Pictures and Reflections from Varna Downtown - Imprinted by LightCaptured

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 days ago

The so called "Sea Capital" city of Bulgaria - Varna.

An old, ancient, I would say, city on the shores of Black Sea. The biggest city on those shores here for sure.

No doubt, a controversial place as I always reflect when I happen to be there.

That central part is the favorite for walks, with its proximity to the beach and with all the cafeterias, bistros, fashion shops, etc.

It is always busy, no matter a day or a night.

DDH_1883.jpg

Perhaps you've noticed the flag of support of Ukraine. Varna is the city with the most refugees and investors from both Ukraine and Russia.

Many properties there are owned by citizens from the two countries, that are unfortunately still in war...

DDH_1884.jpg

There are plenty of beautiful old and charming residential buildings.

Like this one above, built in 1932 by Yany Caludov. Written with the old Bulgarian alphabet.

DDH_1885.jpg

As everywhere else in Bulgaria, some of those wonderful pieces of architectural art are restored but some require a lot of work to be rbought back to their past glory...

DDH_1886.jpg

Some had been converted to bank offices or other corporate owned buildings.

DDH_1887.jpg

Sometimes the years of construction could be told by specific architectural details, such as the towers...

DDH_1888.jpg

Now this one was built in 1923. Even more impressive, right?

Amazing decorations. Too bad the contemporary architecture lacks those.

DDH_1890.jpg

"Flight"

One sculpture by Hristo Hristov, place on display here in a park in 2019.

DDH_1891.jpg

This interesting cross memorial is to the victims of the communism.

DDH_1893.jpg

What impresses me the most, however, every time I go there is, the number of churches.

There is always a new one to "stumble upon".

Probably that is natural, in a way, considering what an alloy of cultures, nationalities and ethnical groups this big city is.

Indeed, it is a very beautiful city, but to tell you the truth, I would not live there.

I cannot explain the reasons, it is just that that city and myself, we just do not "click".

Something always feels a bit "off" to me. Yes, I like spending there a day or two but I cannot imagine at all living there, despite my love of the sea...

Now isn't that a topic of more self-reflection?


mydivider.png

Please note that this post is AI-free and created exclusively for the STEEM blockchain.

mydivider.png

Buy my stock photos at Alamy: https://www.alamy.com/portfolio/112427.html

mydivider.png

Buy my stock photos at Adobe Stock: https://stock.adobe.com/contributor/206416265/lightcaptured

mydivider.png

Follow me on Mastodon: https://mastodon.social/@lightcaptured (Decentralized social network for my insta-type selected photographs and short posts)

mydivider.png

Copyright: LightCaptured
All the photographs, digital art and text in my posts, unless specified otherwise, are my own property and created by me.
If you wish to use any of my works, please drop me a line!

Have a great day!

Here is an uncomplete list of some of my equipment I use on a regular basis:

Cameras
Canon EOS 5D Mark III
Canon EOS M5
Canon EOS 550D
Lenses
Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM
Canon EF 135mm f/2L USM
Canon EF 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS II USM
Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
Canon EF-M 15-45mm f/3.5-6.3 IS STM
Canon EF-M 22mm f/2 STM
Tokina 11-16mm f/2.8
7artisans 35mm f/1.2
StrobesDynaphos Speedster
FlashesMetz
Tripods and Mono-podsManfrotto
Benro

The divider I use in my posts I have created in Adobe Express.

Sort:  
 2 days ago 

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.


💯⚜2️⃣0️⃣2️⃣4️⃣ This is a manual curation from the @tipu Curation Project.

@tipu curate

 16 hours ago 

Thank you!

Hi, @lightcaptured,

Your post has been manually curated!

 15 hours ago 

Thank you! Have a great weekend!



 yesterday 

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

BottoSTEEM OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM

BottoSteem
Robust Automations on STEEM Blockchain using the Power of AI

https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

"Become successful with @wox-helpfund!"
If you want to know more click on the link
https://steemit.com/@wox-helpfund ❤️

 15 hours ago 

Much appreciated, have a wonderful weekend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65870.41
ETH 2675.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89