#TRAVEL My Weekly Powerup | #club100 | A creole village that is worth a visit – La Réunion | #steemexclusive / 20 photos

in Traveling Steem26 days ago

01.jpg

If there is one village worth a visit on this Indian Ocean island, it has to be Hell-Bourg. The village with its many beautiful Creole buildings is located in the middle of Cirque Salazie, at an altitude of more than a 1000 metres. It is surrounded by beautiful mountains. Hell-Bourg has been on the list of the most beautiful villages in France since 1998. The island is an overseas French department. This rather small island is mountanious, which makes it a dream destination to hikers. I went to La Réunion for the third time in April this year. On my previous visits, my priorities were longer walks and the bigger cities. This time I wanted to include Hell-Bourg. That gave me an oportunity to walk around the village both in the afternoon and early morning. The best way to visit is to walk around. The streets are narrow and many are one way streets only. By walking it's easy to make stops to enjoy this charming village.







When we passed by the tourist office, we read that they organize guided tours to several of the old Creole houses. Later, when we walked around ourselves, we saw houses with this small sign on the wall. Several of the more cultural visits may include Maison Folio, which is a Creole villa. We did pass by on Sunday morning, but it was closed. However, a photo at the entrance showed that this is a magnificent building with a beauful, landscaped garden.







Hell-Bourg was founded as a spa-town, because of the discovery of hot springs. These springs had a temperature of 32 C and a fast flow of water. Soon the hot springs became known for beeing able to cure people for a variety of health problems. The thermal establisment was founded in 1852. It was at this time the creole houses were built. These baths became known outside Réunion. People came for treatment from South Africa and countries along the east coast of Africa. Unfortunatly this did not last, due to a drop of temperature in the water. From 1948 the village lost its attraction, because of this. I also read somewhere that a landslide caused by a cyclone did some damage as well. We knew that there should be ruins of this old complex and did follow the trail leading to it. At the beginning we saw some ruined walls and thought this was it. But it was not. Later I saw photos of the ruined baths. We did not see them. I think we should have continues along the trail.





Besides enjoying walking the streets, looking at the 19th century creole houses, we also went to the small church. Since it was a sunday, a service was going on, so we did not go inside the church. Instead we took a walk around the colorful cemetary, checking out names on the graves. Just in case we would find some people of importance here. (We did not).




Hell-Bourg is located in the middle of the Cirque Salazie, surrounded by mountains, as you can see on the photos. The village is therefore a good starting point for a number of trips of varying lengths and degrees of difficulty. The island's highest peak is Piton de la Neiges at 3.070 m. above sea level. From the village one can do the hike to the top as a two day hike. Then you can overnight at a mountain hut near the top and return the next day. Or you can continue to Cilaos which is located in the Cirque Cilaos. 25 years ago I did that hike to Piton de la Neiges, but as a return tour from Cilaos. This time I didn't do the hike. Just enjoyed the look at it from the streets of Hell-Bourg.

CC @patjewell


Powering up 50% of all liquid payout! Thank you for the support for making this possible for me each week! 😂And thank you @steemcurator01 @steemcurator02 for your kind support. 👍


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next travel post. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest powerup post, check out :
#TRAVEL My Weekly Powerup | #club100 | Victoria Falls - the widest waterfall in the world | #steemexclusive / 15 photos


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)


Read about us? // Main page!
Follow us for our blogs about travel, art, article and photo

Sort:  

Oooohmygoodness!!!! I am in love @digi-me - what an absolutely gorgeous looking little town!!!! The first thing which hits me in the face which I adore is the GREEEEEEEN it is just everywhere and it looks so wonderfully luscious!!!

Places with a lot of greenery are like my ultimate dream! Though I live surrounded by a lot of natural beauty - the Southern African terrain, especially up country... is a lot more "dry" looking. Still beautiful, but definitely not the same.

People came for treatment from South Africa and countries along the east coast of Africa.

Oh, that is curious! Do you have any idea "what" they came to be cured from?

This time I didn't do the hike. Just enjoyed the look at it from the streets of Hell-Bourg.

Yeah, that would have been me. I don't mind meandering strolls - like yours through the streets - but I am not much into hiking... too lazy haha!

Looks like a truly amazing place to visit! You are very lucky to have that in your book of memories!

 26 days ago 

You are right about it being green and lush. It certainly is. When it comes to the what kind of sickness people came to get cured from, I didn't manage to find out. But I guess it must have been tropical diseases...? It's a lovely island. We drowe around to many villages, but this was by the most charming of all of them.

It certainly does appear to embody a lot of charm @digi-me :)

But I guess it must have been tropical diseases...

Probably :)

 24 days ago 

My quess too 😊

TEAM 7

Congratulations! Your post has been upvoted through steemcurator09.

Curated by : @sduttaskitchen
 25 days ago 

Thank you, much appreciated @sduttaskitchen :))

 25 days ago (edited)

Hello traveler! 👋🏼

Thanks for sharing your post in the TS Community. Here you are the feedback and evaluation results:


Always loving a lot your pictures friend. These photographies of houses are looking like a Latin America village 🙂 although all of them are really lovely and charming.

AI/Plagiarism free☑️
Steemexclusive☑️
Club100☑️
Free bots☑️
Voting CSI > 5☑️
Score9/10

~ Join the X profile, Discord server + Telegram group and have a happy day.👍🏼



Curated by @alegnita

 25 days ago 

Thank you for your feedback. How interesting that the houses looks like those in Latin America. This island is very much influenced by a mix of ethnic groups. Slaves from Africa, Asians and Europeans. Today it is very "french". But it's lovely 😊

 19 days ago 

French? OMG 😂 that's sounding pretty interesting 🤔 right? Sorry for late response although I'm always trying to keep an eye over great posts like yours. Regards and have a nice weekend.

 18 days ago 

😊😊😊

 26 days ago 

I was fascinated by the charming scenery and atmosphere. I can see such pictures in the browser. But I didn't expect to get such a beautiful view from my Steemian friend.

I have never seen such a high mountain. And you said it's a wanderlust's dream place. I would say not just dreams but love. I want to go too if I get a chance. stay well

 26 days ago 

The landscape all over the island is absolutely stunning! I have been to the island 3 times... It's just such a beautiful place. I hope you get the chance to visit 😊

 26 days ago 

Wow your words make me want to go there even more. I will definitely go if I get a chance. Thank you very much for replying to the comments. stay well

 25 days ago 

😊👍

Thanks for sharing such awesome content
@digi-me!
It has been featured in
THIS BLOG SPOTLIGHT POST!

You will receive 10% of the rewards
earned on that curation post.

We have also given you an upvote and a resteem!

steemitbloggers gif 1.gif
An initiative by @jaynie

Please feel free to show your support to this initiative as well as to the authors featured within!

HAVE AN AMAZING DAY!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61533.72
ETH 3447.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51