#Club100 -Steemit Engagement Challenge S4-W1 | My view on Cyber Bullying - by @starrchrissteemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem Cameroon2 years ago (edited)

Good day lovely steemians how are you all doing? Finally we have come to another awesome season of engagement challenge and as a well meaning steemian I am have desired to participate in the contest. This is my first entry and I hope you love it.

20220829_160849_0000.png

Note: The above the images was designed by me using Canva app.
I love this contest because it actually affects our day-to-day activities especially as the use of computer and technology has been accepted in most part of the world and most things, infact most activities in all sectors are now carried out by using computer and technologies. Cyber bullying is a famous and terrible offence which can cause defastatin and drastic actions like frustration, murder and even suicide.


What is your understanding on Cyber bullying?

First of I will want to start by defining cyber bullying, so what's is cyber bullying?

Cyber Bullying :

Is a self explained term which is originated from two different but famous terms which are Cyber and "Bullying. Cyber can be defined as the famous prefix used to refer to the internet or computing just as we have cyber crime which refers to Internet crime, we also have cyber cafe which is a place where people can easily and better access to the internet especially when the don't have a device which can connect them to the internet.

Cyber is a very famous and important term when it was originated from the Greek word "kybernetes", it's was heard of in term cybernetics and it initially formed by a man known as "Norbert Wiener". Bullying is another famous but offenceive act of forcefully compelling someone else to act or talking even when the are not willing to, bullying can also be defined as the act of intimidating, abusing or threatening someone else to do and act against their own wish. Bullying can really be harmful physically, socially, emotionally and financially to the affected party and had been said that it has resulted to so many suddenly deaths and chronic Illness like high blood pressure.

So from the definition above we are free to say that Cyber Bullying is the act of forcefully making or compelling someone to act unwillingly through electronic means or or the internet. It can also be called online bullying because it's done through online means, online bullying is a very terrible character, usually it found mostly among young and growing teen and many growing adults in our society. In the other some people actually bully others with out them knowing is actually bullying, whenever some suspects are caught they would say they was just playing with computer tech without knowing it's actually bullying. So the enlighten us more on cyber bullying, I am can to list some examples of cyber bullying.

images (49)~2.jpeg
Source

Example of cyber bullying are:
  • the act of threatening someone else through the internet is called cyber bullying.

-when someone is Illegally gaining access into on online accounts can be called cyber bullying

  • Sending painful, depressing and aggressive messages through the internet is cyber bullying

  • Blackmailing someone through online means is known as Cyber Bullying.

  • Illegally impersonating some else to perform criminal activities is called cyber bullying.

  • Posting someone else nude images is Cyber Bullying.

  • Talking someone else resources through the unwillingly is called cyber bullying..

Have you ever been a victim or perpetrator of Cyber bullying?

As an active users of the internet who has numerous account online, I can sadly say I had unluckily fallen victim of this terrible internet crime called cyber bullying.

My first case of cyber bullying was 7 years ago when I was active on Facebook, I had just 1 account which was growing publicity successfully. I used the account to run advertisment on Facebook to generate some income for my self but unfortunately something bad happened. On one faithful Tuesday, I noticed I was logged out of my Facebook account and I tried logging myself back to the account but it wasn't possible.

At first it seemed like network issues or Facebook server failure but as time passed by I noticed that it wasn't from Facebook and at that moment I realized that my account had been hacked and the password and account name was changed by the hacker, chai !!! I shouted in pains and frustration because I knew what it took me to grow my account to such at height.

I actually felt so so bad because I don't think I would have such time to an grow my account again because it was that year I recently got admitted into a tertiary Institutions and I didn't want anything concerning social media to distract me from excelling in my studies.


Give an instance (if any) wherein you or someone you know felt bullied in cyberspace, and what spiked such a feeling. (It could be throughout any social platform)

There are so many cases of cyber bullying I know of but I will be telling of the latest and painful one I say yesterday, yesterday after I finished reading latest Manchester united transfer news. I saw another trending news about a famous tick-tock influencer who was crying begging and complaining about how she have been hearing and seeing trending news showing her nude images saying she do send her nude images for #5000 (five thousand naira).


Screenshot_20220829-140049~2.png

Screenshot_20220829-142929~2.png


Source


The Content creator populary known as @blackchully3, was crying so intensely saying she is innocent and the videos are fake or and from unknown sources. She was pleading that the cyber bully in charge of such actions should stop immediately because spoiling her name won't do him any good.


How did this encounter affect this said person?

As you can see in the image above, the young lady was really crying bitterly and sorrowfully, there is no doubt in looks that she has been experiencing frustration, depression, sleepless night and probably head ache which will result from intense thinking and crying.

In my own case I felt like I had lost it all, because I spent money time and so many resources to grow my stolen account, although I never cried but I was emotionally, psychologically and mentally down. I was so frustrated, depressed and infact at that period I ate and slept just in little quality, I was over thinking and begging and searching for help. My case pained me so much because I was paid recently to run a promotion and I could achieve it before the account was stolen.

Although it took me time to forget but since from that day I stopped putting my hopes on most online platforms, since then I have only trusted steemit.com.


