Steemit Engagement Challenge WOX Community S10W3: Architectural Photography: One Building

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year



Holy Trinity Anglican Church, Belvidere, Knysna, South Africa

If there is one thing that fascinates me it is old church buildings. There is just something so magical and hypnotising about them.

Today I want to introduce you to one of the most beautiful surprises I had, a little church in Knysna, a seaside town and a popular holiday destination from my own country, South Africa.

Although Knysna was familiar to me as we always took a drive to it when we were on holiday in Plettenberg Bay we never took the time to explore it properly. Kysna is called the “jewel of the Garden Route” and well known for the waterfront, oysters, and plantations.

When my husband went on a fishing trip in this town I decided to drive with and explore the town as I wanted to see the other “side of this town.”

I visit a few of the historical buildings like the town hall, the Dutch Reformed Church, and Parkes Cottage. It was in 2017 and Knysna had fires that raged the plantations and parts of the town. I decided to take a drive to one of the suburbs Benton on Sea which I knew the fires left people homeless. While driving there I saw a sign next to the road, “Holy Trinity Church”. I immediately took a left turn onto a small gravel road which lead me to a gate.

The garden were beautiful, luscious, and green but did not leave much of the church to see. I decided to park the car and take a walk.

As I came down the path I embark on a peculiar sandstone building. Definitely not a shape I have seen from any of the church buildings I’ve visited before.



Photo 1 – the front of the church

As I came around the corner a big surprise awaited me. The church was built in Norman style with small windows, thick walls and round arches.



Photo 2 – the back of the church

Not only was the entrance of the church at the back but it overlooked the most beautiful garden and graveyard.



Photo 3 – the church surrounded by beautiful gardens

The door of the church was open and very inviting. I could not say no. As I entered the church it took my breath away. It was not as pretty as the inside of other churches I have seen but the holiness of this church left goosebumps on my arms.

The timber of yellowwood and stinkwood trees where used for the beams, structures for the windows, the pews, and the floor. The wood was there shiny and proud showing off their glamour and only a few kilometres away there was nothing, yellowwood and stinkwood plantations burned to the ground.



Photo 4 – the inside and pulpit

The sandstone work inside was amazing. It was only later when I read more about the history of this church that I came to discover that when the church was built between the period 1851 to 1855 only a small part of the sandstone that was found on the estate could be used and it was located more than 3,5 kilometers away from where the church was built. It was dug and then shaped by three Scottish masons from an immigrant ship from where it was then brought to the site by oxcarts and sledges.

The pulpit, except the parapet walls was carved out of one stone which was named “Monster Stone” because of the size thereof. To date it is a mystery how they got the stone from the quarry to the building site.



Photo 5 – the entrance/exit

The warm sun awaited me when I left the church through the thick arch and beautiful door leading me into a peaceful meditation area and the old grave yard.
A church visit I will not easily forget.



Photo 6 – the church, graveyard, and beautiful gardens

Note:
The photos are my own and taken with my iPhone 8. Unfortunately I could not find a free version for lens correction for use on my laptop.




I invite: @sailawana @kouba01 @sofian88 @apnigrich to participate.

Account summary:
Club100
Transfer to vesting: 2,019.596 STEEM
Normal transfer: 48 STEEM (Contest prizes and charity)



Vote @pennsif.witness for growth across the Steemit platform through robust communication at all levels and targeted high yield developments with the resources available.
Sort:  
 last year (edited)

Thank you for your participation. I will not comment on the correctness of the angles and the quality of the photos. I don't understand anything about it. But I want to admit that I absolutely love all of your posts and this one has been a pleasure to read.

Soon, your post will be visited by our professional jury and will express its qualified assessment. I wish you success!

WOX Community Engagement Challenge Season 10

DesciptionInformationScore
Club Status (3 months)Club1001
Plagiarism Free1
AI generated post1
Steemexclusive1
Bot free1
Quality content4
Total score9
Verified by@o1eh06/23/2023
 last year 

Thank you for the verification and the kind words. 🎕
It is appreciated!

 last year 

Can you kindly have a look. The total score is wrong.
No to worry, maths is also not my strong point. (•ิ‿•ิ)

 last year 

😆 It was necessary to simply add the numbers, but I calculated through integrals and made a mistake. Sorry, it's my inattention to blame. But I can reassure you, these grades do not influence the opinion of the judges. The judges decide the winners.

 last year 

Guess what? It happens in the best of families. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Hello @patjewell.

