Steem Women Club Community Contest #8 ' Handicrafts ' | My First Cross Stitch😊

in SteemWomen Club4 years ago

Hi Everyone!

The moment I saw the contest post, I determined to make an entry. I was wondering to choose on which one should I write from the collection of handicrafts I have made and I selected the best handicraft I made in my life. It is the cross stitch I made for one of my friends.

20201023_110640.jpg

This is my First Try into Cross Stitch and it took me more than a month.

Now I would like to tell you how I made it step by step.

The things needed

1.A piece of aida fabric

20201115_150509.jpg

Aida is the fabric used to make cross stitch which is harder than normal fabric used for sewing. There are rectangular holes in a pattern in it. Aida fabric is found in many different colours but I bought a white colour one.

2.A needle

20201115_145107.jpg

A needle with a larger hole to put the thread is used for cross stitching.

3.Stranded cotton threads in some colours

20201115_145756.jpg

I used stranded cotton threads with 6 strands. But I used 4 strands at once to do the art.

4.A print out of the cross stitch design

This is optional but I used a print out. My design is so complicated and it is hard for me to look at a screen to see the design for a long time

How to make it

First I choose a design. I selected one with two babies holding a heart. Then I cut a piece of fabric in appropriate size for my design. Then I started sewing it from the middle as it is the usual method.

IMG-20201005-WA0008.jpeg

What you have to do is sew crosses putting needle through the holes of the fabric. There are two popular methods in cross stitching. You can complete a cross at once or complete half of crosses in the same line first and then complete the crosses. I used the first method as my design is mixed with many different colours.

This is how my art progressed step by step.

20201115_172303.jpg

Last I sew the black out lines and it make the art wonderful.

I did this in every second I was free through out a month and it came out well giving my hardwork the prize that it deserves.

20201030_204752.jpg

Last I bought a frame and put this in it to make it perfect and gifted my friend on the birthday with it. Of course, she loved it.

My mum was the one who was surprised the most as she knew that I am not a one with a good patience to do such a work for a long time. Actually at first it was lazy and hard to sew these small stitches for a long time. But when I found the rhythm of it, I loved the work and quickly did it.

So this is my handicraft friends. Hope you will like it. Try this if you have time and I promise you will love it at the end.

Thank you for reading. Have a nice day.

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

Saludos amiga, que hermoso bordado la verdad que te quedo super hermoso.
Felicidades muy buen post!!
#venezuela

Thank you for the appreciation friend🥰 Hardworking can give us anything that is why I got this beautiful art at the end😊

I am so jelous of this. I was the wrost student for practical and technical skills subject. I had 100% for theory paper but for practical I was the wrost. Even teacher didn't like me she thought I am lazy.

But thank to time I am.better than childhood how. But you.. you are extraordinary girl. Ur sister as well. Things are comming from blood 😍 . You'll have a good future♥️

One of the best comments that I have ever got😍

Thank you for the appreciation akka. Usually I am not so good in this type of arts which need patience. But I worked hard and it gave me this result.

Thank you very much. You are also a very talented girl in many fields. Cheers.

Wow nicely done nangi! 😍

Thank you ayye💜

Muy lindo. 🤗🥰

Thank you☺️😍

You have been upvoted by @besticofinder,A Country Representative from SRI LANKA. we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator07 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community and check the ongoing contests : Check here

 4 years ago 

Hola amiga, en verdad estoy impresionada con tu bordado y te digo que se de lo que hablo, porque para ser tu primer bordado te ha quedado genial, estupendo, bello, fabuloso, increible, definitivamente eres lo máximo, te felicito. te sigo para ver que más nos traes en proximas publicaciones y asi aprender de ti y tu técnica maravillosa.

Thank you very much. Your appreciation means a lot to me and it make me encourage to do these things more😊

I'm happy that you have followed me. Hope to share many more things I made with you all.

Thank you again😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57687.08
ETH 2333.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36