👷‍♂️ Digger, Digger, Digger

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

image.png
Separator-yellow.png

I don't know how well known (or true) this is, but Eastbourne beach is a sandy beach and the larger stones are added as a sea defence. I would love it if Eastbourne were a sandy beach but being protected from flooding is probably preferable.

2 years ago, we saw a huge machine firing stones off the sea bed onto the beach - one heck of a sight which made me wonder what would happen if it just fired stones into town. Which it didn't do. I digress. As usual.

Separator-yellow.png

For the past few weeks, some important beach maintenance has been happening to transport the stones that have been moved across the beach (anybody remember studying longshore drift at school?) back to where they were - some 24,000 cubic metres in fact! That's a lot of stones to move and perhaps somewhat surprisingly, provided us with the entertainment for an afternoon out!!

I doubt I'm the only parent whose toddler is obsessed with diggers, every time we drive past one in the car, the-toddler-gorilla would excitedly shout "DIGGER, DIGGER, DIGGER"

So WE WENT TO SEE DIGGERS!

image.png
Separator-yellow.png

At one end of the beach, the Excavator would load up the Dumper Trucks, much to the-toddler-gorilla's entertainment. We could have stayed and watched this for hours - the-toddler-gorilla was reluctant to move on but we told him there'd be more at the other end of the beach.

image.png
Separator-yellow.png

The Dumper Trucks would then drive down to the other end of the beach and an especially nice touch was for the drivers to wave back to the-toddler-gorilla as he sheepishly watched, and waved as they drove past. This was probably the highlight of our time out - the drivers, possibly having children of their own, appreciating the small things that make young boys happy.

image.png
Separator-yellow.png

At the other end of the beach, was a bulldozer which would spread the dumped stones to form a lovely new sea front.

I think we saw most of the vehicles you'd get if you buy a children's "construction set" - I think it was only the Mixer and Crane that were missing.

Separator-yellow.png

We were there for so long, that the sun had begin to set by the time we were leaving and the moon had come out.

image.png
Separator-yellow.png

image.png
Separator-yellow.png

Unfortunately for me, the-toddler-gorilla was worn out by all the excitement and fell asleep in my arms on the walk home (a gruelling, uphill journey) in the dark. I ended up leaving him, the-mrs-gorilla and the-baby-gorilla resting on a bench whilst I jogged home to get the car.

So if you've got a young child and short of ideas of what to do with them, find a construction site and let them run wild carefully let them watch the machinery from a safe distance.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

What a random fun outing 👷especially for the-toddler-gorilla! I think I now know what he might like for Christmas! 🚜

My favourite photos are the sunny third and the last image featured here. It is great that you have the beach at your doorstep. Did it snow there today?

 3 years ago 

Sorry for taking soooo long to reply - we've had a virus run through the family which put the-baby-gorilla in hospital on Sunday and we're only just starting to recover (it started 2 weeks ago)!

We had a little snow a few days ago but it didn't really settle. The snow has to work harder on the sunshine coast 😀 Did you get much in London?

 3 years ago 

Oh dear. I am really sorry to hear that the the-baby-gorilla was hospitalised 😢 It is great that now you all started to recover and I do hope that you keep getting better and better. I hope that it is not Covid which we started to get more cases of daily here in England. I wish you and your family all the very best and be strong!

I love the sound of the sunshine coast which makes me smile and start daydreaming. We didn’t get any snow in London really. There was some forecasted so we were keeping an eye out but there was none. My relatives in Sheffield woke up with a snow covered rooftop terrace though.

 3 years ago 

We've all been tested a lot and every result's come back negative so we've got to believe it's another virus. the-baby has caught Bronchiolitis from whatever virus is getting us 😥 He's just started teething too so our nights are getting really bad again which doesn't help!

It's cold up North 🥶

 3 years ago 

What a relief that you all kept testing negative. I really hope that some time soon you will have the chance to get more sleep, relax better and just enjoy the family life really.

 3 years ago 

the-baby-gorilla is nearly 8 months old. So I think I only have 4 more years and then I can sleep all day long if I want to 😴

 3 years ago 

Getting there 👶 Four years sounds like an eternity for Steemit though. I wish this platform does well and is still popular then.

 3 years ago 

Goodness knows. I fear that the dominance of voting bots (i.e. upvu) will just increase to the point that there are very few genuine bloggers left. Hopefully I'm wrong but I don't see a different path at the moment.

So not only little gorillas enjoy it, but also big ravens ;-)))

Also nicht nur kleine Gorillas haben ihre Freude daran, sondern auch große Raben ;-)))

IMG_20191207_104817.jpg

IMG_20191207_112924.jpg

IMG_20191207_113117.jpg

 3 years ago 

That's one serious bit of kit!

I must confess to rather enjoying the diggers too 🙂

 3 years ago 

Great fun. I drove my daughter between the factories where I work, showed a huge torch, smoking pipes, trains and large equipment.

 3 years ago 

I bet she loved that - trains always go down well too!

déjalos correr salvajes déjelos observar cuidadosamente la maquinaria desde una distancia segura.

😂🤣 Hacer lo segundo es más dificil. A mi sobrino le habría encantado. Jugar en la arena también es una opción!!!

 3 years ago 

Little boys seem to really love diggers 🙂

Y los camiones y los trenes y los aviones, a mi sobrino hasta un simple autobús le fascina. 😆

 3 years ago 

Ha ha. So's mine. He calls them "Wheel round" because of the song...

"The wheels on the bus go round and round, etc."

jajajaja ahora tendré esa canción en mi mente sabrá Dios durante cuánto tiempo jajaja
esta buena.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57360.64
ETH 3124.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23