for one. What3words
After coming back from his walk I gave him some water and his morning breakfast followed. My mom is not well since last night. So, we decided to order food on Swiggy and get it delivered. For my morning breakfast, I had Masala dosa. If you guys visit any part of Karnataka or Tamil Nadu, I recommend that you guys try out idli and masala dosa at the restaurants. You will keep wanting more of these dishes.

After my breakfast, I sat down to attend my morning standup. Since we had completed our release just last week, it was a very chill environment. We could now sit back and relax for a bit. Moreover, it was the last day of the working week. So, the majority of my team was on a leave-taking a long weekend. Since even I didn't have much work, I decided to finally get down to and make changes to the SIR tool.

Afternoon:

Screenshot_2021-01-25-23-43-04-428_in.swiggy.android.jpg
This is a restaurant that is available exclusively on Swiggy for delivery. My order cost me around $8. You can also visit one of their restaurants on MG road or Jayanagar as well
For the noon again we had ordered food for outside. This time around we had ordered Biriyani from Meghanas biriyani. If Andra style Dum Biriyani is your thing then this place is definitely a must-have.

After having my lunch I sat down to code the SIR tool. After researching a lot and going through the GITHUB issues page of stem I got to know the core of my problem. To fix this I had to make use of a database and that is exactly what I did.

The cheapest option that I could find for a fully managed hosted DB was the Postgres managed DB by Heroku. Since my tool currently gets less than 500 visitors in total I went for the free dev version of the DB. This costs me $0 and comes with a limitation of 8MB storage which amounts to approximately 10,000 rows.

If the traffic increase, then I would be moving on and scaling the DB that I'm using to the paid version.

By the time I came up with a design plan for my solution, it was already evening. However, the solution that I had come up with seems to be solid enough to scale up easily as well.

Evening and Night:

In the evening I logged off my work laptop real soon. Even though I didn't have any work over there I still had to be logged in. So, at 4:30 PM I logged out and then went on to have Peanut butter and Oreo. This combo is definitely one of the best ones I have tried. Every time I see Peanut butter I remember Joey from "FRIENDS" saying Peanut butter fingers XD.

While having my snacks, I also went on to watch a few youtube videos on .NET coding standards to ensure that I am able to write a code that would be easily maintainable in the future. After my snacks, I went on to continue coding the tool.

IMG_20210125_234456.jpg
The structure of the project is slowly improving. It will be a full MVC project which will make it extremely maintainable
During all this, I lost track of time and before I knew it it was already 8 PM, time for Cooper's dinner. I gave him his dinner and took him out on his night walk. I have now increased our total walk distance to 10kms. This keeps both of us fit and healthy. Trust me, I would not want to be the one going back to the office with a Beer belly.

After coming back, I was too tired from exercising so much today. So, I had my dinner, watched an episode of FRIENDS, and went to bed. Guess I'll continue the development of the tool tomorrow.

Happy weekend guys!
Steem on!

Sort:  

You have been upvoted by @sapwood, a Country Representative from INDIA. We are supporting the active authors with the Steemit Community Curator Account @steemcurator07.


Follow Steemit Blog ( @steemitblog ) for the latest update on Steem Community and other writing challenges and contest such as The diary game Season 3 , Better Life, etc. Also keep engaging with others to win #onepercent & #twopercent votes


STEEMIT - A GUIDE FOR NEWCOMERS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50