How safe do you feel on Steemit? And have you ever felt bullied at any point in time? (on Steemit)

Although steemit has tried it best to be secured, it can't be perfectly secured especially as the number of cyber bullies in the internet is rising rapidly, so therefore what I am saying is that steemit is not actually totally save from cyber bullies. I have not experienced any case cyber bullying on steemit but some of my friends have experienced it and I fell really sorry for them.

The first case of cyber bullying in steemit, was that of my friend and country rep @ngoenyi.
Some months ago @ngoenyi fell victim of this when she complained the someone opened an account using her name on so other blogging platform, she said the person used her picture as profile picture and the person would also legally copy her content on steemit and post it on those other platform.

The second case is that of my friend and Cameron county rep @chiabertrand some months ago I saw a post from my friend @chiabertrand, in his post he was sadly complaining on how some envy and wicked hearted people sent him mean and terrible messages. chiabertrand said that some cyber bullies chatted him up, accusing him of cheating in the engagement contest because the saw how successful he was in the contest.


What lessons did you gain from such a scenario? And what advice can you give to your audience?

From my little experience on cyber bullying, I would say that cyber bullying is really bad and evil, although it might look like a minor offence it has caused so many drastic and devastating effect on people life, work and family. So therefore I would advise people to be really careful on the internet to avoid falling victim of this terrible 😔 act.

  • Don't post very sensitive private informations and images on public platform or social media platforms.

  • Avoid clicking phishing links.

  • Don't bully others, it's wrong.

  • Don't Share sensitive security information online or with any customer service agent.

  • Don't put 100% trust and hope on untrustworthy sites

  • With immediate effect report any suspicious act of cyber bullying to the right agency.


Conclusion

Cyber bullying is a terrible act and it should not be practice to anyone, it could cause so many drastic effect on people health. We all are expected to be extremely careful so we won't fall victim to the hazardous action.

I am inviting @jueco @yakspeace and @ruthjoe to Participate in this contest.

Cc

@b-naj
@wase1234
@saxopedia

Thanks for going through

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Wow, I really enjoyed going through your post, but many people are so heartless, trying to bully others online.

I feel for most tiktokers that falls victim to this, I can remember that tiwa Savage was almost bullied but thank God she didn't give in to the demand of the bulleys.

Had she given in, they will keep coming for more.
This is a well written post.
Kindly drop a comment on my Engagement contest

 2 years ago 

Yea you are right bro, this bullies are even hunting celebrities but one the day will all be caught.

Thanks for going

Los acosos cibernéticos no se detienen así como así, muchos de estos acosadores se escudan en el anonimato y buscan sus víctimas para atemorizarlas, exigirles dinero u otras cosas.

Es lamentable lo que le pasó al amigo @chiabertrand.

FJJRG Saludos.png

 2 years ago 

Truly, this cyber bullies are after big accounts and big names as well. I remember when the two steemians that you have mentioned above complained in our various group chat that their names are everywhere. This People will always look for a way to bring down your reputation most especially when they see you making much progress. I wish you success on this contest my friend. Steem On!

 2 years ago (edited)

This is what I call enemy of progress, this is same way the threatened Regina Daniels and Kelly of TikTok success with fake online sex video. Hope the get caught soon.

Thank you very much bro for your awesome comment.

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.
default.jpg

 2 years ago 

Cyber bullying as you right said is a social media act which is carry out by individual whom to my best of knowledge it really barbaric and I also want to ensure that we should be careful the kind of link we click on to avoid this act and secondly I also want to say that steemit platform is the best social media platform and with it our information are wel secure do we should be careful they way we publish our information out there on other media platform

 2 years ago 

There are various ways of carrying out cyberbullying, which involves different means and methods. But like you said, Threats via the Internet is the most common of them all. As little as those behind the act thinks of the offence, its a great offense to stay away from.. Thank you for your vast knowledge on this topic.

 2 years ago 

Hello
Greetings my friend.

I seem I am not the only one with this Facebook issue.
My account was hack as well in 2020 but I didn't border much cuz it's just a normal account. You case is pitiful as I was a monitize account. Sorry for that hope someday you magnify your new account.✌️

 2 years ago (edited)


Hello @starrchris, We appreciate your effort to participate in this season 4 week 1 challenge. Your score is as follows:
Category
Remark
Score
Verified User1/1
#steemexlusive1/1
Plagiarism Free1/1
Bot Free1/1
Markdown Style1.5/2
Quality Content3/4
Total8.5/10

Account Overview

Category
Remark
Voting CSI19.7 ( 0.00 % self, 169 upvotes, 125 accounts, last 7d )
Club Statusclub100
Power up59.712 STEEM
Transfer Out00 STEEM
Date29-08-2022

 2 years ago (edited)

Thank you so much great friend, I really appreciate.

Thank you.

 2 years ago 

Your post has been supported using the Steem Cameroon Curation Account.

Steem Cameroon Discord Server
Steem Cameroon Telegram Channel

 2 years ago 

Threatening someone else through the internet is called cyberbullying.

This is the most common of cyberbullying, this idea is disgusting and I do wonder how people derive joy from such, just take a look at the poor girl as well.

I hope those users stop and I also the government channel more acts to stop such behavior on the internet.

I do hope you will give a remark on my entry as well.

 2 years ago 

It's really disgusting and annoying to see how the go around terrorising innocent people for nothing, I believe the reign would soon come to an end .

Thank you very friend for going through.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51