Freezing Time in a Splash ..... eh,Flash

in WORLD OF XPILAR8 months ago (edited)

A couple of photos I took some time ago immediately came to mind when I read the invitation to this competition.

It takes some time and effort to take this photo but when it succeeds it is incredibly satisfying.

With the photography club, of which I was a member at the time, we had chosen the subject of popping water balloons and trying to freeze them in action.
We would hang these up on a small rope and let them pop.

A whole scaffold was built.
A black canvas as a backdrop with a small hole in it.

Because directly behind the balloon, a long stick and needle was used to poke the water balloon so it popped.
And that is how you didn't see the stick and needle in the photo.

Getting the desired and reasonable result took a lot of time, a huge amount of water balloons and a lot of patience.

I will share with you three photos that I think turned out the best.

Unfortunately, I had to resize the photo to post here because otherwise you could see the details of the water splashes even better in each picture.

It was especially difficult to get everything clear and bright on the photo.
And sometimes you were just too late pressing the shutter button, so you could no longer see anything of the balloon or shape.

Or you were a bit too early and then you saw very little water.

So other than the right settings, it was also a matter of luck.

I will mention with each photo what the settings were.


My entry for the contest

PaulaBallon-5.jpg

Click to view in full size

CamerasettingsData
Shot with anCanon M50
ISO6400
Focal length45 mm
Aperture valuef 6,3
Shutter speed1/1000 s


Second best

PaulaBallon-7.jpg

Click to view in full size

CamerasettingsData
Shot with anCanon M50
ISO6400
Focal length70 mm
Aperture valuef 4,0
Shutter speed1/1000 s


Honourable third

PaulaBallon-6.jpg

Click to view in full size

CamerasettingsData
Shot with anCanon M50
ISO4000
Focal length70 mm
Aperture valuef 4,0
Shutter speed1/1000 s


I hope my 'frozen' water balloons appeal to you and I am curious what you think of them.


Wishing you all the best in life and much health.
Paula (@meraki7578)💚


📷 Photos: All shot by me with a Canon EOS M50 and owned by me
📷 Edited: Adobe Lightroom & Canva



Thank you.jpg

created by Canva

Sort:  

Really impressive! I admire your professionality!

Thank you. But I was also lucky to be able to use my friends' flash. Without it, my photos would never have succeeded.

Well: I'm flashed ;-))

 8 months ago 

a great idea with freezing movement👍
is the first thing that comes to mind about "catching the moment by pressing the button"... set serial shooting in the camera (there should be such a mode in the menu).
So you will get a series of states of the burst ball and there will be plenty to choose from))

Burst mode was unfortunately not an option because I was using a flash.
I forgot to mention that in my post sorry.
But that is indeed a very good option if you want to make sure you don't miss the moment.

 8 months ago 

was your flash on the camera or behind the ball?

It was a free-standing flash and it was next to my camera.

 8 months ago 

Understood, thanks for the answer)

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️

Thank you so much.

 8 months ago 

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Good job 👏

Thank you for your response and kind words.

Good editing Idea.
Thanks 👍

Thank you and much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69101.20
ETH 3740.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76