The Diary Game, 14/06/2022: The big move!

in SteemWomen Club2 years ago



Image Source

Hi there!

As promised I’m back!

The last time I’ve put my thoughts to your pages it was all about the big pack. Today I’m going to tell you about the big move from Krugersdorp, Gauteng to Ballito in Kwazulu-Natal on the Eastern coast of South Africa.

This province is well known for its beautiful beaches, majestic mountains and sugar plantations. It is often refer to as “the garden province” because of its lush green plantations.



The beautiful beaches of Kwazulu-Natal

The Province was previously known as “Natal”. When South Africa became a democratic country in 1994 it was changed to Kwazulu-Natal.
“Place of the Zulu’s” is the true meaning of “Kwazulu”. The Zulu’s are one of the ethnic groups in South Africa. In fact, it is also the largest.

Kwazulu-Natal is the province where we had the severe floods and landslides earlier in April this year which claimed the lives of nearly 500 people and destroyed more than 4,000 homes.

As part of my charity dream we are looking at bringing the Steemit WSP to South Africa. I will for sure be looking for ways in which to support the needy in this area.

Back to my day…

RISE AND SHINE

It was an early morning for me as I rise just after 2:00 am. It was my day for curating and I was determine to get it done. To my surprise my team members of the The7Up’s helped me by adding potential post to the schedule.

Dear Diary, they are the best!

After four hours on Steemit it was time to wake the family before the movers arrived.

I had just enough time to do my morning message to my Facebook page.



There is indeed a plan for all of us. I cannot wait to see what mine will be.

EARLY MORNING

I don’t think our coffee mugs were even cold when the movers stopped. What made the move tricky was the fact that we stayed on the top of the hill with the result that they couldn’t enter through our gates.
They had to park the truck in the street and from there they had to take a second and lighter vehicle to which they could load the goods and moved it to the truck.


I was convinced it was going to take hhhooouurrrsss but nope, it didn’t. Big was my surprise when they were all done and ready to leave at 11:00 am.

This was such a shocker as we still had to pack a few things and load our vehicle. We had family members who came to greet us and they all helped by packing and throwing things in the car. As for me, I was running between packing, my computer and the kitchen.

I at least made some time to pack us “padkos”.

Pad – road
Kos – food

Since I could remember my mother packed us eats for the road. She always said that should anything happened on the road we will at least have something to eat and drink.

How I miss my mom and it’s only been 3 days without her!

MOM’S TAXI IS ON THE MOVE

My car was filled or packed to the brim. I don’t think there was place for a mouse. Poor Divan found himself sitting between boxes and bags. We truly traveled the African style with the vehicle packed to the roof.



Now that I think about it, it could have been the best Discovery advert ever!

I can guarantee you, if we had a rooftop it would also have been packed as we left so many things behind which we just couldn’t take. At least I know that it will be taken to one of the NGOs in the area.

We just took off for the +/- 7 hours journey when we heard on the radio that the N3 highway we had to travel on was blocked by truckers and that the traffic was backed up for kilometers.

Just to give you an idea how bad it was, an estimate 8500 trucks travel on this road daily and total of 13,500 vehicles.


The strike was part of a National strike against companies employing foreign nationals. South Africa is one of the countries with the highest unemployment percentages but yet, they don’t want to work and when they posts are filled by others they get upset.

Will we ever understand the world we are living in?

Well mom, I’m sure that today was the day that my “padkos” will come in handy, a thought that crossed my mind.

We were so lucky that an hour before we got to the place where the road was blocked the police cleared it. There was terrible traffic but at least it was moving.

Mom’s taxi experienced something completely different today.

FROM DUSK TO DAWN

We traveled and traveled and traveled. The road was truly long. I could not even do some replies on Steemit due to the fact that we were travelling between the mountains and the signal was bad.

As we crossed the peak of the Drakensberg mountain it was so cold, only 12°C degrees and that in the afternoon.

As dawn approached we reached half way, always something to look forward to.


