Sans Titre – 02-10-24 (Anna Sten)

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 days ago

sans-titre-02-10-24-(anna-sten)-(767-x-1024).jpg

Click here to see this artwork on my website.
Click here to download a printable of this artwork.

Greta’s Rival

This graphite pencil drawing ‘Sans Titre – 02-10-24’ depicts Ukrainian moviestar and celebrity Anna Sten. She is sometimes compared to Greta Garbo. Allegedly Goldwyn sought for a foreign actress who could rival Greta. What do you know? Only after the completion of this drawing I took another look at the picture and even googled it. Then I saw she actually was Anna Sten. Even though they don’t really look alike in this picture Anna looks a bit like Greta. It must have been the bulby eyelids the latter surely prominently is bestowed upon. Don’t mind which of the two persons she is. Primarily I was attracted to the excellent dark and light division. A tonal play that is a feast to the eye. Besides that, the hairdo simply is a outstanding challenge for an artist like me.

Hairy Structures

Last drawing of Marlene Dietrich (Sans Titre – 29-09-24) got me all fired up to do another portrait. Or should I say draw hairy structures? Personally I found Marlene’s drawing turned out rather well. The abstraction was perfect. However, this time the hair was a tall order because there was more of it. Surely I didn’t want to repeat myself by executing hairs in the same way the second time around. Luckily the complexity of the hair-do gave me more freedom to experiment. Although I kept the overall concept of horizontally and vertically placed blocks I also drew a lot of swirls. More than last drawing I’d say.

Focus

Facial features I only abstracted a bit such as the triangular structure in the cheekbone. Even the shirt I didn’t work out too much. Is it from the Ukraine? There is something traditional or European to it. Ms Garbo could have wore it and first I thought it must be something Swedish. It doesn’t matter really. Both shirt and face haven’t been added much value to from my part. Instead I glorified all things hairy!

Graphite pencil (Faber Castell Pitt Graphite Matt pencil 14B) drawing on Fabriano Ingres paper (21 x 29.7 x 0.1 cm)

Artist: Corné Akkers

Sort:  

@tipu curate

Holisss...

--
This is a manual curation from the @tipU Curation Project.

 2 days ago (edited)

!upvote 20


Hi @corneakkers

It's a pleasure to see your pieces (I also saw the Marlene Dietrich one) and that one impressed me even more. You achieved a level of abstraction from the beginnings of cubism, but the lights and shadows take it to another level.

The work on Anna Sten's eyes and clothes is magnificent. And the narration of your creative process is appreciated.

CURATION:

Type: Pencil drawing tutorial

Very illustrative post on the artistic creation of a pencil portrait. It's a pleasure to read the author.

#artonsteemit
This post was manually selected to be voted on by "Seven Network Project". (Manual Curation of Steem Seven).

the post has been upvoted successfully! Remaining bandwidth: 40%

This post has already been voted.

Your post has been rewarded by the Seven Team.

Support partner witnesses

@seven.wit
@cotina
@xpilar.witness

We are the hope!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62716.82
ETH 2447.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65