Steemit Big Chef07; Afang soup preparation dated 22-05-2024

in Steem Cameroon3 months ago

Greetings friends and members of this community

This time around I wasn't burnt by hot oil splashes from the frying pan, neither did I let my fragile pinky finger slide through the knife edge, the worst of it all would be if the pot slip off my hand to a pail full of water, I don't think I added too much salt this time but that could definitely be the case because I was cooking at night.

Share a delicacy you prepared

I didn't plan to do this today but the leaves will get spoilt if they are not used soon, the only time I had to cook was in the night since I was called out by a friend in the middle of my food preparation and I wasn't prepared for this. So this very day I prepared Afang soup, since this is a Cameroon community most members may be well acquainted with the leaves if the method of preparation is known, if you are not I will try to get the popular name or botanical name and drop it in the comment section. Afang leaves will require you to grind or pound it before cooking as it has good fibre, there are hard to cut, so after cutting you are to pound it like if you are about to make a herbal concoction.

What were your greatest challenges being a chef on that particular day.

Water leaf
Afang leaf

I was called out by a friend on returning it turned out that the preparation is eventually going to take place at night and this was one of the challenges, I would have taken this to the market to get it sliced and grinded but the truth here is that at half past 7 in the evening the traders will be gone and this is already 9pm that is 21:00 UTC. Instead of grinding I had to pound the leaves and you know what that means, as a student with neighbours around who at this time are expecting a quite environment, but nah I broke the silence, anyways we are student and we understand each other

How did you overcome the challenges.

The mortar and pistol was an alternative simple machine that still requires my effort in pounding, it was helpful in pounding, if not I will be chewing this leaves as a goat after cooking and this will make this food not to possess the enjoyment it is supposed to.

Will you quit being a chef and depend on a restaurant?

With the cost of things here in Nigeria, money used to feed in a restaurant will be just enough to prepare you are meal even though it may not be too rich. I am not saying you shouldn't go to the restaurant if you don't have the time to prepare food or if you can afford the bills, I do that most times when I am too busy to prepared a meal. A restaurant is even more preferable than an eatery, but for me I won't stop cooking because it will save me from some expenses.

I would love to see entries from chef @roselove @alli001 and @vickmoon soon

All images are rightfully mine, I couldn't include the date tag any longer because I took this picture before checking on the post, it is certain that they were all taken on the date on the title of this publication with my TECNO POP 7 pro camera

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Sort:  

It sounds like you had quite an adventure preparing Afang soup! Despite the unexpected challenges, you managed to handle them well. Late-night cooking and pounding the leaves must have been quite the task, but it's great to see your determination to make the dish. Kudos to you for overcoming those hurdles!

 3 months ago 

Sorry for the stress you went through cooking this sumptuous meal, but at the end I believed you enjoyed your meal and you didn't care to call on me to join you, bad boy 🤣.

😀😀That's actually bad of me dear, but I think I misplaced your contact, pls drop it, don't worry about the Afang you missed, I will call you when I prepare my next meals, I believe you love egusi soup because that's my next target.

 3 months ago 

Egusi soup no dey gree pass for my throat...🤣🤣🤣

E go pass when I give you with fufu and plenty goat meat.

🤣🤣🤣

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 3 months ago 

My happiness is that you were able to overcome the challenges despite the time and the stress of the day, but you still have the strength to prepare the meal.

Afang soup is one of the local delicacy that over more than 90% of people like.

That's true ma'am, I don't know if there is any Nigerian or Cameroonian that don't love afang soup, I pray our other friends from other countries learn the preparation and truly speaking they will love it. Even though the process of preparing it is complicated people still love it. Thanks for stopping by.

 3 months ago 

You are welcome. Steem on.

Thanks ma'am

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41