Thank you for participating in the contest.

You found a good model for your reportage, that mysterious church surrounded by a garden and cemetery. I love those half gothic places!

The pictures in general are quite good and describe the interior and exterior of the church very well in only 6 pictures.

As you say, you didn't manage to download an application to correct verticals and other parameters, so in some pictures, there are some small details to be corrected, but in general I think it's a good reportage.

I wish you good luck in the contest.

Captura de pantalla 2023-06-17 a las 20.32.07.png

 last year 

Awh thank you!! 🎕
I appreciate your feedback.

TEAM MILLIONAIRE

Congratulations, your comment has been successfully curated by @o1eh at 10%.

Loading...

Hi patjewell!

Churches are probably the most attractive in Russian cities. Guides usually take tourists to churches, monasteries, cathedrals. Do you know why? Because they are ancient, old, they are considered historical buildings. Look at the messages of our girls on Steemit. They often show flowers and churches. Maybe that's why I don't often show such structures.
Russia in the 20th century was fighting with churches, many of them are destroyed, but many of them have already been restored by people.
I accept your package.

 last year 

My in-laws toured Russia, and they told us about the beautiful churches they visited.
I remember, as a curator, how I saw all these posts with the most spectacular photos of these historic buildings.
I went to look for your post... I know it will be good, hence my invitation.

I am a sucker for good posts!

I will mention you in my post.

But it looks like there will be a military coup in our country today or tomorrow.

The Wagner PMCs is marching on Moscow, and the Army cannot defend Moscow. The officials and Putin flew to St. Petersburg.
We may be on the verge of a civil war.

 last year 

This morning I read that they stepped down.

Headlines by us is a warning from our President to yours not to come to South Africa for the BRICS summit in South Africa but to "stay at home."

Your president speaks correctly

We have something brewing. The President of Belarus and the Governor of Tver spoke with Prigozhin. The "great" Putin disappeared somewhere, hid in a bunker again, probably.

 last year 

His end is coming nearer...
Then on the other hand, for all we know he might be sitting in South Africa. That is how corrupt our government is.

Wonderful photography dear friend. The church is an old one. The tranquility of the surroundings attracted me the most. All the best.

regards
@hasina78

 last year 

Awh! Thank you for the visit and the great comment.
It is appreciated.
The surrounding gardens were indeed unbelievable. I wonder what stories they can tell.

So aesthetic photography of buildinh that you have show to us.. I love all the photos..
Thanks for invite me..

Wish you goodluck for the contest my friend..
Have a great day..

 last year 

Thank you for the visit and the engagement with my post.
I am waiting to see if I am going to see a pink building from you. (•ิ‿•ิ)

Thank you, a great day to you also.

¡Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through -steemcurator07. We support quality posts, and good comments anywhere, with any tags.
PicsArt_05-29-09.43.25.jpg
Curated by :<@Josevas217>
 last year 

Hola @ patjewell, el lugar tonde tomaste las fotografías es realmente un lugar hermoso, sus alrededores que se pueden apreciar y también cada una de las fotos son bonitas. Te felicito por un buen trabajo.

 last year 

Thank you for the great comment. It was just one of those churches that hooked me from head to toe.
Maybe I was just feeling extremely vulnerable after seeing the devastation the fires caused to the plantations and homes.

image.png

I hope I am going to see an entry from you.

Wow the building looks very nice. A lot of flowering plants in the vicinity have helped to add more beauty to it. It is very beautiful inside. It seems to be a building built many years ago. I also saw a graveyard outside. So thank you very much for sharing such a beautiful post with us. Best wishes to you.

 last year 

Thank you for the visit and the engagement.
I must admit the gardens and the building is in a beautiful condition. It makes it a pleasure not only to visit the church but to stroll through the gardens.
The building is nearly 170 years old.

Oh, it's so old? I could not think!

What a beautiful building, the inside is amazing and the graveyard is awesome i have never seen such church building before, the builder has taken his time, Thank you for sharing

 last year 

Thank you for stopping by and for engaging with my post.
I was also fascinated by this church building and its surroundings. The building was totally different from any other church I had seen.
A couple of years ago, I actually watched a local movie where the couple got married in this church. It was beautiful. It then gave me a totally different perspective on this church.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61123.08
ETH 2628.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46