You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 👷‍♂️ Digger, Digger, Digger

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

Goodness knows. I fear that the dominance of voting bots (i.e. upvu) will just increase to the point that there are very few genuine bloggers left. Hopefully I'm wrong but I don't see a different path at the moment.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Oh dear..Hopefully that won’t happen. I personally have never used voting bots. Here on the platform in general I see two types of bloggers the genuine authors who are proud to share their content and appreciate some feedback and the investors. Usually based on my observations bloggers who are great at both posting consistently exclusive content and being able to move money around quickly are a rare find. So as long as the curators support the independent bloggers regularly I reckon they won’t start using voting bots.

 3 years ago 

I personally have never used voting bots.

Same here. It doesn't seem right and for me, it's against the spirit of what a blogging platform is about. But Steemit are willing to accept them so we have to accept the consequences of their existence.

So as long as the curators support the independent bloggers regularly I reckon they won’t start using voting bots.

I've seen plenty of people work hard to earn a certain amount of power and then delegate it to voting bots and pretty much walk away. Another user said to me that when they joined, their plan was to reach a certain SP and then delegate it, because he thought that's just what people do. Since Steemit won't ban voting bots, our only hope of salvaging some kind of quality within the content is to show people a different path. Which I think is what we're trying to do in WOX. But there are still some who get the support from the community and once they reach 10,000 SP (for example), turn their back and delegate it all for their own self-interest.

I wish things could be different and you know you're not happy with it when you're constantly accepting the fact that "it is what it is".

 3 years ago 

Working really hard to reach a certain amount of SP which you then just delegate to voting bots seems a bit of a waste of time really for many: the one who does it, his followers and the moderators and curators who supported the growth of this account. I mean if that’s the one and only goal such people will be better off just using their own finances to buy Steem and then delegate it to voting bots if it is all about an investment which is meant to earn you some money without having to do anything. It will be similar, still more risky though compared to investing some money on Nutmeg for instance. On the other hand I have seen people on the platform who simply delegate SP to communities which they are actively part of and to the curators. Of course this doesn’t remain unnoticed and they expect to be supported every now and then in return but at least this is a more genuine way of delegating SP which more members will benefit from. I am not sure though what the ratio is of members who delegated to voting bots and those who delegated to a community for instance.

 3 years ago 

I don't know. I assume that delegations were created with the idea of community accounts in mind - to support a particular topic / hashtag (before communities were created). I wonder if the people who made that decision then could see Steemit now, whether they would have made the same decision 🤷‍♀️

 3 years ago 

That’s a very good question indeed. I guess if they could see Steemit now they would have also thought of setting some restrictions for the delegations so they actually fulfil their purpose rather than just earn more Steem to users who are no longer actively posting and contributing to the platform. Just a thought 🤔

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59391.37
ETH 2525.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47