Landscape photography – Having fun on frozen waters (15 photos)

in WORLD OF XPILAR3 years ago (edited)

DSC_01.JPG

Over the past months, I have been sorting out my digital photos from the last 10 -12 years. I found a folder with winter pictures from Kristiansand (Norway). My first thought was that this was when we really had winters! When I look at the pictures, I do recall that winter and the specific scene on this frozen beach. It was one of the first days in January 2010. It was a winter with lots of snow and several weeks with minus 20 – 25 degree Celcius. For the last 5 to 6 years we have had almost no snow and barely a day with temperatures below 0!





The place is a beach called Hamresanden. On that sunday afternoon in January I drove outside town, to this beach, parked my car and walked through the trees to the shore. The time was around 4 o'clock in the afternoon. Thats why some of the photos have a golden color, when they were taken in the direction of the sun. There were lots of people here. As you can see some are skating and playing hockey. Others are fishing. They drill holes in the ice. Then they sit fishing with the thermos next to them. Others are having a barbecue out on the ice. People are enjoying a sunny afternoon, despite the cold.





This is a beach with a long shoreline and very popular during the summer season visited by both locals and tourists. There is a campsite here, but also cabins for rental, restaurants and cafe etc.





It was so cold! I remember I had to keep moving to keep warm and take off my gloves while taking pictures. It was impossible to go without the gloves, so I had to warm my hands every time I had taken a few pictures. After a little over an hour it was enough.



The sun would soon disaper and it would become even colder. I had to go back to the car and retrun home. Since that winter, I have never seen the beach that frozen and with so many people. It was an exceptional day.


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next photo shoot. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest photo shoot, check out :
The World of XPILAR - LANDSCAPE/SEASCAPE PHOTOGRAPHY AND ART CONTEST WEEK #061 - An island in the sun


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Food, Article, Poetry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05