"Steemphotos contest #20 || Traditional Costume Photography by @saiseanim".

in SteemPhotos2 years ago

Hello, steemians,

I hope you all are doing well. I am very happy to participate in this contest. I like traditional wear very much. I live in Tamilnadu, India where Veshti (Dhoti) is and a Shirt is traditional wear. It is more convenient to wear and stylish too. Whenever we celebrate festivals like Pongal or Deepavali we used to wear it. Some people wear it daily. But I wear it only on special occasions. Let's see more interesting things about this Veshti and Shirt traditional wear of Tamilnadu.

traditional-costume.png

made with canva

VESHTI

Veshti, is a white unstitched cloth wrap for the lower body in Tamil Nadu and in the North and East of Sri Lanka. source

As I cited above, it is a long unstitched cloth that we used to wrap below the waist to cover the lower body. There are two variations in its size. One is 4 Muzham (2 Meters) and another one is 8 Muzham (4 Meters). The first one comes with a single-layered and the second one with a double layer. The 8 muzham veshti is mostly used as a formal costume in functions.

Muzham is a Tamil word that is used to measure the length of objects.

The special about this dress is, you need to be a master in it to wear it properly. It is very difficult initially to wear it. When I started to wear this my father helped me with this. After 2 to 3 months of practice, I learned it to wear properly.

IMG_20201212_121610075 (1).jpg

My son in Dhoti and Shirt

He was 9 months old at the time wearing this traditional dress. He is looking so cute in this dress. And he also liked it very much. He is 3 years old now, he is enjoying this costume. This is specially made for children. It has velcro tape on it. So we can easily wear it now. Even the dhoti with velcro tape is available for adults. And nowadays it comes in many color borders matching with shirt color.

PSX_20220819_193007.jpg


FABRIC VARIETIES

This Veshti comes in many fabrics, like Cotton, Polyester, and Silk. The silk dhoti is a very costly one. Mostly Silk dhoti's used in weddings, especially for the groom. Cotton and polyester dhotis are commonly used by all people on normal days also. Comparing to silk dhoti these two are low in price.

PSX_20210830_203142.jpg

My son in silk dhoti


CONCLUSION


This traditional costume of the state Tamilnadu has a lot of good things in it. It is not just a costume but our emotions. There is a lot of process behind the making of this 4-meter-long cloth. It is a handmade product. Traditionally used to weave in handloom. Now, after automation, people use a power loom to weave this. But people in Tamilnadu still use handloom to make this product of the best quality. You can check the original handloom veshti's in online, and if you want you can order directly from merchants. ---- I would like to invite my friends to know about this and to participate in this contest. @soythai @sualeha @maryamnadeem

Thanks for reading my post. Hope you enjoyed my writing and the content. Comment if you have ever worn this costume before. Share the experience with me.

Good luck to all.

Copy of welcome.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thamilnadu, traditional dress dhoti, I have seen this from Indian Teledramas and films.

 2 years ago 

I feel very proud of this. Thank you friend for the comment.

 2 years ago 

You are welcome.

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

TEAM 4 CURATORS

Congratulations!
This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @petface

Loading...

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

 2 years ago 

You had a variety of dress dear, and the last part one of the place here in our country also had that. Our brothers from Ifugao wear that style also.

 2 years ago 

Our brothers from Ifugao wear that style also.

Wow. I didn't know that before. Thanks for sharing with me

Hello @saiseanim, greetings from Caracas Venezuela, very nice traditional costume, and your child looks beautiful. success.

 2 years ago 

Thankyou for the great comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43