You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: اردو - میری پیاری زبان / Urdu - My Beautiful Language

in WORLD OF XPILAR6 months ago (edited)

Are you sure you have a friend here who speaks Dutch?!

Language is more than communication, language is culture. And this must be preserved. Without being very traditional, I believe that a lot of culture and history is lost when a language is forgotten.
We here in the north of Germany have the "problem" with our "regional language" Plattdüütsch. Only the elders still speak this "dialect" (though it is more than a dialect...), mainly in the countryside (hardly ever in the cities). Partially, they are starting to teach this typical language in school again. However, as a "foreign language" to be chosen voluntarily...

So you speak Urdu but can't write it? Or can you write it by hand but not type it? Are there special keyboards?
There is quite a large Urdu Community here on the Steem, did you know that? How do these authors work? Do they speak into their mobile and have the characters translated automatically?

Speaking of mobile: strange "language-loving" generation that swipes their thumbs to text... 😉

Sort:  
 6 months ago (edited)

speaks Dutch?!

My bad, German ☺️ (I thought both could be used invariably, just googled the difference. Chalk it up to my foggy brain in later half of night). 🫣 Or maybe think of it as bait to lure him/her to respond

Yes, I did check urdu community.
Didn't find anything recent. Will check again in detail.

I can write Urdu proficiently and even compose some poetry in the language. However, when it comes to using a keyboard or mobile, I'm not an expert. We usually opt for "Roman Urdu" while texting, finding it more convenient.

As a nation, we're a blend of people in terms of the languages taught in schools, fueling a prolonged debate. I've previously mentioned that our language evolution hasn't reached a point where the curriculum can be effectively taught in our own language. English takes precedence in education, with only 2-3 subjects taught in our native language. English medium schools, including the one I attended, place even greater emphasis on English. In certain schools, speaking Urdu during lessons or recess is strongly discouraged due to the English-based curriculum. Students are restricted to speaking Urdu only during designated Urdu periods, with all other subjects taught in English.

strange "language-loving" generation that swipes their thumbs to text...

Ain't that a real talent

Bait? Or a test if he/she really reads what he/she votes?! Well, I think he/she has proven this now at the latest and can take a break for a while... ;-)

Pupils are forced to speak Urdu only at certain times, if at all? That's almost a crime against our own language culture.

Sure! A talent? It's more - it's art... ;-D

 6 months ago 

Hihi

He/She should also take a look at the edited version of my post without any compulsion to reply.

Definitely can take a break for now - just not a very long one 😉

strange "language-loving" generation that swipes their thumbs to text... 😉

LOL!!! I have a fourteen year old son so this got a good giggle out of me. In his defense,(and not without MUCH GREAT AND PERSISTENT effort from yours truly... he has developed quite a healthy appreciation for REAL language as well as creative writing... so, pleased to say that outside of his friend zone, when he texts me, I actually get COMPLETE words with correct spelling, haha!

I actually get COMPLETE words with correct spelling, haha!

Oh, your teenager is a prodigy... ;-D

 6 months ago (edited)

lol, I know - right?! haha! and get this... So, I have all his emails cc'd to me (which he is aware of) - you know, because I need to make sure he is behaving himself...

Yesterday I get this notification for registration to a language app. So I asked him "what language is he wanting to learn?" Spanish he said... and then German.

I was impressed. :D

I have always been of the belief that if you allow kids to develop their NATURAL personality without forcing them to comply or allow them to become a sheeple... then they will pleasantly surprise you often.

Wow, that's impressive. Yes, we shouldn't assume that the (child's) brain is satisfied with "external sound". The hunger to discover and analyse something itself - to learn out of self-motivation - has a strong will to survive... :-)
Can't wait to give your son some German tips... ;-)

The hunger to discover and analyse something itself - to learn out of self-motivation - has a strong will to survive... :-)

ABSOLUTELY!!!

Can't wait to give your son some German tips... ;-)

As long as they are well behaved tips, lol!

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55