Steemit Engagement Challenge S12W4 | Decide, act and release

in Reflexiones de Vida10 months ago



Image Source

Decide, act, and release… It sounds so easy, but unfortunately, it is not at all.
So often we just act in the moment and forget to take some time to decide and then to release.

What forgiveness means to me

Forgiveness is a huge word. Forgiveness is not only forgiving those who did wrong against us, asking forgiveness from those who we have done wrong, but it is also forgiving ourselves.

We are empowered to forgive; “Father forgive them for they do not know what they are doing.” These were the words of Jesus on the cross that we get to learn as Christians from a very young age. Even though He did nothing wrong he asked for forgiveness for others.

For me, forgiveness is not a sign of weakness, not admitting that you are wrong, and not a reason for giving in. Forgiveness to me means finding freedom. Finding that one thing that sets us free and makes us happy.

The mischief my parents forgive me for

Kids will be kids and from a very young age they get up to mischief. We can either yell at them on we can forgive them.

One thing though, is that time has changed and so has mischief. Mischief in the era when I was a child was knocking on the door of the neighbors and then running away.

Oh yes, hiding your father's newspaper saying that it was never delivered, not to mention putting flour in his socks. The best was putting ”Big Tom Thumb” fire crackers in the neighbors metal post boxes.

Oh gosh, there was this time when my brother and I “collected” the milk coupons from the bottles that my mother put out for the milkman. One for the milkman and one for us. Mom could not understand why, for days, she only received one bottle of milk instead of two. She could also not phone the dairy as all the phones in our area were not working.

She even set her alarm to get up early so that she could ask the milkman, but she kept on missing him. It was only when she was cleaning my brother's room one morning that she found them. We were using them as goons for a finger board game we made ourselves.

Gone are those days, but the memories of my parents forgiving us will remain with me forever.

Am I a person who likes to carry a grudge?

Nope! Not at all. I don’t like conflict.

Holding a grudge is like a two-way street. There is anger in the grudge holder and also anger in the person against whom the grudge is held.

One of my icons is Elon Musk. Not because he is also from South Africa, but for what he stands for in life. He doesn’t care about what others say or think about him. Something that all of us can learn who are so oversensitive or "touchy,” as my stepson would say.

Elon once said, “Life is too short for long-term grudges.”

Wiser words than these will not easily be found when it comes to grudges.

I always tell people, let’s forgive, forget and move on. They forgive, they move on, BUT they never forget.

My story:

Not so long ago I wrote a post in which I mentioned my dad and the cars he liked to drive. Well, he was a car lover. His cars were like his hair to a woman, always neat, the latest style, and not to be touched.

It was a Sunday afternoon and like all “old people” my parents also like to take a Sunday afternoon nap. I was about twelve years old.

“Today is the day that I am going to drive my dad’s car.” I told myself. I had my sister bursting out in tears and my brother threatening me that he was going to run away if I get behind that steering wheel. Of course, I didn’t listen to them.

I got into the car where it was parked in the street, started it, and slowly drove forward. A couple of meters away, it just died. To my horror I couldn’t get it into reverse gear. I was stuck. The only thing I could do was call the kids from the neighborhood to push me and the car around the block.

After a lot of pleading and promises of doing their homework for them they started to push the car to the end of the street, left and down the hill to the next stop, left into another street and all the way to the next stop street, where I steered left again. Now it was tricky, as it was a bit of an uphill. At last, we made it to the top and I turned left into our street.

As I sighed in relief I noticed that my siblings were no longer standing alone on the pavement. Beside them stood my father. When the kids saw him they all just left me and the car running for their homes. Dad had to come and fetch me and his car. He did not say one word. It was only later that night that he told me to go unpack my bag. A bag that stood ready for the school camp I was going to go on the next morning. No longer was I allowed to join my schoolmates.

I quickly realized that the only thing that was going to help me through this sticky situation was to ask his forgiveness. I asked over and over again, but he just shook his head. This time I was the one crying as I made my way to bed.

I was sure that the devil was going to come and fetch me that evening.

The first thing I saw the next morning when my mother woke me up was my bag and sleeping bag at the foot of my bed. I was forgiven!

Friends, it takes so little to forgive or to ask for forgiveness, but once done, it can move mountains. Let’s all learn to take a moment to decide, to act, and to feel the pressure of unhappiness release.



Image Source

I invite: @sailawana @hotspotitaly @ukpono @moyeon

CC: @dove11 @isha-rehman @abdul-rakib @elrazi @karobiamin71

Account summary:
Club100
Transfer to vesting: 1,954.000 STEEM
Normal transfer: 31 STEEM (Contest prizes and charity)

Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.


Vote here

Sort:  
Loading...

Thank you for supporting @wox-helpfund

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️

Firstly - OMGOODNESS I am so sorry, I hit the downvote button accidentally and I hope I managed to successfully rectify that - EISH!!!

