The Future of Steemit

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago

image.png

Source.

Recently @xpilar in his post raised an interesting topic of the future of Steemit. In the comments under the post, a whole discussion broke out, which was even more interesting than the post itself. There was one thing in common in these comments, no one knows what the future holds for Steemit. And no one has seen any published statements from the owners for a long time.

So I decided to do a little research on this topic. Although I'm scared to explore something. My previous research hurt me because steemcurator01 reported that I no longer meet the requirements of #club100 because I use bots. I tried boomerang and some other bot to find out how they work for my post on the economy of Steemit. Being too interesting is bad :) However, let's move closer to the topic.

It so happened that the most important statements of figures in the field of crypto-industry are spread on Twitter. So in my search, I first went there. There is an advanced search function, so you can search for exactly what you need and, most importantly, from whom you need it. Justin San's latest post regarding Steemit was:

1.png

And after that nothing, absolutely nothing.

2.png

The same complete silence from the Tron Foundation.

In my search, I did not stop and started searching on Google, using an advanced search. And again complete silence. The only thing that prompted me to write this article was Justin Sana's interview for CoinDesk, published in June 2021 and updated in September 2021. In this interview, he spoke honestly (?), in particular, about his failures. This is the only article that focuses on the topic of Steemit.

And here are a few quotes:

Western communities can accept a drop in token price, Sun said, but they want projects to deliver on their promises and implement their ideas.

“Chinese communities don’t care about those as much, everything is good as long as the price is going up.”

Western developers value open-source projects but that would not necessarily draw Chinese developers to contribute; they need to be paid, Sun said. That is why western projects tend to be more decentralized than some Chinese projects such as Tron and Binance Smart Chain, which are led mostly by just a few developers, he said.

Another big difference is that western developers have a culture that encourages open-source projects. On the contrary, most people in China work for money, the open-source spirit is not enough, and few people would be willing to contribute to a project without being paid, Sun said.

Here I want to emphasize this remark:

most people in China work for money

I think with these words Justin Sun subconsciously told us that he is no longer interested in Steemit, for him it does not exist. And he will not sell it, because such an agreement will simply record his losses. He will not be able to sell Steemit even for the same money he bought it for.

Therefore, in my opinion, now we are our own masters here. Attracting investors is our business, filling the platform with quality content is our business, the development of Steemit as a platform for communication is our business.

In my opinion, Steemit, despite all the problems, is evolving. All thanks to communities such as WORLD OF XPILAR, Steem-Travelers and several others. New initiatives by steemcurator also gave a positive impetus. If the development continues, maybe Steemit will be interesting to someone, but now we are on our own.

After all, what we have is very good. Steemit is a great platform. But if it does not develop, it will be bypassed by competitors.

Sort:  

Thanks for mentioning my Steem-Travelers as one of those places on Steemit which push everything forward.

Well, as we talked about in the comments below one of the posts, I agree with you that Steemit needs attention or it will disappear in up to two years. Nothing can be done by us to stop it. Delay? Yes, maybe, but stop no...

Call me the optimist, but I still hope something will change. Maybe the SC team will convince Sun to focus on this project, maybe the platform will be sold to someone who is willing to do something with it instead, but I chose to believe it will survive. I'm observing the situation and remain careful though.

 3 years ago 

I must admit that you are the first person to inspire me with optimism. I think when we will be close to the catastrophe, then there will be some changes.

 3 years ago 

I must admit that you are the first person to inspire me with optimism

You've been talking to me too much 🤣

 3 years ago 

I understand your pessimism. The pessimism of a man who put a lot of effort into fighting plagiarism, who I'm sure was trying to change the system. But the expected changes did not happen. But if you failed yourself, you may need to form a team.

 3 years ago 

We did have a team but everything was dependant upon sc01 upvotes for them to help. I got upvoted a lot - much more than others and it still wasn't enough. Perhaps one day, somebody else will try 🤷‍♀️

 3 years ago 

Is this team still fighting plagiarism? If not, then a copy-paste catastrophe awaits us 😱.

 3 years ago 

I don't think there's anyone really fighting any more. The 2 people who did the most - one has been inactive for 3 months (and delegated all of their Steem to Tipu) and the other has posted once in 2 months and powered down. The witnesses remain (which I help from time-to-time).

Communities are doing their bit in their own spaces, just as we are in WOX - it's more a sense of pride that we take in our communities than any hope of cleaning up Steemit. I've no doubt that I'll write some posts on various subjects when I've got some time.

 3 years ago 

I understand that the SC team did not ask to return to activity. Apparently they did not feel much loss.

The witnesses remain (which I help from time-to-time).

What is the use of witnesses if they are not in the top 20?

I've no doubt that I'll write some posts on various subjects when I've got some time.

I will look forward to these posts.

 3 years ago 

Call me the optimist, but I still hope something will change. Maybe the SC team will convince Sun to focus on this project, maybe the platform will be sold to someone who is willing to do something with it instead, but I chose to believe it will survive.

I plan to share some thoughts on this at some point. When I do, you can call me the pessimist 😆

 3 years ago 

Alternatively, it could mean that Justin Sun has realised that he needs to pay some people some money to make some improvements.

From the article...

The core issue is that Western communities take everything too seriously. If you say something, they must see the results and real delivery.

Hang on Justin... are you telling me that if you say to a Westerner that you'll do something, then they'll expect you to do it? Unlike in China where you can lie your tits off and nobody gives a shit?

 3 years ago 

The plan was to buy Steemit, make an uproar in the press, add a tron, make even more uproar. All this would lead to an increase in the price of STEEM. Then once again make a uproar in the press, saying that Steemit is very profitable. And sell at the peak of hype, earning ten times more than invested. This is his style.

 3 years ago 

Ah, in English, we call that "Pump and Dump". Unless he forgot to dump.

Justin's view about Chinese people is quite true and your view about Justin is quite insightful.

 3 years ago 

I don't know about the Chinese people, but I'm sure he was talking about himself in those quotes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57367.79
ETH 3098.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32