The Adrenaline Lagoon - Giola, Thasos, Greece - Imprinted by LightCaptured

in WORLD OF XPILAR11 days ago

Hey!

If you've got few free minutes today, travel with me to this unique place located at the Southern part of Thasos, a beautiful island in Northern Greece.

When I say "unique" I really mean it and it really is, as there is no similar one, at least on this big island! ;)

Giola is a natural lagoon that the sea carved in the rocks at the shore.

DDH_2806.jpg

Here is a funny fact! "Giola" in Bulgarian is "гьола" and actually that's how someone would call a puddle.

Well, it is bigger than a puddle and much more beautiful!


Few years ago, there was no car parking and one had to hike for more than a kilometer on steep rocks and dirt. Now there is a car parking and now the walking distance is probably about the half but I wouldn't go there on sandals. If you love your legs and feet, take proper hiking boots. Ah, sun protective lotion as well, if you plan to stay longer as there aren't any trees or other shadows around.

There are signs and pointers, this is how parts of the walk look like.

DDH_2802.jpg

As far as I remember there was a cantina at the parking and then a bar, again, closer to the parking than the lagoon.

Oh, by the way, if there is a forecast with rain, I wouldn't drive down to the parking as when we visited it was a steep dirt road and if it rains, I am pretty sure many cars will need a tow truck to get up back to the main road!

DDH_2804.jpg


But hey, why "The Adrenaline Lagoon"?

That's something I came up with, because the rocks there are layered and steep so many go to water-jump. What's particularly awesome here is one could jump from different height. Let's say from a meter up to about ten meters.

Here is a guy jumping from a higher spot ;)

DDH_2811.jpg

... and my shadow at the right-hand part of the picture, hehe.

Few more photos of the lagoon:

DDH_2808.jpg

DDH_2809.jpg

DDH_2810.jpg

Many were just sitting on the stones watching the others jump in the water.

DDH_2816.jpg

Some were enjoying the crashing sea waves at the edge of Giola.

DDH_2819.jpg

DDH_2820.jpg

Now, let's jump in 3... 2... 1...

DDH_2822.jpg

It isn't that high but well, everyone sees you, right, he he he...

Something is really charming in that harsh natural beauty, don't you think?

DDH_2824.jpg

DDH_2825.jpg

Time to go back to our car and few final looks back towards the lagoon and the sea...

DDH_2829.jpg

DDH_2830.jpg

Don't trust this signs too much though.

Giola was far than 50 meters and well, England, Germany, Serbia, Romania, Limnos and Athens were at unknown distances! :)))

DDH_2831.jpg

Let the climbing back begin! Much easier was the way down but hey, it was totally worth it!

DDH_2803.jpg

DDH_2832.jpg

DDH_2805.jpg


mydivider.png

Please note that this post is AI-free and created exclusively for the STEEM blockchain.

mydivider.png

Buy my stock photos at Alamy: https://www.alamy.com/portfolio/112427.html

mydivider.png

Buy my stock photos at Adobe Stock: https://stock.adobe.com/contributor/206416265/lightcaptured

mydivider.png

Follow me on Mastodon: https://mastodon.social/@lightcaptured (Decentralized social network for my insta-type selected photographs and short posts)

mydivider.png

Copyright: LightCaptured
All the photographs, digital art and text in my posts, unless specified otherwise, are my own property and created by me.
If you wish to use any of my works, please drop me a line!

Have a great day!

Here is an uncomplete list of some of my equipment I use on a regular basis:

Cameras
Canon EOS 5D Mark III
Canon EOS M5
Canon EOS 550D
Lenses
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
Canon EF-M 15-45mm f/3.5-6.3 IS STM
Canon EF-M 22mm f/2 STM
Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8
7artisans 35mm f/1.2
StrobesDynaphos Speedster
FlashesMetz
Tripods and Mono-podsManfrotto
Benro

The divider I use in my posts I have created in Adobe Express.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 11 days ago 

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️

 10 days ago 

Твоя тень выныривает из воды ))
Приятное место, но как я понял, не во время дождя. Эвакуация может потребоваться не только машинам :D

 8 days ago 

Yes, The Sea Monster, LOL

Indeed, it would look a bit risky going there in the rain season but there aren't many tourists on the island at that time anyway as ferries stop operating when it's stormy.
Which gives an idea to go there outside late spring/summer/early autumn but then I could be stuck for weeks before able to return to the mainland...

 7 days ago 

Застрять в таком месте - не самая плохая идея для фотографа :D

 8 days ago 

Thanks so much :) Have a great Sunday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47