Secondly - lovely to see another Saffer floating about!

Mom could not understand why, for days, she only received one bottle of milk instead of two.

Oh man!!! Those were the days!

Such a lovely post - with so many a truth. Giving or asking forgiveness is never easy (within reason) but it certainly does grow character strength and teaches us many a valuable lesson.

Hi there!

Yip! Those were the days.(•ิ‿•ิ)

Sorry! I missed your return to Steemit.

It will be great to help you back on your Steemit journey.
You are more than welcome to contact me on Discord, patjewell#3213

Thank you so much for the lovely welcome Pat. I am no longer using discord, but I will definitely shout here if I need any assistance! Otherwise, I just look forward to seeing your posts!

Hope you are having a wonderful Monday!

Sorry! It was not much of a welcome. Typing is currently a problem.

I'm sending you the link to my WhatsApp training group.
You can join, get my number and leave again.
It will be much easier speaking on the phone.

https://chat.whatsapp.com/LHV9eWAlouMDaHNvWLF6Nb

I'm experiencing a mad Monday. Always a good sign that you are not going to have a boring week. (•ิ‿•ิ)

For me, forgiveness is not a sign of weakness, not admitting that you are wrong, and not a reason for giving in. Forgiveness to me means finding freedom. Finding that one thing that sets us free and makes us happy.

I agree with you that when you forgive someone then there are some person who consider you that you are weak that's why you forgive another person and some people also consider that may be you were wrong that's why you realise now and you forgive someone but forgiveness is not a sign of weakness or not a sign that you are wrong but it is a sign of your wisdom that how much broad mentality you have so overall it is a good act.

I wish good luck and success to you in this engagement challenge.

Ah! I like that... it is a sign of wisdom!
Well said!

Thank you for the support and the engagement!☕

 10 months ago 

Saludo mi estimada amiga.

Siempre es un gusto leerle.

Es muy cierto, el perdón es un acto de liberación que logramos darnos a nosotros mismos, guardar rencores en nosotros nos hace daño y hasta logra enfermarnos.

Hacía muchas travesuras cuando era niña pero lo importante fue que siempre contó con el Aprendizaje y el perdón en cada situación.

Dar y pedir perdón no es signo de debilidad sino por el contrario es señal de Valentía.

Muchas suerte.

And for me, it is AWESOME when there is a comment from you.
Your words are always so inspiring.
Yip, I was full of mischief, but it was in the days before TV games, mobile phones, and only 2 hours of television at night. (•ิ‿•ิ)
Life has changed.

I love your saying that forgiveness is a sign of courage. ✔

Seguro que si perdonamos, tenemos libertad y paz, por qué estamos echando fuera toda carga o molestia, alojada en el corazón. Más cuando estamos obedeciendo a Dios, quien nos enseñó a perdonar.
Saludos y mucho éxito.

Those words are so true! We are casting our burdens when we apologize.
Yah! We had the best Teacher! We just need to obey.

Thank you for the visit and the engagement. 🎕

As always your words so inspiring. Well done.. my friends.. Lots of luck...foe you

Thanls for invite me..
I will prepare my entry.

And I will be waiting for it!

Thank you for the visit and the usual kind words. 🎕

Mi buena y linda amiga ud ha dado en el clavo, el perdon como elemento liberador tiene la peculiaridad que a quien mas beneficia es a nosotros mismos, porveso lo mas importante es perdonarnos nosotros. Con que eras de las que toca timbre y salia corriendo jajaja, elhobby favorito de los chicos de mi barrio; ni hablar del relato de los cupunes de leche, que traviesa eras la verdad oh...... Aun lo eres? Jajajaje. Saludos y bendiciones éxitos.

Umh... am I still naughty?
I don't think I am naughty. I will go with what my family say. They say that there is never a boring moment when I am around. All the kids always wants to drive with me, sit with me, and go with me. (•ิ‿•ิ)
I just like to enjoy life.

Thank you for the visit and the beautiful words!!
You are one of a kind! 🎕

I am someone who doesn't forget things easily . I realized that forgiving others is very important , not for them but for ourselves. If one forgives other then he get rid of that pain , hatred , and scenarios of hurtings . Despite of realizing this its still very hard for me to forgive those who treated me badly in the past and also it gets hard for myself too for my past mistakes .

You was so cute and mischievous at that time 😂❤ .

Best of luck 👍

You have hit the nail on the head! Forgiving others is very important for ourselves. It just lifts that burden and puts a smile back on our faces.
I think many people go to their graves unhappy due to forgiveness that was never asked for or uttered.
Thank you! I appreciate the visit and the good comment.

Congratulations!

This post has been supported through the account Steemcurator06 for containing good quality content.

Curated by : @pelon53

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66735.55
ETH 3509.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71