Day Out In The Cotswolds

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

School started so central London is quite busy again from the early hours. Travelling between places takes longer as there are kids everywhere. They love to take the bus for just one stop or poke each other for a long while whilst crossing over.

IMG_0262.JPG
Ginormous Yorkshire pudding on top of roast lamb served with potatoes, carrots and greens.

So I thought that there can’t be a better time to leave the big city behind and head to the countryside.

IMG_5404.jpg

I packed a bag, the smaller and lighter the better, booked a cosy accommodation (there are tons of special offers to chose from right now!) and off to the station.

IMG_5401.jpg

I got off at Moreton-in-Marsh which is a great starting point for many picturesque walks in the heart of the Cotswolds here in England.

IMG_5417.jpg

Once you’ve been to the popular and too crowded Bourton-on-the-Water known as the Venice of the Cotswolds you’d rather enjoy the lesser known smaller villages featuring traditional architecture.

DSC_0691.JPG

I find equally charming the cute bungalows and the million pound estates where, as expected, herds of deer roam freely till they become the Sunday dinner.

DSC_0188.JPG

I spotted a gorgeous wild muntjac right outside which was barely bothered by my presence. Then I nearly stepped on a dead mole but such is life.

IMG_0267.JPG

The Black Bear Inn in town serves fantastic food at unbeatable prices.

I honestly came here with the intention of trying the local beers but ended up having a pint of cider.

DSC_0721.JPG

Don’t forget to take this kind of photo with one of the bear statues. I’m not sure who started this but I do find it fun. The customers then post the photos online including on the Black Bear’s TripAdvisor page.

IMG_0123.jpg

Maybe this is a way of getting a free pint at the bar? I should have asked really but there is always next time.

IMG_0265.JPG

There’s always another pub too and more drinks. Here, at The Bell I got a cask ale from the area this time.

IMG_5426.jpg

If you haven’t tried a henry which is lemonade, orange juice and lots of ice (at least it’s called that in this part of the country), I totally recommend it after one of those walks exceeding 35k steps. Cheers!

IMG_0167.jpg
I also powered up 42 Steem and I can't wait to become a dolphin one day, the sooner the better!

Screenshot 2022-09-05 at 22.17.13.png

Screenshot 2022-09-15 at 23.42.01.png

Sort:  

You went on a journey again to study a new dish, a new food.
I can see that you did it perfectly.

Hello friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

 2 years ago 

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Beautiful place friend, now I want to visit it thanks to your wonderful photos. It seems taken from a movie, I wish you many successes and I send hugs from Venezuela

 2 years ago 

What a beautiful place and the food looks so delicious. Fabulous photography. Thank you for showing us that charming place and much more that you have been able to enjoy. Health and good appetite. I send you a big hug and many successes.

 2 years ago 

I am sooo jealous. I want to visit the Cotswolds. Although, I hear there are a lot of bizarre murders there. :-P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58672.01
ETH 2437.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44