WOX Travel Contest | Week 5 : A Trip to Hastinapur-India

in WORLD OF XPILARlast year (edited)
Hello, my dear Steemians!

JOIN WOX Travel Contest | Week 5

I am in India right now, so I have chosen a location that is closer to home, where my wife and I traveled on Friday, March 31, 2023.

  
DSC00938.JPGᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

banana-leaf-910810_960_720.jpg

We started our journey to Hastinapur, which is located at a distance of 95 km from our house in the National Capital Region, Delhi, in the bordering state of Uttar Pradesh.

DSC00925.JPGᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ ᴴᵃˢᶦⁿᵃᵖᵘʳ ʷᵃˢ ⁹ᵏᵐ ᶠʳᵒᵐ ᵗʰᶦˢ ᵖᵒᶦⁿᵗ

If you know about the history of the Kauravas and Pandavas during Lord Krishna's era, then it will be easy to understand the background of Hastinapur, but if you know nothing about them, my images will let you speak for their culture and history.

DSC00942.JPGᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

Hastinapur is also very famous for Jain devotees. But let me make it clear, I personally know nothing about Jain religion or culture apart from what I hear from my Jain friends and what I read in books and magazines.

DSC00936.JPGᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

However, I did a lot of reading on walls and boards in the temple city of Hastinapur, so I now know enough to describe some important points. However our main interest was to enjoy the beautiful tourist interest place and record it for this contest.

DSC00983.JPG
ᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

Hastinapur has witnessed the regal grandeur, royal conflicts, and princely era of the Pandavas and Kauravas in Mahabharata times.

Places like Vidurr Tila, Pandeshwar Temple, Baradari, Dronadeshwar Temple, Karna Temple, Draupadi Ghat, Kama Ghat, etc. are spread all over Hastinapur.

You will see various wonderful architectural beauties and centers of different temples of Jainism.

DSC00948.JPGᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

Unfortunately, the entry was closed for other visitors as it was time for followers of Jainism, so we were stopped at the gate.

But other places are also worth visiting here, such as Jambudweep Jain Temple, Shwetambar Jain Temple, Ancient Digambar Jain Temple, Astapad Jain Temple, and Shri Kailash Parvat Jain Temple, etc.

DSC00981.JPGᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

The Sumeru Mountains, the Lotus Temple in Jambudweep, and the entire temple complex are worth visiting. Hastinapur is also a center of great veneration for the Sikh community, as it is also the birthplace of Panch Pyare Bhai Dharam Singh, one of the five disciples of Guru Gobind Singh Ji. For Sikhism, the Gurudwara of Saifpur Karmachanpur is a major pilgrimage center for devotees.

DSC00976.JPG
ᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

Apart from being a holy and historical place, Hastinapur is also famous for wildlife. The nearby sanctuary is equipped with various species of flora and is also a center for wildlife tourism, adventure tourism, eco-tourism, and related activities.

DSC00953.JPGᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

Children have their own places for entertainment. When we visited that area a school group was there having fun in the amusement park inside the temple premises.

ᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

You can find a number of places in Hastinapur where accommodation and food facilities are available. You can choose between private and government rest houses, and various other options for where you wish to stay.

ᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

ᴱˡᵉᵖʰᵃⁿᵗˢ ᵃʳᵉ ᶜᵒⁿˢᶦᵈᵉʳᵉᵈ ᵍᵒᵈˡʸ ʳᶦᵈᵉ ᵇᵘᵗ ʷᵒᵘˡᵈ ʸᵒᵘ ˡᶦᵏᵉ ᵗᵒ ʰᵃᵛᵉ ᵃ ᵗʳᵃᶜᵗᵒʳ ᵈʳᶦᵛᵉⁿ ᵉˡᵉᵖʰᵃⁿᵗ ʳᶦᵈᵉˀ ᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

Jain Dharamshala is also located where better accommodation facilities are available.

This is the unique circular structure of Jambudweep, which is a replica of the entire universe,according to Jain faith.

This temple is constructed with white and different colored marble stones and has a diameter of 250 feet.

Mount Sumeru, which is situated right at the center of the campus, is considered by the Jain community to be the center of the universe and is made of light pink marble.

DSC00972.JPGᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

Sumeru Mount, with a height of 101 feet, divides the building into four distinct zones: east, west, north, and south.

The east and west areas are used for meditation and lectures by the gurus. Although during our visit the temple was closed.

In the southern region, there are snow mountains, Ganga-Sindhu rivers, Bhogbhumi structures, and beautiful green trees, temples, ponds, and gardens are also seen there.

DSC00946.JPGᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

The north region also has similar formations with different names, with the major formation being the Airavat region, which means the area of the godly elephant.

The Jain Jambudweep Temple has been a center of attraction for the followers of Jainism on a national and international level. This place tells about the ancient Jain religion, their beliefs, literature, geography, history, and pretty much everything else.

ᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ   

Meditation Center

This place, which was closed during our visit, is a meditation center, or as they call it, the Dhyan Temple, which means meditation or peace of mind.

ᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

The Jains believe it's useful for spiritual up liftment and mental peace. From the top of the temple, one gets a wonderful view of the temple complex and the city of Hastinapur.

It is a good place for family outings and picnics because of its beautiful gardens and mesmerizing view.

Finally, we went to the Pandav Tila, but there were too many monkeys, so we stopped at midway and came down the stairs and left.

