A Visit To Afaha Ikot Ossom, Ibesikpo Asutan, Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria For Tourism

in Traveling Steem10 days ago (edited)

IMG_20240614_165836_288.jpg


Afaha Ikot Ossom is a village in Ibesikpo Asutan Local Government Area, in Akwa Ibom State Nigeria. The native dialect of the inhabitants of the village is ibibio which happens to be my dialect, though I am not from the village. The village is a remote area with beautiful nature, fresh air free of carbon (IV) oxide, and serene.

The majority of the inhabitants of the Afaha Ikot Ossom village are dark in complexion, but they possess beautiful qualities, they are welcoming. My sister-in-law stays in this village, so I visited her and the family. But I decided to explore the community. The following subheadings contain the things I noticed during my exploration of the village;


THE CANAL OF THE AFAHA IKOT OSSOM


I visited the canal with my husband, daughter, nieces, and nephews. It was a beautiful place to be. There is a beautiful Valley in the place, the water, and the trees, it is a very beautiful place to be, and we enjoyed our visit to the place.


IMG_20240614_165954_668.jpg

IMG_20240614_171528_655.jpg

IMG_20240614_172505_994.jpg

IMG_20240614_165913_441.jpg


There was dredging going on in the canal, and the majority of people from akwa Ibom state, in Nigeria bought sand for the construction of their houses from this canal. We saw those who dug tirelessly so they could make a living. So what I learned here from them is to be hardworking.


IMG_20240614_170025_693.jpg

IMG_20240614_170450_223.jpg


THE ROAD OF AFAHA IKOT OSSOM VILLAGE


The major road that leads to the village is very bad, it is not even motorable, and the road is flooded. I was told that what led to the destruction of the road was the dredging of sand from the lake in the village, which prompted tippers(heavy duty trucks) to move on the road.

To access the village, we had to take a diversion, or should I say a bush track, it was fun though. We missed our way, so we had to ask the villagers for directions.

The Government of the state had made efforts to reconstruct the road as we were informed, but to no avail, as the contractors mismanaged the funds. So the inhabitants of the village are suffering, and businesses are not flourishing in the village because of the lack of access to the community. To my surprise, the government does not hold the contractors who used the funds meant for the road accountable. May God help the inhabitants of Afaha Ikot Ossom.


IMG_20240614_161454_816.jpg

IMG_20240614_161454_816.jpg

The major road of afaha ikot ossom

THE FOREST OF AFAHA IKOT OSSOM


Afaha Ikot Ossom has a beautiful forest, I was happy to visit the forest, I wanted to see the beauty of nature. But I could not enter the forest because I was told that the village carries out its spiritistic practices there, I was scared because of the spiritism aspects.


IMG_20240614_163746_856.jpg
The forest view


OCCUPATION OF THE INHABITANTS OF AFAHA IKOT OSSOM


The major occupation of the people of the Afaha Ikot Ossom village is farming and some of the men indulge in dredging and transportation. But I am focusing on farming.

The villagers indulge in subsistence farming, which is just what can sustain them and their household, and just a little for sale.

The plant cassava, cassava is one of the major foods in the village, and this cassava will be used in processing garri(cassava granules), and fofo( fermented cassava).

They also plant maize, which they use to process pap and prepare maize porridge. They even cook it and eat it that way with pear.

They also plant water leaves, the water their water leaves plantation with water from the canal.


IMG_20240614_165050_557.jpg

IMG_20240614_165029_571.jpg

The farmlands

SCHOOL IN AFAHA IKOT OSSOM


Afaha Ikot Ossom village has a primary school and private primary schools. But sadly they don't have a secondary school(high school). Students would have to travel a long distance to attend secondary school. I am told that the government is interested in building a high school for the village, I was privileged to visit the proposed site of the school.


IMG_20240614_165445_055.jpg
Proposed site for secondary school


CONCLUSION


Conclusively, I enjoyed my visit to Afaha Ikot Ossom village, the people of Afaha Ikot Ossom are good and welcoming, they embrace farming, dredging, and transportation as their major occupations. The Village does not have an access road due to bad governance, but it is beautified with a forest and canal. Being here draws one to nature.


Sort:  
 9 days ago (edited)

Hello traveler! 👋🏼

Thanks for sharing your post in the TS Community.Here are the feedback and evaluation results


AI/Plagiarism free☑️
Steemexclusive☑️
Club5050☑️
Burnsteem25☑️
Free bots☑️
Voting CSI25.5 ( 0.00 % self, 125 upvotes, 95 accounts, last 7d )
Score9.5/10

~ Join the X profile, Discord server + Telegram group and have a happy day.👍🏼



 9 days ago 

Thank you very much @ripon0630 for your support and verification, I am grateful.

 9 days ago 

You had decided to go to a very beautiful place. Really, the beauty of nature is worth seeing. Jungles are definitely scary but going there is a different experience and one does feel scared. When we hear such ghost stories there. And there is also a desire to know about those stories.

 9 days ago 

Thank you very much for visiting my post and taking the time to read it. Yeah nature is really beautiful, and worth seeing.

 8 days ago 

The beauty of nature has always been priceless and it attracts everyone's attention.

 7 days ago 

Thank you very much, I appreciate your support.

 9 days ago 

Wow 😳 the tour must have been adventurous! And I wish I was there with you guys, I love valleys, water hills, and trees too! It draws me to nature and our wonderful creator.

How sad 😭 that the road to this beautiful place is bad, how I wish the government would salvage the situation immediately. Thanks for sharing your experience with us here.

 9 days ago 

Thank you very much, boss, for taking the time to read my post. Don't worry, I will invite you for the next tour, thanks once again, I am grateful.

You have really written well, I will love to visit this place one day

 8 days ago 

You will not regret visiting the place, it will draw you close to nature. Thank you very much.

 8 days ago 

I have read your post, you have visited a canal with almost all your family, all your pictures are very nice, you have enjoyed a lot, there are many things in your post which are new to me The main road to the village was not that good but you have described the good things in a very good way by ignoring this bad road . Thanks a lot for sharing such a good post.

 8 days ago 

Thank you very much for taking the time to read my post, and commenting, thank you too for your observation. Regarding the bad road, I made enquiry about the road, and I was informed that government has made efforts to construct the road, but the contractors misused the funds that were meant for the road construction, but what baffles me is; the government do not hold them accountable, I will find more information about the road and update on my subsequent posts.

 6 days ago 

Hi @blessednee

I like your post very much indeed as you shared with us going to jungles is a very scary thing because there are some animals that can attack you any time which you You may also suffer loss of life.But I like very much that you suggested this thing for yourself that you want to do some adventure because it is not easy to go to such places but you have chosen a good place for your tour. It is more addictive thing and I also want to try in my life because I have never tried it.

Best regards
@samavia-doll

 6 days ago 

Thank you very much, it is true, it scary to visit jungles, that was I could not enter the forest. But my family and I enjoyed our tour.

 5 days ago 

I am glad to know this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61213.69
ETH 3320.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46