Wood Burned Art: Skeletal Fox (Club100)steemCreated with Sketch.

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

I hope you are all tying a bow on a great 2022 and getting ready for an even better 2023. That's at least what I keep trying to convince myself is happening. Around here, we're all just happy that, after all the travel last weekend, we get to stay at home and take care of base and have some fun. Well, other than the roommate who is headed back out of town in an hour or so and will miss some of the lowkey fun around here. That's OK though, we'd rather have the place to ourselves anyway. Before we get to the fun though, we've got some work to get through.

I'm going to spend a bunch of time learning 3d art on my new tablet. I have been doodling through the morning and will get some progress on digitizing those doodles through the afternoon. I might play with my new engraver a bit as well. But, first, I will show off this skeletal fox...a counter piece to my Golden Fox piece I posted a couple months ago. I believe I will eventually have a time-lapse video for these as well.

Anyway, everything starts with a doodle so here is a side-by-side of my fox doodles with the newest already transferred to wood. That's actually a lie because I have an even newer version not shown here but I'll keep that one for later.

This was made before x-mas so I didn't have any of my new toys. What could I have done here with my new engraving tool I wonder???

I found it easier to watercolor the backgrounds than trying to burn it all because a blowtorch can only get so close to the image without ruining it and to do it all by hand takes an eternity. Doing the edges where I couldn't hit with the torch is what I usually would do but because of the masking fluid, which keeps paints off areas I don't want it, this has become an easier, and more consistent way to create a black background.

Next up, some white highlights for the skeleton and then foil on adhesive for the moon!

Now it's just some acrylic paint for the stars then seal it all up. I recorded all these processes so we'll eventually have a time-lapse video posted to YouTube. We still really need to pay some attention to that and get the next video posted. Will make that a priority this weekend.

We hope you all enjoyed this video and wish you all a wonderful end to the year. May next year provide nothing but happiness and prosperity to you all. See you in 2023!


Be sure to check out my last post: Jackalope X-Mas Tree

If you like my creations, consider checking out my other social media sites and my Etsy site by clicking the links below. Thanks and have a great day!


Social_IG.png Social_TT.png Social_FB.png Social_T.png Social_P.png Social_YT.png

Visit Etsy Shop.png

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 2 years ago 

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Excellent job. I like it. I also burned wood as a child.

Why did you stop? So few people do it as their chosen form of art.

I do not know. I nominated your post for a contest. #wox-bestartpick

Thanks for the nomination @steem-venera!

 2 years ago 

Lovely as usual.

Thanks as usual ;-)

 2 years ago 

:o)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34