DSC00934.JPGᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

What I read on boards and walls said there were six islands around Jambu Island, which is located in the middle of the earth.

They believe the Sumeru Mountain was in the middle of a country called Ilavrit, which used to be situated where today's Kazakhstan, Russia, Mongolia, and China are.

DSC00939.JPGᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ
ᴮᵘᵗ ᵇᵉ ᶜᵃʳᵉᶠᵘˡ ᵐᵒⁿᵉʸˢ ʰᵉʳᵉ ᵗʳʸ ᵗᵒ ˢⁿᵃᵗᶜʰ ᵉᵈᶦᵇˡᵉˢ ᵒʳ ᵉᵛᵉⁿ ʸᵒᵘʳ ᶜᵃᵐᵉʳᵃ

I read a lot of history on the boards and walls, which I don't now remember exactly, but as you have access to the internet, try to search it online because it's all available online.

But what I read pretty much covers all surrounding areas, consisting of parts of Africa, almost all of Asia, and part of Europe, which they believe was Jambu Island.

DSC00967.JPGᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

In Jain belief, Trilok or Teen Lok is called "Three Worlds". These three worlds are considered Devlok (where gods live), Bhulok (where ordinary people live), and Pitrlok (where people who have left this world live). However, I might be wrong or my reading is not accurate, so I stand to be corrected.

Finally, we wanted to visit Pandav Cave, so we went there, which is less than one kilometer from the main temple. We parked our bike, climbed up the steep ladder, and saw a temple where some sort of religious ritual was going on.

ᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

It was like a dense forest but as we wanted to move towards the Pandav Cave, we encountered a group of monks, which scared my wife, so we gave up the idea and came back.

They say it has shocking secrets hidden in this 151 feet high Jain Temple in Hastinapur. I did not get a chance to get in so I am giving you these pictures.

ᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

On our way back, we found this temple, and we took a couple of photos. Then we reached its main gate, but again, that was close, so I inserted my camera through the grilled gate and took a long shot.

DSC00993.JPGᴵᵐᵃᵍᵉ ᵐᶦⁿᵉ

There was much more left to be seen but it was too sunny besides we wanted to get back in time so we started our journey back home.

banana-leaf-910810_960_720.jpg

I invite-
@senehasa
@petjewell
@josepha
@weisser-rabe
@bambuka
@sur-riti


20221105_215306.jpg
I support @wox-helpfund

Sort:  
 last year 

Thank you, I am very glad to have such a regular contributor :) Your post, as always, impresses with its thoroughness, number of photos and interesting description.

You impressed me with the architecture. I have traveled only in Europe and here, of course, the architecture is very different from that which is characteristic of your country. People treat temple buildings with care, no matter what religion they belong to. Therefore, temples are usually the grandest buildings, and the courtyards near the temples are very beautiful and well-kept. You showed us incredible beauty, the courtyards are like botanical gardens.

I have come across posts about India many times. Your country is so rich culturally and naturally that you definitely don't have to travel far to relax in beautiful places.

I have come across posts about India many times. Your country is so rich culturally and naturally that you definitely don't have to travel far to relax in beautiful places.

Thank you, I was very interested.

 last year 

Thank you for such a nice review of my humble effort. I can only tell you that with number of religions in this country and the way we keep our religious places is a little different from other countries

At the same time I can tell you that a country having four weathers. surrounded by three oceans namely Arabian, Indian and Bay of Bengal and the Himalayas in the fourth we have places unmatched here that have their own beauty. I will try to give you more in my next posts. I have had the chance of visiting in various parts of the world so I know the world is beautiful if you look it that way.

Thank you once again.

Withing a day, you have traveled to various locations. Our Load Buddha is originally from India. As a result, the majority of the temples are visible there. I prefer the Seru Mount above all of these locations. You could have taken more pictures inside the temple if it had been open.
Since today is our Poya day, we visited the temple Anguli mala Seya, which was erected before two years. Unfortunately, taking photos or videos is not allowed. If not, I could have shared some absolutely stunning images with you.
"!uvf_info"

UVF Info.
Sponsor Balance:0
Sponsored Balance:10.000000
UVF Total:10.000000
Next upvote Balance:0.002430

 last year (edited)

I know the story of Anguli Mal and all about Boudh and Jain religion as I hear from my friends and visit different religious places associated with these two religions which are part of HIndu religion if I am not wrong.

I have visited, Sarnath, Boudh Gaya and other places too where Lord Buddha received his Boudisthva.

I have taken 72 photos on last Friday but can't post all of them on this post. Photo taking is prohibited here too so I took all photos from the gardens or outside of temples.

All your photographs are very stunning. I also tried to get photo from outside, then one man came and asked me not to take photographs, so I give up it and went our vehicle.
"!uvf_info"

UVF Info.
Sponsor Balance:0
Sponsored Balance:10.000000
UVF Total:10.000000
Next upvote Balance:0.002430

 last year 

I have that photo when I was trying to enter into the temple and the guard refused so I went into the garden and took all my pics from there. I used smaller camera which fits in my palms.
DSC00926.JPG

You are clever enough to fulfill your goal.
"!uvf_info"

UVF Info.
Sponsor Balance:0
Sponsored Balance:10.000000
UVF Total:10.000000
Next upvote Balance:0.002430

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 last year 

Thanks!

 last year 

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

 last year 

Thanks for support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88