We arrived at our new home just before 21:00, stiff from the sit and dead tired but happy that we made it without any problems.
We got a glimpse of the ocean, the moon shining white on the water, from our balcony which made it all worth it.

Dear diary, as midnight approached I crawled into my bed with one thing in mind, a few hours rest before the movers arrives.

Ps. I forgot to tell you that I miss the engagement challenges!

#Club100

10% to SteemWomensClub

Sort:  

Great post, resteemed and upvoted on @southernafrica

 2 years ago 

Wow, yet another well-written article.

 2 years ago 

Thank you my friend! I’m back after the move and it is so nice😊
Thank you for your support & engagement! 🌼

 2 years ago 

I am glad that at the end, the journey, the pack and the move is done and dusted. I feel for you due to the stress you must have passed through. It is now a story to tell. Thanks to the Almighty. You will now get the chance to help the needy. So kind of you. Steemit will really boom at that end. I enjoyed reading through. Enjoy your new home dearie

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your kind words my friend!🌼
I’m so glad it is behind us.
At least the next move will be local. That is when we find a place to buy.

Good to know that you have finally moved to your new home. Good luck with the movers coming and the un-packing.

I'm still dreading our "move". It will be anytime soon.

 2 years ago 

I’m done!! 👏🏻👏🏻 Did the grocery shopping this morning and relaxed this afternoon.
Now I can start enjoying my surroundings and discover the beauty of the province 😊
Good luck for your move!

This is really a big move mom.. I'm glad that at the end everything work out well and you are now resting ready to start steeming again as before...

I hope you apply as a country representative for South Africa so that you can use the opportunity to explore your steeming activities over there in South Africa

 2 years ago 

Thank you for the visit and support!
I’ve had so many Steemians who told we to apply that I’m starting to consider it. 😊
I’m just so scared that I won’t be able to sustain what is expected of me.
I know way too little of communities, competitions etc.

I’ve also mentioned it to my family and we will discuss it on our way to church tomorrow as it is some way to travel. I need them to support me.

 2 years ago (edited)

Thanks for sharing your experience and journey story. Hope everythings fine. Just fughting my friend

 2 years ago 

Hello!
Thank you for stopping by my post.
We are luckily all settled in and can now not only enjoy the view and breeze of the ocean but pick up our lives where we left it a few days ago. :-)

 2 years ago 

ohh I'm happy to know that.. I want to enjoy the sea view too. have a great week dear

 2 years ago 

Thank you! A great week to you also 🎕

 2 years ago 

This wasn't easy for you, but I'm glad that the journey ended well. Good to have you back ma.🤗

 2 years ago 

Thank you my friend!
It is good to know that I was missed (•ิ‿•ิ)

 2 years ago 

Yes, you were.🤗
You are welcome!

I heard south Africa is really nice. Hope to visit some day. About the engagement, sorry about that youll meet coming ones

 2 years ago 

South Africa is nice. There is so much happening this side of Africa.
Sure, we also have our problems but the pros outweigh the cons by far.
Thank you for your support 🌼

Im glad the pros outweigh the cons not the other way round.

 2 years ago 

Indeed! (•ิ‿•ิ)

What a distance travel, but thanks to God it was safe after every thing.

 2 years ago 

You are right! Thanks to our Heavenly Father we got here safely. Today marks one week for us living at the coast.
Pigs might not fly but time does. (•ิ‿•ิ)
Thank you for reading and engaging with my post!

I just watched a movie in my head. In that movie, you were moving from Krugersdorp, Gauteng to Ballito in Kwazulu-Natal on the Eastern coast of South Africa.

Big Move!

Despite the hectic day you were going to have, you still got up so early. Earlier than the sun but later than the moon.

You didn't just begin early but you also got prepared to combat hunger pangs. And oh! How proactive you were.

You went to bed when the moon was still young to wake before the sun grew old.

 2 years ago 

You my friend got a way with words!
It can take you very far on Steemit. So, put that laziness under the bed and start writing 1 post every day.
You can do it!

I will try🥺
I will heed your advice. 🙂

 2 years ago 

Goody! 👏👏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57842.09
ETH 2895.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56