#club5050 Grew Gourmet Mushrooms (Power Up 21 Steem)

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

Some of you, I actually hope many, have read my previous post about growing and harvesting white mushrooms. I consider the post a success as it received many comments from people based in various countries, which is something that I find really exciting about this global platform. You simply never know what else is in here for you. So you better just keep calm and be creative.

IMG_6967.jpg

But enough about the Steemit blogging platform, which I have been on for less than a year now, and some of you know lots more about it anyway. Let me however introduce you to the newest addition to my mushroom growth: pink oyster mushrooms.

DSC_0551.JPG

Oh yes, you heard me right, you can grow them yourself at home. It is mess free and the success is guaranteed once you get the kit of course which includes everything you need even a cute little spray bottle and a packet of jelly beans.

DSC_0361.JPG

Pink oyster mushrooms surprisingly to me turned out to be much easier and quicker to grow compared to white mushrooms.

IMG_6830.jpeg

All you have to do to get your organic project started is cut out the panel marked on the back of the box which will give a cosy home to your fine pink delicacy. Then just cut an x in the plastic that is visible through the box's window.

IMG_6636.jpg

Make sure you then take the mushroom block out of the box and soak it in cold water for about ten hours. This vital step will simulate heavy rain to awaken your mushrooms which will start growing slowly but surely.

DSC_0530.JPG

The block needs to be stood up in its box somewhere warm, at least eighteen but not more than twenty-eight degrees away from direct sunlight. Anywhere in your, hopefully big, kitchen should be ideal. If it gets colder they will still keep growing but it will just take them longer to mature and be ready for harvest.

IMG_6658.jpg

Keep the handy spray bottle full and assure your pink beauties are well watered. I ended up spraying them three times a day, for breakfast, lunch and dinner. In less than a week the mushroom block started to pin. I just woke up one morning and noticed numerous alien tiny reddish pin heads all over it.

IMG_6745.jpg

I kept spraying them, watching them double in size for just a few hours. Yes, that quick, I am not exaggerating at all. So you better start considering mushroom meals.

DSC_0547.JPG

The more daylight that the kit has access to the better the pink colour of your mushrooms will be. I personally dare to think that I nailed it. It is also very good to know that the more air flow there is around the pink oyster mushrooms the larger their caps will be.

DSC_0509.JPG

The harvest is of course the second best part of the whole experiment with consuming them being everybody's number one of course. Grab a whole cluster and twist it. Have a knife handy as the stem might not be that easy to separate from the mushroom block so you will end up cutting it exactly as shown on the video.

Watch and learn how to pick your homegrown pink oyster mushrooms.

When it comes to cooking them remove the very bottom of the stem as it is a bit chewy and chop the rest of the mushrooms into at least halves. Don't cook them whole as they will remain dry rather than juicy and flavoursome. To me they are just perfect fried with a knob of butter. You can always add garlic and some herbs, I tried them with a sprig of marjoram.

Do not overcook them as they will not be as pleasant to eat and will become rubbery. Just a few minutes in the frying pan are more than enough. The longer you cook them for the browner they become and loose more and more of their initial pinkish colour.

IMG_6972.jpeg

Whilst I enjoy my homegrown pink oyster mushrooms please let me know in the comments below whether you have grown something edible recently?

I also managed to power up 21 Steem and below you can see the screenshot of this important activity.

Screenshot 2022-04-20 at 23.38.40.png

Sort:  

They do look like pink oysters, and to me, they also look like leaf corals. I had thought of leaf corals as giant lettuce heads, but afetr seeing your photos, I will also think of them as giant gourmet mushrooms XD

Your work is amazing, @petface. Visiting your blog is always a pleasure :)

 2 years ago 

Greetings @marlyncabrera Thanks for stopping by and I hope you are well. I love the comparison to corals which makes total sense having in mind the pinkish colour of the mushrooms. I am glad to see you posting regularly about food. @mister-omortson's weekly food contest is still on here in the WORLD OF XPILAR which I thought you might be tempted to enter again. Cheers and see you around.

 2 years ago 

Hi, really interesting in your post about this mushroom. Thanks for sharing!
Also many thanks for resteeming my post. Have a nice day!

 2 years ago 

Greetings from London @jorgevandeperre You are more than welcome and I will keep an eye out for your next post. It is very good to know and I am actually pleased that you find my mushroom article interesting as I am still trying to figure out what type of content is best received here on the platform.

 2 years ago 

Hi, the community is large and the interests are very varied. If your posts are honest and interesting, there will always be people who appreciate them.
A long time ago I published some drawings of medicinal mushrooms, drawn in a vintage gravure style.
I leave you here the link if you want to see them.
https://www.deviantart.com/jvandeperre/gallery/77509678/drawings
Have a nice day!

Wow this is so weird as just saw this exact mushroom on fb. What amazing pictures this mushroom is rly quite exquisite almost too much to eat it looks like art lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66167.46
ETH 3530.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15